We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the Wildwoods!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Port Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port Royal Hotel
6801 Ocean Ave., On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the Wildwoods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay here a lot. Very clean, love their great breakfasts, great gift shop, right on the beach and love the outdoor concerts in the park next to the hotel. We take advantage of their preseason packages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
104
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is incredible. The pool area is really nice, lots of seating and covered space. The inside lounge area is really nice and there are a couple shops inside and an arcade area with ping pong. The view of the ocean is amazing if you are fortunate enough to get the direct ocean front view with a balcony. I spent a lot of time out on the balcony people watching and eating dinner. I even fell asleep out there. The staff is really helpful and really friendly. They treat you like family there. I spent more time at this hotel's pool area than on the beach and anywhere else it's just so relaxing and nice. I'm not sure if all the rooms are the same but ours had a really nice living room like space with a kitchen area which made the stay much nicer than it would have been without all that stuff. I love this place so much and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Most rooms book up for the next season during the current season since most people who come here are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My family Bd I have been going there most summers for over 15 years. It's right on the ocean. Ample on site parking. Easy walk to Boardwalk but far enough away to be quiet at night. Very clean and up to date. Breakfast in their restaurant good, but dinners better off out ...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first "family" vacation with two toddlers, ages 3 and 1 (15 months) and I was extremely nervous. My husband and I always stayed in Cape May (pre-kids). Needless to say, this was our first stay at the Port Royal. I found this hotel, on this website. My friends stay at a different hotel, but after reading the reviews here, I decided this was the better (and cleaner) fit for us.
We stayed Labor Day week, Sept. 3 - Sept 7. It was the perfect amount of days for the kids, and us. We stayed on the fourth floor, overlooking the pool. The boys loved it! The pool was wonderful. My three year old could've easily spent the whole time in the pool. The only drawback was the lifeguards. On Monday, when we arrived, there was a very sloppy looking lifeguard, he definitely did not want to be there, you could tell my his demeanor and his clothes were dirty. The rest of the week there was a different lifeguard, he looked more professional, but he was more interested in his iPhone. Thank goodness my husband and I are "all over" our kids in the pool, I wouldn't have must trust in either of the guards there.
The room was always clean and comfortable. The maids were wonderful and friendly. We rented a crib for our 1 year old. They rent from an off-site rental agency. The crib was nice. They also supply the sheet and blanket, however, I brought my own. We stayed in the suite and had a bedroom seperate from the rest of the room. It was very nice at nap time. The walk-in closet was very nice and the additional sink, outside the bathroom, was great too. The efficiency kitchen was the perfect size and served it's purpose. We only used the fridge (bigger than "dorm" fridge) and the microwave. We used the stovetop as additional counter space. Come on, who's going to use a stove while on vacation??? I've seen numerous complaints about having a coffee maker w/ no coffee. Well, in my opinion, if you're that much of a coffee drinker, wouldn't you like your own brand? Would you really want to drink "hotel" coffee? Really, if that's all you have to complain about, then I would say buy your own.
Parking was not an issue for us. We parked in the garage each night. It's a little tight, but doable.
I've also noticed people complaining about towels not available for the pool. Well, you're going to the beach, wouldn't you have packed a towel? Just sayin'.
I'm very happy we were leaving on Friday, September 7. Roar to the Shore was beginning and it was becoming VERY loud with the motorcycles. The riders weren't really partying in the Crest on Thursday night, but while we were leaving the boardwalk on Thursday night, there was a lot of partying going on, along the route home and some very "interesting" people were partying on the sidewalks. About 8 years ago I probably would've joined them, but with two little ones in the backseat, some of the stuff that was going on boardered inappropriate. But hey, they were having fun.
There is also a bike rental place very close to the hotel, it's at the end of the park on the pool side. Oh yeah... there's also a very nice playground in the park, on the pool side.
There is just so much to do in Wildwood. The location of the hotel is great. It is right on the beach. If your taking little ones, I would greatly suggest a beach cart. There is so much to take out and it is a long walk out to the water.
Cape May was an easy drive from the hotel. If you have a cloudy, dreary day I would suggest taking the kids to the Cape May Zoo. It's not far.
Almost forgot... at checkout they automatically book you for the next year, for the same days. Very nice! I'm all set for next year.

Room Tip: If you have kids book a room over the pool. It will keep them entertained by "people watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's pretty much everything everyone says about it. Beautiful, but VERY expensive. I personally, happened to love Wildwood beach. So if I am going to stay overnight this is the only place I would stay. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. We had a 5th floor efficiency. Nice big balcony & a great view from up there! The kitchenette was nicely equipped(even had some dish soap). The kitchen table was a bit difficult to sit at with the sofa bed set up-not much room. Beds were uber comfortable and true to size. Parking spaces were actually normal-unlike most motels in Wildwood. Great location with unobstructed views on both North and South sides.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Port Royal is one of the great hotels in Wildwood Crest. Our room was on the 4th floor and gave us a breath taking view of the ocean. We spent many evenings enjoying the sunset views. The hotel is located right on the beach and has everything you need to enjoy your stay. First and foremost, our room was super clean and large enough for a family of four. The housekeeping staff was incredible in cleaning our room and never came at a time when we were in the room. Actually, the entire hotel staff is extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room also featured two flat screen t.v.'s and proved very handy when my childrem wanted to watch the disney channel during the Giants opening game against the Cowboys. The hotel also features a "large eight shaped" pool and a kid's pool that are both heated. There's also a game room and a restaurant that had some of the best breakfasts around. Parking is plentiful around the hotel and the underground parking garage keeps you dry. Easy drive to the boardwalk, supermarkets, and Cape May. A great value from a great hotel! Make your reservations early because the hotel books quickly with many return customers like us. Thanks for reading my review and enjoy the Port Royal.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean, a must if you love the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wendy and I continued our seven-day trip of Outlaws' shows with a visit to Wildwood Crest and a stay at the Port Royal Hotel. Situated right on the beach, this hotel is perfect for families south of Wildwood with a pool heavily inundated by youngsters. Parking is an issue since street slots are VERY limited so one can opt for parking in the garage under the hotel...for an additional $5.00 a day. Once up to our seventh floor room (GREAT view from the terrace), we found a double and a twin bed awaiting us. HUH? I'm not the slimmest slice of meat on the planet and having to inconvenience Wendy in a double bed ain't happening. So, I gave her the double and I slept on the twin. SURPRISE! They were the most comfortable beds we had on this trip. Size ain't everything! All else was great - bathroom was clean, the location was excellent, and access to Cape May for The Outlaws' show was easy! RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to take in the view. Better inquire about bed sizes, though, if that's imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Hotel

Address: 6801 Ocean Ave., On the Beach at Palm Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#13 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Port Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Wildwood Crest
Port Royal Hotel Wildwood Crest Nj
Hotel Port Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.