We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Hotels

Save Saved
You added Bal Harbour Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bal Harbour Hotels
508 E Stanton Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest
Ellicott City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our extended family goes to the Bal Harbor the weekend after Labor Day.
The view from the balconies is awesome and the beach is clean.
The staff is efficient and the meals are average.
We rent multiple rooms at different prices.
While the bathrooms are old, the suites are very spacious with balconies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    84
    58
    45
    95
See reviews for
195
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I can not believe anyone would give this hotel anymore than 2stars. It's old, outdated, moldy. It's clean but is in such desperate need of renovations. Tiny elevator you have to wait and wait and wait for. There is not so much as one print or painting on the walls. The balconies have green mold which could be power washed off. Our biggest laugh came from the fact that the toilet paper was the cheapest grey product we had ever seen. The front desk employee was very nice. Never really had to interact with other employees. Breakfast at the restaurant there was slow in coming and expensive. They never even offered a second cup of coffee. Been to far better in the crest for less $, if they would invest in some updates and renovations wouldn't be a bad place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want anything more than a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWCBeach, Manager at Bal Harbour Hotels, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thany you for your review. We completely disagree with it however.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddystone, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Worth every penny we spent .We spent a week in late AUG. in a 2 bed suite.The bathroom was odd,but more than servicable.The room was large with ample storage.The free meals were very nice if you got there B/4 9 a.m.After that there forms a sizable line.T he view was stunning.The staff was always cheerful,the girls in the gift shop were charming.We went back almost every day to buy some trinket just to spend the time with them.The parking was free,and available,even though the place was packed all week.Even at 50, we found ourselves spending 3 or 4 hours one day in thier very well stocked entertainment section.Killed lots of zombies!The pools were tremendous.The lunch bar by the pool had the best cheeseburgers I've ever had. The beach is a small walk right out the door,and very clean.A quick taxi cab ride( always 12 dollars )can get you to the center of wildwood-the nice resturants,the massive boardwalk-Everything-very affordable!I will go again next year,and in the years to come

Room Tip: ocean view is just as good as ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Bal Harbour used to be a very nice and friendly place to stay...back in the 90's...the owners used to come out and talk with there quests!! Now you have rude people at the front desk (females), the gentleman at night was friendly. The rooms are terrible, they never upgrade anything its still the same way as it was 20 yrs ago.
We stayed last week, maids never leave toilet paper every night had to ask front desk for a roll. I also had to ask for extra pillows for the pull out couch which was a joke feels like you are sleeping on bars. The beds are not queen size like they say and are very uncomfortable the rooms are very out dated and rugs are dirty, if you walk barefoot in the room your feet become black disgusting!!! We were there the night it stormed 8/25/12, our ceiling had a hole in it and was leaking, the gentlemen that came up said it happens so he just put a garbage can under the leak and said he would tell someone in the morning. The next morning we complained about it at the desk they said there is nothing they can do about it, because if they do something for us they would have to do something for everyone in the hotel "BS" I'm not everyones ceiling was leaking. The toilets are a JOKE they are made for toddlers small and very low and the handle to flush the toilet is hidden underneath the counter. The hotel is definitely not handicap equipped!!!! The parking is horrendous, the spaces are extremely tight and if you come back to your room late you cant find a space to park!!! The pool area the paint is chipped in the pool and on the ground you walk on around the pool and also very slippery!! We have stayed at other places in wildwood never complained but this place takes the prize. Will not stay here again!!!!!! Unless new management takes over and renovates the place someday!!!! It's ashame it really used to be a nice place!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWCBeach, Manager at Bal Harbour Hotels, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write. Had you let us known about your concerns while you were here we would have addressed them to you in person. There is not much the hotel can do after you check out and post your concerns anonymously on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter and from the moment we first called to make reservations we had a bad feeling about this place. On the phone the front desk was nasty and we hung up not making reservations. We called back hoping we would get a nicer person which we did. He apologized for the other staff member and thanked me for booking. We have stayed in this hotel many times before and never have had a problem until this stay. My biggest complain is the parking. First of all there is not enough parking for all of the guests and the spaces they do have are extremely tight. The rugs in the room are filthy and our children's feet turned black when walking around barefoot. Also no matter how cold you set the thermostat it gets set automatically at night at a constant temperature. I woke up in the morning sweating. This hotel is definitely not handicap accessible. The two buildings are separate from one another and the dolphin building has a "beautiful" building of the other building which blocks the beach. If you are unfortunate enough to stay in the dolphin building you have to walk through the steaming hot glass walkway to get to the pool area. And in order to get there with someone in a wheelchair you have to take the EXTREMELY slow elevator down to the garage and then walk to the other building. Then you have to take that buildings elevator up to the first floor and then you are allowed to go to the pool. The toilets in the room are are as small as can be and extremely low to the ground. The handle to flush he toilet is hidden beneath the small counter. The shower did not maintain pressure at all and would constantly fluctuate. They should really invest back into their property and buy some decent toilet paper. There are a thousand other choices in wildwood crest and the Bal Harbour should be at the bottom of the list.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWCBeach, Manager at Bal Harbour Hotels, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking theh time to write. It is unfortunate that you chose to post an alledged anonymus comlaint after you checked out of hotel rather than explaining your situation while you were staying with us. If you stayed here at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here last week and enjoyed our stay very much. I have read the reviews and disagree with everyone that says the staff is rude. We found the staff to be very accommodating and nice we needed extra pillows and had them within seconds. At one point we were looking for our teenage kids and couldn't find them when they were supposed to be in the arcade the front desk knew exactly where they were within seconds because of the security cameras they had the place is very secure and it made us feel safe. Sure the place is a little dated but so is every other hotel in wildwood it's the allure of the shore. The only complaint we had was there is no music by the pool they have 2 speakers and they play a song then it cuts out for 20 mins then another song comes on..

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SI NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in a suite from 8/2412/-8/26/12. Ocean and pool view. Room was clean, fairly comfortable. Nicer then most of the low rise motels. Enough towels for the family, didn't use the kitchen facilities. The pull out bed was so much more comfortable than the Queen bed though. The Queen bed had to be the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept on. A plastic sheeting was over the mattress.

Ate one night for dinner at the restaurant in Bal Harbour . We were a party of 9. Not one of us enjoyed any of the meals. An example. I had the fish and chips. Needed a hammer to cut it. Surprisingly, the fish inside was moist and tender. We wouldn't go back to the restaurant.

Front desk was accommodating and friendly for both check in and checkout.

For a Jersey Shore resort, was what we expected. Would go back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bal Harbour Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Hotels

Address: 508 E Stanton Rd, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bal Harbour is the most complete family resort complex in the Wildwoods. Spanning a full block right on the beach, it is a luxurious hotel with its own private entrance to the beautiful beaches of Wildwood Crest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Bal Harbour Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bal Harbour Oceanfront
Bal Harbour Oceanfront Wildwood Crest
Bal Harbour Hotel Wildwood Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.