We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel overlooking the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reges Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Reges Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Reges Oceanfront Resort
9201 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Bucks County, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel overlooking the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Reges. We knew that the Jersey Shore in August would be a zoo, and it was! There were a million people on the beach and boardwalk, but then... it's August. But the hotel was surprisingly quiet. We were on the second floor, lower down than I would have like, but we booked relatively late. There was no noise from the rooms beside or above us, so we could have some peace and enjoy the view. We are planning to go there again in the fall. The room was clean and well kept, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The cafe
  • Tips/Secrets — book far in advance so as to get a room as high as possible
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    75
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
159
44
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

Nice enough of a hotel - as others have said, the staff was very pleasant, and the views fantastic, but for the money we were charged, we were surprised by a few problems. The carpeting in the lobby is worn and the lighting in the lobby and the rooms a bit on the dim side. Our oceanfront two-room efficiency was comfortably sized, but the beds were very uncomfortable. The two full-size beds were hard as rocks with the mattresses covered in cheap crinkly plastic; the queen-size pull-out coach was made of nothing but coils and plastic - even putting the mattress on the floor didn't help! The staff was helpful in supplying us with an extra cot mattress when we complained. They said the sleep-sofa's were only a year old, but my mother had the same problem with her sleep-sofa in her room. The mattress was a disaster and the spring mechanism was broken. You couldn't even SIT on the sofa due to broken springs and sagging cushions! Also, for the money charged, the soap was cheap and there was no shampoo/conditioner provided. Fortunately, there was a hair-dryer and an ironing board and the kitchen was new and clean. The air-conditioning in the room was controllable, however, it didn't seem to remove the dampness from the air, rather it re-circulated the dampness. Even dry clothes that I put into the dresser drawers became damp - and in the morning, the bed linens felt damp from the air-conditioning. Again, the staff was very lovely, the room clean and the towels plentiful - and the location and views fantastic, so I guess these complaints are minor - just be forewarned that if you intend to use the sleeper-sofa, ask for a cot instead, or get two separate rooms.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

i must of had an older room because it was still pretty stinky. but looking around on our drive into wildwood crest we decided to tough it out. on a good note the terrace and pool area were very nice, both with great ocean views. the pool area was nice and well kept and the staff were friendly. price is a little steep.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

all of the emplyees were very nice, but I have stayed in hotels for half the cost and been more impressed (elevators are old, bedspreads are stiff and knit, and not even a continental breakfast for the price). On the other hand: employees nice, oceanview could not be better and pool very clean and large enough.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

The Reges has been under major renovation during the past few seasons. The whole pool area is new, and looks great. The water is clean and the whole pool area is well kept. They also have two grills and a nice area to sit down and eat. All of this is oceanfront.

The hotel's diner was average, but was not played up to be anymore. Good food for a good price. I don't think they serve dinner, and I suggest Duffy's On the Lake for dinner, amazing food and service, get reservations though.

As for the rooms, most are done for the 2006 season. The old rooms are in decent shape, but smell of years of use (not a pungent smell, but just of being used) The bathrooms in the old units have some rust on the ribbing of the drop ceiling. Otherwise the old rooms are fine.

The new rooms are extremely nice. The completely renovated them so everything is brand new. They are bright, welcoming, and like all the other rooms clean.

The maid service is friendly and does a good job. Linens are a bit crummy, however they come from the Linen Supply company so it's not the Reges' fault. You get a good supply, so no need to worry about running out of towels. Usual cheapo soap bars, but they do the job. Front desk staff is very nice.

As for the view, all rooms and pool area are oceanfront, so everywhere you go you have a beutiful view of the Atlantic and Wildwood's soft sandy beaches. The hotel is at the quieter end of the Crest, so beaches don't get too crowded.

As for the Wildwoods, there isn't a better place to vacation in NJ. Wide, clean, safe beaches, the best boardwalk left in the country, and many 1950's era mom-and pop neon motels, also worth of your patronage.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

My first time there,my husbands umpteenth with his parents as an older teen. It was just remodeled when I went. Rooms spacious and clean. Mini-kitchen with everything you need.Great view of ocean(3rd floor). New pool and kids pool great,clean. Jacuzzi also next to pool!. our late summer deal included 4 dinners and 5 breakfasts for 2!!!!! Game room for teens(and big teens!). Nice, dry county so riff-raff is not there. streets and houses clean. The boardwalk is about 5minute drive if you want and other restaurants out crest if you want to indulge in an alcoholic beverage. Overall great time with our kids! staff was also very nice and accommodating. Clean beach. Going again this year!
The Drews

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

Came back again this year and WOW was I suprised. Newly furnished rooms, no more musty smell! Every year I say I am staying somewhere else due to past problems, not after this time around, I wont even entertain the thought of staying elsewhere! Great job guys.

Only two problems remain though: Constant electric key problems, and a couple of grouchy elder women working behind the front desk. Other then that I was a happy camper.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reges Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reges Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9201 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#18 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront high rise, modern architecture - Directly on the beach, adjacent to historical Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Reges Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reges Oceanfront Hotel Wildwood Crest
Reges Oceanfront Wildwood Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reges Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.