We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Beach Terrace Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Terrace Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3400 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 77 hotels in Wildwood
saratoga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definately go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travel a lot and the price was right for this hotel, so we took a chance! The best thing about this hotel was the view, we paid a bit extra to be on the 8th floor but it was worth it, the view of the amusement park at night was awesome. You have a pretty nice view of the ocean without paying the price of an oceanview room. We did have to wait for our room to be cleaned upon arrival and didn't get into our room until after 3 but that was fine. Parking was safe, the room was nice and clean. The bed was a little on the "hard" side. We did venture downstairs for breakfast a couple of times and that was ok, the morning staff at the restaurant was great!
Everything is within walking distance and at night with your doors closed we couldn't hear a thing!
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    24
    20
    50
See reviews for
71
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for my entire life every year in the summer and, this being my 18th year, I cannot think of where to begin how much this hotel has changed. From the moment management was renewed it seemed like it went down hill from there. The transition from blue to pink paint was a terrible idea--it looks absolutely tacky. The Rusty Rudder, the hotels restaurant, has had a major quality plummet. The food is no longer made with love but more so thrown into the pans like it was made in the microwave. The only thing left that's savory are the waffles. The rooms are OKAY. The bedding is nice, however mattress' could be a little bit softer. The flooring has gone from safe and comfortable to dirty and dangerous. I don't know whose grand idea it was to replace the carpet with tiles but it is really a safety hazard when it comes to walking around especially if there are many guests in and out of the pool and traveling via elevator to get from the pool to the room or vice versa. Speaking of the pool, it is pretty average. The deepest is 4 feet and you get what you pay for is not a statement the hotel lives up to. You would think that for $150 a night, the pool would be nice and painted, right? Wrong! Half of the pool in the shallow end is greatly lacking paint on the pool floor! I can not understand for a hotel that makes a good deal of money doesn't have the time and money to paint pool floor! The staff, not that considerate. Like I said, I've been coming here all my life and this year was the first year where I waited almost an hour and a half for my room to be ready. Although I arrived there at 2:00pm and check in is at 3:00pm, it should not take that long to clean ONE room. Check out is at 11 am which gives more than enough time to clean a room. With that being said, the maid service is TERRIBLE. They seem to hire foreign maids and that gets tricky if their English isn't well. They dot really clean as thorough as they should. They don't even present themselves professionally. They also don't understand privacy. I should not have to go out to the beach and come back to find three maids cleaning my room without my permission! That was the last straw; you're better off cleaning your own room and getting better service. The entire trip over was alright, definitely not average as it used to be in the past. I think Bolero is your best bet. I've stayed there for two years and haven't had any problems like this. It's a bit more expensive but it is totally worth the extra bucks. Not to mention that the food is EXCELLENT. Definitely not considering another stay here next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Seriously, this is the best location for a motel/hotel. You are facing the middle of the boardwalk, with a great view of the Ferris Wheel, and at night when you are lounging on the balcony, you have a great view of the boardwalk and the beach (just bring some binoculars!). The walk to the boardwalk is just one block up. You get two queen beds and in the front room is a full bed, so you can sleep 6 very comfortably. Plenty of space for luggage, body boards, beach equipment, full size fridge and microwave. You can get delivery to your room from most food establishments in wildwood. The pool is ok, but the real reason you are there is the beach. There are three water parks , but I recommend only doing Raging waters (middle Morey pier) or the Oasis, (left Morey pier) . If you buy the tickets at the hotel you save money. Ride wristband is 60 or 66 and the water parks are like 25 (not sure of the water park price), but if you buy the combo, water park and rides, its 60.00. So its like getting water park for free!!! The roller coasters on the piers are great and I don't think I ever waited more than 5 minutes for a ride. The kiddie rides have long lines, but the trick is to let them nap very late and hit the park late and the rides die down. We have been staying at this motel for a decade and for the most part everyone is friendly and nice. Yes the towels are like sandpaper, but maybe they do that so no one steals them. I think if they updated the throw blankets and the towels, it wold be a better experience. the toilet in 808 takes a long time to fill, so have a little patience. or only flush, if you have a good solid reason!

Room Tip: they all face the ocean so its good. the pool is on the 3rd floor, so 4th floor and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel and the price can't be beat, but the room and the service need to some serious updating. The tile ceiling in the bathroom was falling down and the toilet takes forever to flush. You have to hold the handle down for about a minute. We found long hairs in the bathtub that did not belong to us and dead insects on the window sills. I did not like the tile floors in the room at all, it made the room feel slimy and dirty. The coffee pot didn't come with coffee (wth??) and there were no tissues or shampoo that usually comes with a room. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. Ok for a 1-2 day stay, but that's it. Won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

To start with the positives, the location is great, only a block from the boardwalk, but that is where the positives end. The manager and staff are rude and not helpful at all if you ask questions. The room felt dirty and out of date. The towels, which they give few of, are like sandpaper and the beds are uncomfortable. Next time I go to Wildwood I will be spending a little more money and get good service and a comfortable room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here now for 5 years straight. Now understand your not going to be in your room all that much being in wildwood. So on that note, the rooms are average. But the price is great. 99 bucks a night for the last week of June is awesome. The new tile floors are nice but you can feel the sand on the floors if your walking barefoot in the room. Which is common cause your at the beach. Overall, like I said, the room is average. Now, what disappointed me the most was the rusty rudder restaurant attached to the hotel. What a rip off and so impersonal it's not even funny. Anyways, we went for breakfast the first day. You pay before you eat now. You have to get your own silverware and tell them before you even sit down what you want to drink. The sign and in the past was always a huge buffet stating 37 items for breakfast. This was not the case at all. Probably tops 12. So we ate are breakfast I asked for another cup of coffee. The server if that's what you want to call him. Goes to the kitchen and bring me out another cup. Which was weird since their is a coffee station right as you walk in. But ok, so I put my cream and sugar in and take a sip....ice cold! I tell the server about the coffee thinking hey he will get it from the coffee station right in the front. Nope! Back to the kitchen he went came out with a cup of coffee which was so hot you could tell it was in the microwave I couldn't even pick up the cup it was so hot. So obviously they gave me old coffee twice. Just terrible. So everyday we have been going to the red oak right behind the hotel. And it is great! So much to choose from the staff was really nice and made you feel right at home. And the food is outstanding. Thr BEST Buffet style breakfast in wildwood!

Anyways, the hotel is average. The restaurant below the rusty rudder, terrible. Stay away from there. The pool being only 4 feet deep is fine. I like this hotel so ill be back next year with my family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My mother and step-dad (who are senior citizens) took my special needs niece to WW with her special needs Girl Scout group. The rooms were smelled, the beds were VERY uncomfortable, they gave enough towels for one person. My mother asked If she could stay for just one night because the conditions were horrible. The tyrant, cold hearted manager refused. So much for being hospitible. My niece is 75 lbs. and the "manager" said,"how old is she?" my mom could have lied but told the truth, 17 yrs old. quickly the cold hearted, ruthless manager added another $20.00 to the bill! Are they that hard up for money? This dump is for teenagers that party, not for mature, classy people. The women who claimed to be the manager needs a hear transplant, because she could care less that good people, paying good money were duped. This place is a dump, and the bad attitude of the manager reflects that sentiment. So much for a friendly welcome to the beginning of the summer, especially after hurricane Sandy. Save your money and stay at a professionally ran hotel where hospitality is key. I will also write the better business beauro, and the WW Chamber of Commerce, what a pitiful hotel, and manager.

Room Tip: My tip, is find a realy hotel, and use trip advisor...buyer beware, study the reviews. Some hotel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat
The Diplomat
#49 of 77 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Isle of Palms Motel
Isle of Palms Motel
#63 of 77 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#16 of 77 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Brittany Motel
Brittany Motel
#19 of 77 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Daytona Inn
Daytona Inn
#15 of 77 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
On the Beach, B...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Monaco Motel
Monaco Motel
#21 of 77 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Motor Inn

Address: 3400 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Terrace Motor Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Beach Terrace Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Motor Hotel Wildwood
Beach Terrace Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.