We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last time at the Beach Terrace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terrace Motor Inn to your Saves list
Beach Terrace Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3400 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Last time at the Beach Terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was at this motel the weekend of May 16th, 2013. Unfortunately, we did not know that it was senior week for high school students and the Bay Terrace rents rooms to these kids. There was a cop posted on the third floor pool level, another one on the second level parking and yet another one was in the lobby and they were there the entire weekend. Next year we will make sure the motel we pick does not rent to mostly underage kids on their own. The rooms were just ok, they were clean but the curtain over the sliding doors was hanging off. We had stayed here many many years ago and stop going when the then owners did not own it anymore because it was just not the same. Thought we would again give it a chance but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    28
    24
    53
See reviews for
81
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellenville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have stayed at Beach Terrace atleast once per summer, every summer , for my whole life. I am 26 years old now. I could not imagine going to Wildwood and staying somewhere else. Beach Terrace is in the perfect location, one block from the middle of the boardwalk. Every room has a balcony with boardwalk view. A few years ago they did undergo renovations which brought along a few changes. Nice new floors in every room. Like i said, I've stayed here over 30 times in my 26 years of living and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Wildwood. My daughter is 2 years old and already has been there 4 times. I have no complaints about Beach Terrace, especially compared to the rest of the hotels around town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The only good thing about this motel is the location. Last time I stayed they gave us the room with no stove which is not what we payed for and the pool was green. When we complained they said " We gave you the right room! And you can walk two blocks to the isle of palms to swim." I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is average to slightly above average for a typical Wildwood hotel. Almost 90% of all Wildwood hotels are older. They are pretty well kept, but they're usually not luxury suites that you're staying in. The Beach Terrace is clean, with a friendly staff. The rooms are slightly outdated, but they're kept clean and the prices are reasonable. My only word of caution is, if you stay, request a higher floor. If you stay near pool level, it can be noisy, but it does end promptly in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

PROS:

- One of the best / clean hotels in Wildwood
- Two block or less away from boardwalk
- Few blocks away from Rite Aid
- Liquor store a block away
- Front desk is friendly and caring
- More space for extra guests
- Stood there twice (2011 & 2012) ; planning on going there again this year for Memorial Weekend
- On my previous stay I left one of my bags there, they kept it safe in the process of me sending a box for it - nothing was lost
- Check in/out time is flexible

CONS:
- Doors don't lock
- Entrance door is difficult to open sometimes

Room Tip: Ocean View & non-smoking rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The front desk staff were nice and maintenance and housekeeping responsive most of the time. The parking areas are dark at night. Internet is not free. The rooms were fairly clean and the housekeeping staff responded to our special requests. It is close to the boardwalk. Wildwood in general would not be my first choice to visit in the future.

Room Tip: A lower room would not be as scary for small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There are many things wrong with this hotel, but what concerns me the most are the safety issues. We stayed for a family wedding and will never go back. the doors only have a standard lock not the slide lock for the top in case you wanted extra security. my 18 month old was able to open the door and walk out onto the balcony. of course we were watching but just in case we had to prop a chair up against the door so he couldn't get it open. the railings on the balcony at the front door are falling apart and held together by small brackets and screws. the fence around the pool is falling apart, the railings slide back and forth.

The place was incredibly dirty, we walked around bare foot and our feet were black after 10 minutes. the air conditioner in our room was so loud it was nearly impossible to sleep. it was so loud the room next door was able to hear it also. it was so bad it vibrated the walls and bed. I actually had to buy ear plugs.

The mattresses are hard and uncomfortable. The mini fridge in our room did not shut correctly, and the TV was so old it had horizontal lines through it.

The first night the hotel staff shut the elevators down because there were only our 4 rooms booked. Which meant everything had to be carried up the stairs.

One of our rooms had roaches. The night manager said they do not have roaches and it must have been a grasshopper. When told we have pictures they said to talk to the manager in the morning. Since the room was infested that member of our party left and stayed elsewhere. The next morning the manager was rude and said they don't have roaches and they stayed for 9 hours so no refund was warranted. When they said they were in the room 20 minutes the manager still gave then a hard time. she said she didn't care if we write a review.

The bar was a joke too. The bartenders are watched by the manager and have to measure out the liquors in shot glasses before making drinks. It took the bartender over 20 minutes to make 3 of the same shots. These were for three people looking to take the shots together.

The place is dirty and run down. The manager was rude and not helpful at all. We rented more than 10 rooms as a group and she was that rude to our group about one room having roaches and the guest wanting a refund.

They are lucky children haven't fallen from there or drowned in the pool.

Btw, don't expect anything extra in the rooms like irons, iron boards, or hair dryers.

Between the loud A/C units, bad beds, dirty rooms, and safety issues, I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beach Terrace Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Motor Inn

Address: 3400 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Terrace Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Terrace Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Motor Hotel Wildwood
Beach Terrace Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Terrace Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.