We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Riviera Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Resort & Suites
3920 Ocean Avenue, Spencer & Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 77 hotels in Wildwood
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to Wildwood for the past 20 years! This was by far the nicest and cleanest hotel. The staff is just amazing- very knowledgable and helpful. It is located close to everything. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    31
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
90
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me say that this motel was top-notch! Great location next to beach & boardwalk, yet quiet! Super, down to earth staff made us feel welcome, offered recommendations for dining that were great. Room was BEYOND clean and comfortable, very nice! I will definitely return and highly recommend this motel to everyone, look no further, you'll be happy you stayed there:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here back in early June for the annual B.P.O.E. Elks convention. Our lodge has been staying at this hotel for several years and we are always thankful to return the following year because our lodge has the whole hotel to ourselves.

Front desk personnel and staff are all around very professional, accomadating, and friendly.

My litmus test for a hotel room, especially down at the shore occurs as soon as I walk in the hotel room door. If I get a musty odor Im turned off right away. There was no such odor in our room as it was very clean.

The pool is a real nice size and super clean. Nothing worse than a pool with murky water and a matching ring around the wall of the pool. This pool is well maintained.

I was impressed that at night there was a staff member assigned to walk the property to insure that there were no "drifters" wandering through.

Very convienent to walk to delis, bars, restaurants, rite aide. Nothing is more than a two block walk. The steamers at Kellys were really good.

In reading a a previous post the guest was somewhat put off by what she thought were excessive rules and regulations enforced by hotel management. I have personally stayed at hotels where management had a very lax approach to enforcing any rules and it made for an unpleasant stay. Late nite partying, loud music, yelling and cursing by hotel guests inconsiderate of other guests and these weren't kids mind you, they were people in their 30's and 40's. When a hotel gets a reputation that "anything goes" thats when "everything goes" and the hotel turns into a honky tonk full of trash. While maybe the management could've explained the regulations they were enforcing a little better to help their guests understand the need for them, Im sure theyre in place for good reason where liability plays a key role. I'd rather stay in a place where there is someone in control rather than a free for all carnival atmosphere.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Riviera Resort Motel to friends, relatives and anyone reading Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have never left a review before but felt I had to with this place.

We stayed at this motel this past weekend for my daughter's Beach Blast soccer tournament. My son wanted to bring a friend but someone from the team said I better call because they don't allow extra people at this motel. I couldn't see why because on-line it showed a fee for extra people and a cot fee. I called that night and they said we could not have an extra person, that our room was only allowed four people. I never had this problem before and I've stayed at the shore many times and my kids bring friends sometimes. So I tossed and turned all night wondering how I would tell this poor kid that he couldn't come with us now. I called his mom the next day and she said it was ok because they decided at the last minute to get a room for the weekend at a different motel. I was relieved.

So we took my son's friend with us in the morning since his parents couldn't come until after work. When we got there it was pouring rain and even ended up flooding that night. When the woman came out to give us our wrist bands, she saw the extra person. We told her he wasn't staying with us and that his parents would be there later. She said to come in with her and talk to the manager and see if it was ok. She said he shouldn't even be standing on the property. It was pouring rain!! So when we went inside we got the riot act about how if they let us have an extra person they have to let everyone. I don't think they believed that his parents were coming because the manager said "we see you called about this the other day." We were so offended. When his parents got there late due to the flooded roads they picked him up out front of our motel and we saw them watching to make sure he left. We felt like we were harboring a fugitive! By the way, my son went swimming at his friend's motel and the motel was fine with it (Dolphin Inn).

When you call to make your reservation you get the rules list read to you, when you call to confirm you get the list read to you again, and when you check in you sign three different cards that you will not have parties/gatherings, make noise, or spray sun tan lotion on the property. There are signs all over the property saying don't do this and don't do that. Even when you're sitting on the toilet there's a sign at eye level, which you can't help reading every time you go to the bathroom! There was even a sign saying no music! You felt like you were at someone's fancy home that wouldn't let you sit on the furniture or touch anything.

Someone from our group was spraying his daughter with spray sun tan lotion at the pool and the woman came out waving her arms in the air saying stop spraying it on the property and to take it on the sidewalk.

We were also told we couldn't have team meetings even though they knew we were there for the soccer tournament.

All these rules did make for great entertainment though, our group constantly cracking jokes about how we were harboring a fugitive, if we saw a cop someone was going to be taken away for spraying sun tan lotion, and on and on. We wondered why there wasn't barbed wire around the place.

And don't expect a hot tub. It was the same temperature as the pool. We called it the 'cold tub.' We were told it was on a thermostat but it clearly wasn't. Oh, and kids under 16 can't go in. At one point our kids were sitting around the top, not inside, and a worker started heading our way. The kids got down and the worker walked the other way.

They have a beautiful sun deck on the third floor with tables and lounge chairs but it's too hot during the day with no shade and during the day you're at the beach or pool anyway. So in the evening we wanted to sit there and hang out with our group but it closes at 6:00! So the last night we were there we asked the manager to please open the sun deck for us (it was about 7:00) and all he said was "Absolutely not."

We understand the rules but we are mature over-40-year-old adults with 12 to 15-year-old kids and don't need all those rules read to us constantly. We certainly didn't feel very welcome there and didn't feel like they cared if we had a good time, just that we didn't mess anything up!

This motel is very clean and close to the boardwalk but it was definitely nothing special. The rooms were very small but this is typical of beach motels.

So will any of us stay again? Absolutely not!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotowildwood, Manager at Riviera Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
MANAGMENT RESPONSE
The goal of our resort is to make all guests feel welcome comfortable and secure. Motel policies are necessary to ensure the safety and security of our guests and facilities. In addition there are local ordinances and fire codes that regulate the number of persons that may occupy a particular room type. These policies are clearly explained during the reservation process. When reservations arrive with additional persons it is necessary to clarify the number of persons that will be occupying a particular accommodation. Not all rooms can accommodate extra persons.
It is true that there are rules and policies at this resort, and they are designed to ensure the comfort and safety of all guests. Only registered guests are permitted on the property and all registered guests receive a wristband on arrival to identify them as a guest of the motel and for use of the facilities. The intent of these policies is not to offend anyone it is designed so that the pools, rooms, and facilities do not become overcrowded. The hotel does not permit gatherings or parties as this can detract from other guests vacations.
The hotel prides itself on cleanliness and service and makes every effort to provide a wonderful vacation experience for all guests. We have beautiful rooms, sundeck and swimming pools that are open to 8:00 pm daily as well as a friendly knowledgeable staff to assist with your vacation needs. We hope that this response helps to clarity the need for policies and why they are important for both the guests and the motel.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend. We stayed in a 2 bedroom efficiency unit. Beth at the front desk was so nice! She walked us to our room and gave us suggestions for places to eat. The room is very clean and well kept. The mattresses were on the hard and slightly uncomfortable side but we dealt with it. The pool area is clean and relaxing. The motel is one block from the boardwalk. Our room was ready when we arrived. I definitely recommend staying here if your going to Wildwood. We also ate at the Jersey Grill about 4 blocks away, the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a visit to the Riviera and I must say location, location, location! The property is located so close to everything we didn't have to move the car. The boardwalk, piers and watermarks are within walking distance. The plus side is the hotel is very quiet at night. During the day the pool was wonderful too. Less crowded first thing in the morning of course.
Another great factor is the hotel is extremely clean, actually spotless! Fridge, microwave and coffee maker were very clean and worked wonderfully. Bathroom was super clean as well. The balcony was a nice touch. Overall would not hesitate recommending this property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Very clean everyone is always cleaning. Quiet not a rowdy place. Reception was very friendly . the rooms were big enough. We were very comfortable. Located close to everything. I will definitely be back again this summer

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Resort & Suites

Address: 3920 Ocean Avenue, Spencer & Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
#14 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully modern facility across from the beach, boardwalk, and amusements. Close to convention center. Two bedroom efficiency suites, private balcony units, and couple whirlpool units with steam sauna. Large heated pool and upper level sundeck. All rooms have microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, and in-room safe. Catering to couples and families we provide immaculately clean accommodations with knowledgeable friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riviera Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Wildwood
Riviera Motel Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.