We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Court Motel

Royal Court Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Court Motel to your Saves list
Royal Court Motel
4301 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Will be back in 2012 - we had a wonderful time in Wildwood and at the Royal Court Motel. The staff was genuinely helpful, were cheerful and would ask us if everything was ok. We got a great price for being under two minutes walk away from the boardwalk and for the large pool facility there. We found the poolside room, including bathroom to be very well cleaned and of good size by Wildwood standards. Furniture was dated but our mattresses were comfy which is what we looked for. The AC was new and very effective. TV was 27" and presented a nice clear picture. The housekeepers came daily and brought fresh towels, wiped down everything, made the beds, and vacuumed. Coffeemaker and hairdryer was given upon request. The pool deck got good sun and the large pool is a lot of fun. The place was packed with families and we were worried about over crowding at the pool. But we found there is also a second pool on the other side which seemed to attract the parents with smaller kids. The location is the best part for the price and level of cleanliness - we did not need to use the car at all. Restaurants, boardwalk, beach, a park, a nightclub, movie theater at the convention center were all 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. Before we left, the staff showed us the poolside efficiency and the third floor apt. We loved the apartment and have planned an extended family vacation based on staying there. Very looking forward to it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    7
    8
    12
See reviews for
24
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is my 10th or 11th year straight going to Wildwood with 3 friends and I have been to a few hotels over the years. I am open in trying new motels as long as they are at a good price. I am aware that all motels are quite dated and all have quite dated furniture so nothing could really surprise me now. As we booked a little late for the season (in June) and there were not many hotels accepting "non-family" reservations (we would get the "is everyone over 25" question every time I'd call for a reservation inquiry); we went with the hotels in our price range. As the Royal court was charging us their regular season rate even though it was biker weekend, we also went with this choice because it was in the area we are more acquainted with as other similar hotel prices were more near the Crest or in North Wildwood.

I have to say that the staff at the hotel (owners) are very kind and helpful, and funny. Check-in went smoothly even though we arrived earlier than check-in time. There was maybe 3 other staff members for cleaning rooms and pool.

I have to say that I was a quite disappointed when we stepped into the room (Balcony side room - BCY)... As said previously, I know about dated Wildwood motels but this room was dated! The bathroom was tiny and one of the window shutters was missing so we needed to close the door all week for the air conditioning. There was no shelving in the shower so all 4 of us had to use the small shelf on top of the sink foir our belongings. The beds were very old, too soft but clean (one of my friends saw a bug).. There was almost no lighting so it was very dark at night. The AC, fridge & TV worked fine.

The windows were not well isolated as the room was humid all week... all our clothes would end up humid even in the drawers with the AC on. There ware quite a few drawers for clothes and hangers - so alot of storage.

The pool in front of our room was a bit iffy, but the larger pool towards the front of the hotel looked cleaner and actually 9' deep. This is the first time I went to a small pool that has 9' deep - nice to jump in and dive for once! The chairs and long chairs around the pool were fine but a little old. A nice thing around the pool is that we could catch free wi-fi.

We did snoop around and looked inside the other rooms that were a little more expensive around the bigger pool. They looked much better! Spacier, cleaner,... but more expensive and we didn't need a kitchenette as we would make sandwiches for our lunches and go out for supper. And frankly, we thought that the basic room would of been basic and enough for our buck - but it was below basic even not being fussy.

Also, one evening after going to the pool, we left our towels, cover-ups and bikinis out on the chairs outside of our room and for the first time in 10 years (as I always leave my bikini out to dry), we got our bikinis and cover-ups stolen! I would of thought it was the wind but even when we asked staff and the owners (and even looking around the hotel); they had not seen anything... Since we were almost alone in the motel that night as it was after labor day during the week, we came to the conclusion that they were stolen so please beware!...We then didn't feel safe and had to hide or bring with us any valuables.

As a conclusion, the location of the motel is excellent with the Rite-Aid right across the street, walkable distance to some great restaurants and a block and a half from the boardwalk but I would not return to this motel and not recommend it. I would of preferred to spend a little more to either get their better rooms or a better motel. Being older now and being able to pay ourselves a little luxury than when we were students, we should of gone with a better motel or should of booked earlier. This doesn't remove the fact that the owners are very kind and don't discriminate "non-family" reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms at pool side look much more bigger, modern and cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your balanced and informative review. We are sorry about the window and regret not being notified about that as we could have fixed that in a jiffy! We also regret that you were not happy with the smaller room for we could have upgraded you to a different room if we had known. At the time of your booking, we had discussed all the room types by phone and email as well as quoted discounted totals for the small and larger rooms, and because you had indicated a desire not to pay the extra cost, we offered the best possible deal as that of the BCY for four young adults. In fact, we were able to give you the lowest rate of any other four person booking for that weekend. It is true, the BPS and E units are bigger and a better location and the rates are higher. We always describe these options to potential guests making inquiries and let them choose whatever best suits their budget. And certainly, if you wish to pay more for an upgrade, that option is always open as long as the units are available at the time. Please feel free to ask us and we will be happy to make a room change for you.

As regards the bathing suit theft, we are sorry and we truly sympathize (we know bathing suits are expensive these days!) When personal belongings are left unattended, the risk of theft is always there and therefore we do not encourage guests to leave personal belongings unattended outside their rooms. Although the incident of theft has been extremely rare here (the Rite Aid being across the street and our close proximity to the board walk helps that), its impossible for us to guarantee the safety of unattended items.

Thanks again for your balanced review and constructive criticism. We appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps us make changes for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

For the price. We thought we were getting a great room at a great location. Location is great but room is very very disappointing. Very small, 60's furniture. Furniture very worn. Cheap mattress ( it was clean) bathroom was like a prison, water saver showerhead. Very small shower. Alot of rusted areas in bathroom and elsewhere. Thank God were only there for a weekend. If it was my weeks vacation, I'd take the loss and go elsewhere. I wouldn't stay here again if it was for free.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you were unhappy with the room. We would have been glad to have the opportunity to satisfy your needs if notified of any issues. We make it a priority to be responsive to reported issues but we can only do this if there is open communication. We have checked the room and the mattress has been confirmed to be in excellent and clean condition. But you are right about some rusting metal bits in that room's bathroom. Being that we are so close to the ocean, the salt in the air poses a constant threat of rust and we acknowledge that we need to be extra vigilant about that. Also, in the way of clarification, our shower heads are small but they work well with good water pressure. We do appreciate your feedback, and please know that our managers are very receptive and accessible. We are eager to know about any problems or concerns so we can improve your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and the room was NOTHING like it appeared on the Internet! We checked in and should have checked right out! Our room was dark dingy dirty and dated! Was not properly cleaned at all! The underside of the toilette was what seemed to be either blood or feces that I had cleaned myself so I could use the toilette and make sure it was cleaned properly. I was very uncomfortable staying in the room. I spoke w manager about this said they had no more rooms like ours but we can get a room without a kitchen ( which is not what we payed for and were not offered a refund for difference) or get a apartment which we were told by the maid someone cooked with curry in. First off there were 2 of us. No need for an apt. Second the smell of curry would follow us home and third we were told we'd have to pay the difference. So the manager said he'd have the room cleaned again and add light. The room was some what cleaner and the extra light just made me more upset bc I got to see how nasty the room really was. The pool and pool area did not look clean either. The shower had no hot water and the shower head was non existent. We only stayed here bc our usual place was booked as well as others we stayed at and online it did not look like dump it really is! The only good thing about this hotel was the closeness to the boardwalk and rite aid right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We apologize for not having met with your expectations. The manager personally oversaw housekeeping and the room was thoroughly cleaned. We asked the guest if everything was alright and she said it was fine.The issue about the hot water and the shower were not brought to our notice. We have small shower heads in our hotel, as we follow green practices and try and conserve water, but they work fine.We did offer the guest a choice of two different room types: one was a regular room with two beds and the other one was an apartment with two bedrooms, kitchen and living room.The only reason why we offered the apartment was because she required a kitchen due to health issues.We did tell her that the apartment would be given to her at at an additional charge because it is much larger. However there was no discussion about the rate for the regular room as she rejected it because she wanted a room with a kitchen. We never declined to make a rate adjustment if a room is being downgraded. We did check the shower and hot water after reading the review and they both work fine. We had guests stay for six nights after this very guest and they reported no problems whatsoever. Once again please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have been vacationing in Wildwood for the last 8 years and stay at several different places. This was our first time at the Royal Court, but it certainly won't be our last! I was a bit concerned about the 'piggyback' parking, where you must leave your keys in the office in case your car must be moved. I have to say, though, that I NEVER had a problem with it! There was always someone in the office if we needed our keys, and our car was moved for others by the staff with no incident! The location is great, just a block away from the Boardwalk, and right across the street from Rite-Aid, which comes in handy if you forget or need something. The place was clean and our room was cleaned and serviced daily. I saw some other reviews that state that the furniture was old and/or not in good condition. While the furniture and appliances aren't 'new', they all worked fine and we had no issues with anything like that. The pools were cleaned daily and were crystal clear every day we were there. The price was great for the prime time of year we went there, so we were quite pleased. The best part of the entire stay was the staff! They were ALWAYS very pleasant! We were always greeted with a smile and everyone was VERY accommodating to ALL of our needs! They really went above and beyond to give us the best service! To us, that alone made it one of the best stays we've ever had in Wildwood! As long as you're not expecting the Ritz/Carlton for a Wal-Mart price, I think you'll be very happy you chose this Motel! It's a great value with GREAT service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

The only positive I can write about royal court is sheets were clean and towels changed daily. Very badly maintained, furniture chipped some drawers broken, bed extremely uncomfortable decor nasty, bathroom a disaster,kitchen awful, I will never go back, check-out was 10am we asked to delay until 10.30 were told 10.15 or else extra charge. ... Housekeeper was very pleasant and hard- working very nice lady

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear reviewer, we regret to hear of your disappointment. We actually painted and changed the decor recently and have received very positive feedback from our repeat guests. We aimed for a traditional beach hotel look with cream furniture and neutral colors in most rooms. We are sorry to hear about the late checkout incident. In general it is our policy to permit a thirty minute courtesy leeway to guests unless we need to do work in the room or if we have an early check-in scheduled. The manager on duty had thought he told you there was no problem with a 10:30 checkout. He does not recall discussing the late checkout charges but he thinks that perhaps he might have mentioned to you that we do charge late checkout fees (for example $10 for an 11AM checkout). We are very sorry about the misunderstanding or if there was a mistake made on our manager's part. Your feedback on the rooms is most welcome, and we will look into the issues you mentioned. The Royal Court, like many motels by the Wildwood NJ shore and boardwalk is a Doo Wop motel with a history stretching back to the 60's. The current owners only acquired the property a few years ago just prior to the economic downturn, and they are making steady improvements every year. We are sorry you won't be back, but we will continue to strive to improve this wonderful building and recapture what it was back in heydays of Wildwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

As a family we planned this trip and went to Wildwood, NJ. We had 4 Adults and 3 Kids (2,3, and 4 years old). We booked in advanced and were told that we will get a 2 Bedroom Apartment with a Kitchen, Bathroom and Living room space on the 3rd floor. Once we arrived, we were greeted by a nice gentlemen and he took our info and credit card and gave us the keys to the apartment. We went upstairs to check it out and mannn were we surprised when we walked into this apartment. Dirty, Filthy, Refrigerator had so much dirt in and around it, No outlet covers in hallway and bedrooms, electrical cables were hanging out of the walls, Mold in the bathroom, there were urine/poop stains on the toilet (it clearly was not cleaned),toilet was not flushing, Shower head seemed to be missing, Bedroom sheets were dirty, black stains and red stains on it (looked like Blood). Door hinges inside the apartment were about to fall off, there was a board attached to a wall in the hallway that hid a door that connected our apartment to the apartment next door. We were discussed, and left the apartment right away. We took pictures of all of these above as proof. We also have pictures of the railings that was not attached to the building and one part in front of our apartment was broken, we were definitely scared for our safety and went back to the office to tell them that we are not staying there. The guy brought out a lady and she was just talking about how everything was minor and how they can fix it right away. She wouldn't even apologize. We had seen enough and did not want to stay at this property, we ended up paying more than what we had originally paid for this apartment, but we didn't care, at least we had a clean apartment and great customer service that we could enjoy with our family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalcourt, Manager at Royal Court Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
The Management agrees with some of the above complaints and we want to start by saying we are sorry about those things. We did concede and apologize to the guest about a stain on the inner toilet seat (but which did not seem to be poop), and about the two missing plate covers for an inactive light switch wire, and a cable wire entry point (recently worked on by the cable company). Also, an old thermostat wiring had creeped out of a crevice behind a door frame meeting the wall. The refrigerator was clean, however, the guest did point out a small negligible tear in the two inch length cushion upon which a shelf was resting. The guest also
found a sheet on one of the three beds that they inspected and which indeed had a stain. This was a small yellow rust stain and the sheet was also thread bare in two areas. On occasion the linen laundering company does deliver sheets that may exhibit these types of defect, and we apologize that this sheet was not properly inspected and discarded by the housekeeper. However there were no blood stains reported to or seen by us and the sheet was clean. There were no issues with the toilet flushing or the small sized shower head, and these latter two points were not brought to our notice by the above guests or subsequent guests. The door problem pertained to a bracket with lose screws that needed to be tightened back. The board the guest speaks of is actually homosote sound proofing board which we use to reduce noise migration between adjoining rooms. The board is located in a hallway adjoining another room and does not impose on the esthetics of the living areas. The broken railing on the balcony regards a vertical slat which was corroded from where it meets the concrete floor. Although this problem does not pose an imminent threat, we are sorry the repair had not been made as we are exploring options to fix the small spot or replace the entire railing in the off season.

We did regard all the interior issues to be easily remediable and we offered to do so in a matter of 15 to 20 minutes. This is why we had described them as minor issues and we did not intend to offend the guest. We also offered the guest the opportunity to take a different apartment with the same amenities, however the guest declined to consider this offer.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to the guest. At the same time we are saddened and perplexed as to why the guest was not open to what were obviously easily and quickly resolvable matters (save for the exterior railing slat issue).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Motel

Address: 4301 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildwood Vacation Motel providing comfort, convenience and affordability. One block from Beach, Boardwalk, and Amusement Piers. Two Pools. In room amenities including microwave, fridge, and cable TV. Centrally located: walk to beach, convention center, piers with rides and fun, restaurants, and convenience store. Let us accommodate you with our great rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Hotel Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.