We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place that takes pets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rus Mar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rus Mar Motel
Save
You added Rus Mar Motel to your Saves list
5010 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place that takes pets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our dog. We had a top floor room that made it a little difficult to take her outside to potty. Also not alot of grass around had to walk her a little far away. The doors were thin and you could hear everything through them, including the other barking dogs..one would start they would all start.

The rooms are on the small side and it would be snug if you were there with more than two people. Overall it was really nice and the owner was nice too!

We would come back!

Room Tip: If you have pets try to get one on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

WONDERFUL. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Awesome, helpful staff. Clean, clean, clean. Great location. You never would be able to tell they take pets. Ed is wonderful. Very friendly, very helpful. We have found a new place to stay every year!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

From the first phone call, I felt this was going to be a great stay! I spoke with Ed; and we began to plan what I needed. My husband and I were coming for 6 days with 2 large dogs. I needed to do some work; so internet access was a must! Ed spent multiple hours to make sure that the DSL router was functional and even came in on his day off to triple check that I was able to log on. Whatever I needed, he, Anna or Kate was quick to get!

As for the accommodations... they are very clean, we know the comforters and sheets were clean, because they smelled so fresh! The tile floor made sweeping up a breeze, too! The mini fridge had a little freezer compartment, which helped me refreeze the portable ice squares I brought. I was able to put up an XXL Crate and still have room around the 2 beds in place. The shower was tall enough... phew! An added bonus when we came back to the room at night, was that my husband could access a specific NASCAR channel :)

Conveniently located across the street from the beach, access to the boardwalk was a breeze! We were also centrally located to quite a few restaurants and Ice Cream!!

When looking for a place to accept pets, I am often prepared to compromise on quality and cleanliness - even staff support; in order to accomodate my needs. What a pleasant surprise to not have to give on anything...a treasure of a place and extremely friendly and hardworking staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

After looking for so long, i finally found a dog friendly hotel not to far from north wildwood. Its on Leaming and Ocean called Rus Mar Motel. The rooms are as clean as could be and the staff have great hospitality. The manager at the motel was so considerate and took care of everything. He made us feel very much at home. The rooms were plenty big enough for us and our 60 pound bulldog !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Even though we only stayed 1 night it was a great one! The service is excellent, the rooms had just what we needed and were clean, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our first trip to the Rus Mar was last summer, before the new owners took over. We had a nice time, but this year when we returned we were more than pleasantly surprised by all the wonderful improvements. We stayed upstairs, which is so nice to have the deck area to sit outside and enjoy the ocean/boardwalk view. Our dog also ejoyed eating out there! The room was clean and perfect for the 3 of us. The management and staff made us feel welcome and at home, and that made it very comforting when leaving our dog in the room for activities that he couldn't join us for. The area is great too-so many places to walk to, and dog beaches only a few minutes drive away. We hope to get back for a weekend this fall, but can't wait to return again in August! Thank you Rus Mar, Ed and Bob for a wonderful vacation! See you soon :)

Room Tip: Reserve your room early and explain your needs-they will try to accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stay in Widwood every summer. We now have 2 boys under 4 and being close to the boards and beach is a must. We called 3 or 4 motels and were quoted rates in a quick short, like we were interrupting them tones. Not The RUS MAR!! We got Ed the manager on the phone. How delightful he was to deal with. and funny too!! We reserved 2 rooms by the end of our conversation! We were very excited to arrive and we were very impressed with the motel. It had the Retro Wildwood charm we always look for and some nice new touches. The rooms are tiled floored. GREAT. No stinky carpet nothing to trap dirt or sand. The only thing between us and the beach was a bike rental store!!. We were able to load up the kids and make our trek to the water without worrying about getting in the car and finding a parking spot and paying for the meters.
At night we loaded the boys in the stroller and pushed them the 50 feet to the boards.
We could not have asked for a better place or better people to deal with. Thanks ED!

Room Tip: Ask or room 3 it has great views. Also ask for Ed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rus Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rus Mar Motel

Address: 5010 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We still have the same amazing location! On top of that!! The Rus Mar is under new management and has been totally renovated! Each room has new fixtures, beds, linens, and paint throughout! A fridge, microwave,and coffee pot is standard in every room. Some rooms are also efficiency units with stovetop cooking. You can still see the ocean from our rooms! Come stay with us! We remain pet friendly! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rus Mar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.