We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved all the improvements, including the staff, and we can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rus Mar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rus Mar Motel
5010 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Labor Day Special!
Ranked #7 of 77 hotels in Wildwood
New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved all the improvements, including the staff, and we can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our first trip to the Rus Mar was last summer, before the new owners took over. We had a nice time, but this year when we returned we were more than pleasantly surprised by all the wonderful improvements. We stayed upstairs, which is so nice to have the deck area to sit outside and enjoy the ocean/boardwalk view. Our dog also ejoyed eating out there! The room was clean and perfect for the 3 of us. The management and staff made us feel welcome and at home, and that made it very comforting when leaving our dog in the room for activities that he couldn't join us for. The area is great too-so many places to walk to, and dog beaches only a few minutes drive away. We hope to get back for a weekend this fall, but can't wait to return again in August! Thank you Rus Mar, Ed and Bob for a wonderful vacation! See you soon :)

Room Tip: Reserve your room early and explain your needs-they will try to accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stay in Widwood every summer. We now have 2 boys under 4 and being close to the boards and beach is a must. We called 3 or 4 motels and were quoted rates in a quick short, like we were interrupting them tones. Not The RUS MAR!! We got Ed the manager on the phone. How delightful he was to deal with. and funny too!! We reserved 2 rooms by the end of our conversation! We were very excited to arrive and we were very impressed with the motel. It had the Retro Wildwood charm we always look for and some nice new touches. The rooms are tiled floored. GREAT. No stinky carpet nothing to trap dirt or sand. The only thing between us and the beach was a bike rental store!!. We were able to load up the kids and make our trek to the water without worrying about getting in the car and finding a parking spot and paying for the meters.
At night we loaded the boys in the stroller and pushed them the 50 feet to the boards.
We could not have asked for a better place or better people to deal with. Thanks ED!

Room Tip: Ask or room 3 it has great views. Also ask for Ed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

There are numerous reviewes describing the cleanliness. convenience and the friendly staff of the motel. So I will not repeat what has been already said, but I would like to point out the exceptional responsiveness of the motel owner and the manager. Even though we had paid for our entire stay, due to certain conditions we decided to check out one day earlier. Our decision was met with understanding and we have received a full refund for the last day. This clearly demonstrates how customer oriented the motel managemnet is.
Thanks again guys and we will see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I always travel with our two dogs. Finding a clean, reputable, pet-friendly hotel is a necessity for us. The Rus Mar was extremely clean. The floors are tiled, which is great for pets. The manager, Ed, could not have been more attentive. He made our stay very pleasureable. The two receptionists were very helpful also. I had the pleasure of meeting some wonderful people during our stay. I can't wait to come back!
-Judi Kukula (PA)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in room 3 which had a great view of the beach and ocean. I stayed here 10 years before and it has been really updated since then. I found the staff very friendly, and quick with restaurant suggestions, directions and vacation tips. The location was great we just walked across the street to the beach. The room was very clean and the manager told me they also wash the comforters pretty often. It is an old school shore motel, we had an eff. which had stovetop burners and dishes to go along with the microwave, fridge and coffee pot. We didn't cook but if I was here for a week I could def see cooking eggs in the morning. If your coming to Wildwood you could do a lot worse than The Rus Mar...one negative no Ice Machine!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rus Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rus Mar Motel

Address: 5010 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We still have the same amazing location! On top of that!! The Rus Mar is under new management and has been totally renovated! Each room has new fixtures, beds, linens, and paint throughout! A fridge, microwave,and coffee pot is standard in every room. Some rooms are also efficiency units with stovetop cooking. You can still see the ocean from our rooms! Come stay with us! We remain pet friendly! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rus Mar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rus Mar Motel to your Saves list