We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Sol Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Sol Motel to your Saves list
Casa del Sol Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4109 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
New Castle
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The lady up at the front was very nice to start off with. The prices are pretty good given the location of the place. It is a little old and you can tell when coming. The parking, as mentioned, is a little sketchy, but remember where you are.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello Craig and thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback!! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had outstanding interactions with the front desk staff. We will make sure we commend her on their continuing great service!! Thank you again, we hope to see you soon!

Leslie, Property Mangager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    10
    9
    21
See reviews for
51
19
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean with an accommodating manager is the only good thing I can say for this hotel. The review that said $50 room for $200 was right. Maybe worth $120, considering location, for families on a tight budget. Parking is a mess. The decor--converted garage filled with crammed, particle board furniture; textured plaster walls, dark and depressing with minimal, ancient lighting. No update since...never? There's no closet or place to store suitcases. The whole place is about 15 x 18; borderline comfort on beds, tiny bathroom/sink & vanity on outside housing mini fridge and microwave; old TV; NO AMENITIES -- 2 tiny, cheap soap bars on arrival, three thin plastic drinking cups -- no replacements in 3-night stay! 2'x4' thread-bare towels; That's it. No shampoo. No hair dryer. This is the 2000's not the '60s. Tiny pool, no handrail on tiny corner steps. The outside rinse off is a garden hose. If you're on this site, you're doing your homework. There are so many places in Wildwood that are updated or maintained and give you amenities, space and pleasing decor for the same or less money. This insulting rip-off takes top dollar for bottom-line accommodation. Don't go there! Keep looking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are a motel and as such, we do not provide daily sheet changes. But we do change the sheets after each guest checks outs. I am glad you found the room to be clean and staff helpful. We appreciate your comments and are always looking for areas to improve.
Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

First they told us one price and charged another The room once we got inside was a 50. dollar a night place for 205. dollar. We had made res. Upon arrival we parked in the space at the door of the room. We came out of the room later to go meet friends. and we were blocked in with what they call double parking . I went to the office to ask for help getting one of their other guest to move -This started a three hour affair which ended in nothing being done . Our first night totally ruined. I informed them I was going to move somewhere else. That I wanted my money back for the remainder of the res. they refused ., They had the property across the street so I ask to be moved there, they said no even though there sign said vac. I said I'm not going to stay in a place that treats their customers that way. They did not help and didn't care. I found another hotel that night. I called my cc co. When I got into the room to take a shower Two people could not be in the bathroom without bumping into each other. The room was dirty, no phone, no night stand, floors dirty. Sofa smelled. all this in the Jr. Suite for $ 205.75 a night . The hotel I found while walking 100.00 cheaper and 100% better. I will never stay there. even though I will have to dispute this charge with my credit card co. It was worth the move. We stayed there August 2012.

Room Tip: Don't stay there if you want to enjoy Wildwood NJ
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
First I must address the fact that you were charged the exact price you were given. In addition to recieving an email confirmation. Plus you signed the paper work after knowing what was being charged. I would like to apologize if you were unable to move your car due to the fact that you were blocked in. But, the staff did offer to give you a ride to and from / supply you money for transportation and all options were refused by you Mr. Tony. Thank you for addressing your concerns with us hopefully you will give us another chance.

Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I spent one night there and it was miserable.  We never been to wildwood so we gave it a shot.  Not only was the room disgusting with multiple flies in the room, the parking was ridiculous, had to go accross the street for the office, and the bed felt like it might fall through to the floor... Their service was despicable! We left a few items in the room after we checked out and didn't noticed until later that night after we returned home. We called them and they gave us a round about answer that house keeping didn't report anything.  We continued to call and leave messages with no response (continued to say we would pay for them to be shipped to our house).  Finally I was so annoyed that I sent an emailed to find out how this could have happened to get a condescending phone call. The lady on the phone was extremely rude and unhelpful! She ASSUMED that the maids threw out our bag saying it was trash... But of course they also said it was never reported that anything was in there at all.  The bag had 5 hand made artsy lawn yard steaks that we bought for family and they were clean still with the price tag on them... NOTHING like trash! They also "threw out" a brand new scale in the box!  I continued to explain to her what I was talking about and not understanding how ANYONE could find that to be trash but instead of making things better the lady continued to say "what can I do, I asked them but they keep saying they didn't see anything"! They either hire incompetent people or thieves! They also never offered to replace the items... I have never stayed at a place that didn't even TRY to make things right with their customers.  I would never stay there again!!!! BEWARE if you are going to waste your money at this place (pay more and go somewhere else- I wish I did!!!!!!!) Now I am out almost 50$ and the merchandise (not to add the motel being highly over priced)  because they don't know how to run a business!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Day and Thank you for your review. At the Casa del Sol, we are given the tools and ability to enhance the experiences of all our guest. As we make physical changes to fulfill that fresh star rating, we currently are working on enhancing all of our services to meet and exceed those ratings. I apologize the bed was not nearly as comfortable as would have liked. I am sorry your bag was misplaced. Our maids have turned in things as small as earings, to phones, ipods, and if they came across lawn ornaments they would have given it to me. We don't even have yards here. It does them no good to keep the items you have mentioned. Maybe it was left next to your car while packing or something else. As we enhance our property, we invite you to give us another chance to create an experience and not just another stay. Please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel if you wish to discuss this matter further.
Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked my hotel for this trip with travelocity and was very disappointed. First: I was told by Travelocity that my total bill would be $845.63, however, when I arrived to check-in at the hotel, the desk clerk tried to charge me $100.00 more because he said Travelocity made an error and that they were supposed to charge me $215.00 a night, well when I refused to pay this extra amount, he adjusted the bill but said I still needed to pay a $40.00 Travelocity convenience fee. So, I ended up paying: $882.44 in person. Then the room was horrible and they declined to give me a refund for the three nights additional I paid for after we were not happy the first night. Nothing in the room worked right and none of the info from the details about the hotel were right. The toilet was broken, the tub plug was totally missing, the details said there was dishes and utensils included, which there was not, we thought we were getting a room with at least a coffee maker by the hotel details, we did not, the room we got for four people was way too small for two adults and two kids for four nights, boy and girl had to sleep together. The room was not as clean as it should be either, the box spring cover was filthy and the linen had hair on it. We were never asked what type of room we would like to have. Instead of giving me a refund for the next three nights as requested, they made us go to a 'sister' hotel which basically was the same type of room where we never had any room service for our linen or cleaning and the remote did not work, and there was no parking spots left the last night we were there and was forced to park on the road which incurred us a $35 parking ticket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I am glad the front desk clerk took charge and assisted you accordingly. But make no mistake that is the job of the travel agent, is to make their commissions. I believe you were misguided during the entire process with the travel agent. The Deluxe Room you booked Does NOT offer a coffee maker, plates, utensils etc.. This is only supplied in the Family or Junior Suite where cooking is offered. I am sorry to hear that you aquired a ticket during your stay with us. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me at 609-729-2727

Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We decided to do a road trip down to Wildwood and stay there for a night. We had a reservation at the Casa Del Sole for a room with 2 double-beds. The room was located on the 1st floor which is also the motel parking. The room was clean, small and ok for a short stay. The motel as a great location and it's almost on the boardwalk and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Treating our guests with the highest level of hospitality, and making them happy, is our key goal.
I am glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to your return.

Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I reserved a room last minute for my girls and me b/c the reviews for this hotel were so favorable. I'm sorry to say that I cannot give this a favorable review. I had to find alternate accommodations b/c I COULD not stay there with my family. It is not as clean as the reviews suggest and the pictures MUST be retouched. I generally do not say, but if you are a family wanting a NICE vacation, this is not the place. I honestly can't even rate it a 1.

Room Tip: A wise friend suggested to me to ask when the hotel/ motel was last robbed and last renovated. YOU...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking time to submit your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied. I'd like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced.

Leslie, Proprty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Sol Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Motel

Address: 4109 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa del Sol Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa del Sol Motel is the ideal location to stay in Wildwood. We are just a few steps to the boardwalk and the best free beach in New Jersey. We offer a sparkling pool with a large deck area for lounging and relaxing during those hot summer days. The southern sun deck has picnic tables and umbrellas providing shade while you enjoy your barbeque and the kiddies play on the play set. Guestrooms are accessible via the decks where chairs are provided for people watching. All rooms are non smoking and pets are not permitted. All rooms have new porcelain tile in the living area, new furniture, mini fridge, flat screen TV and microwave. All suites have a kitchenette are with large refrigerator, cook top, toaster, coffee maker, sink and new cabinets with pots, pans and flatware. Daily maid service. Provided daily by our multi-lingual international staff. One complimentary off street parking spot and free wi-fi. Reserve you accommodations where "Good Times are SHORE Thing"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Sol Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sole Hotel Wildwood
Casa Del Sole Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Sol Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.