We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depressing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Sol Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Sol Motel to your Saves list
Casa del Sol Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4109 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“depressing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is pretty horrible - dark tiny rooms. After we saw our room we knew we couldn't stay there ( and I am not a fussy person). We asked for our money back but there are no refunds- no exceptions. Ask to see the room before you pay - we ended up leaving and loosing our money. Maybe if you are out to party and aren't concerned about noise or cleanliness you could tolerate this place. Not for me

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Cardinal Rule: Always View Rooms.....We encourage guest's to look at their room. We operate an honest business; We tell the truth. Some may not like to hear the truth. And yes once you have checked into most any motel in Wildwood there is a No refund policy. We only rent to over 25 years of age and do offer clean rooms. I am sorry you had a bad experience.

Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    10
    9
    21
See reviews for
51
19
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We decided to get away the first weekend of October so we can enjoy bike riding on the boardwalk before it gets to cold. The Family Room we booked was newly renovated and very clean. Our family of four were comfortable and were glad we found the Casa del Sol. The location is superb and we just booked our return for my sons wresting convention on eater weekend.

Room Tip: Macks Pizza next door is the best I've had on the Wildwood Boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Anytime is a great time in Wildwood, and an even better time at the Casa del Sol Motel. I am so very pleased that you found our rooms to be very clean and spacious. The location, your right it's the BEST in the Wildwood's. I hope that our motel is one that your family uses for many years to come. Thank you for your review.

Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

What a BAD place with BAD people. I had a non-refundable reservation and had intentions of going even if the weather wasn't so nice, but the area was being closed off, state emergency, due to a Hurricane Irene, and the management refused to credit me or reschedule: outright thieves!
Better to go on vacation to a place that is pleasurable with honest people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
For any of our guest, who have booked directly or indirectly with our establishment, were provided FULL REFUNDS to those who were unable to use CONFIRMED reservations because of Hurricane Irene; during the following dates. Friday the 26th, Saturday the 27th and Sunday the 28th of 2011. A HASSLE-free Full refund and all cancellation fees were waived. We here at the Casa del Sol Motel felt it was necessary to bend the rules and offer a peace of mind to our guests.
Leslie, Property Manager
609-729-2727
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during our prom weekend with my sister and friend. We were given a big room which was very clean for a great price. The manager was so nice and the security was great. The location of this hotel is also a huge plus as it's right on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
I am pleased to have one of our Prom Guests write. We appreciate your comments and look forward to servicing you, your family and friends in the future. We do shorely have fun here during prom and senior week.
Casa del Sol Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Typical beach hotel. Loved the tile floor, I hate when hotels have carpeting. It seemed cleaner with tile. Bathroom was small but served its purpose. Room seemed cleaned, no complaints. The worst was the parking...If you were parked in you'd have to get the person blocking you to move their car - but what if that person wasn't in the room? We didn't have a problem, we don't travel when we vacation - the purpose of the vacation is to relax and have everything within walking distance. Owner seemed nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
I am the proud property manager that most of you meet during your stay. I am ecstatic that we as a team have exceeded in your expectations in cleanness once again. Our Tile floors are one of our many assets that the rooms offer and the parking can be difficult if you make it that way. Thank you for your insight and I am glad you took the time to enjoy your life while you stayed with us. Come back and see us again.

Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This place was OK, but don't expect any kind of customer service here or any amenities. When we got there, their computer system was down, so the clerk was "juggling rooms". We did get the room type that we booked, but their computer system still wasn't fixed when we checked out the next day. I say this only to provide a glimpse of how things seem to go at this place.

The room is basic, bathroom is small, pool is small, parking sounds like a nightmare, but we didn't deal with any parking issues because we were one of the ones parked in back. They force you to park piggybacked. They make you put a tag in your car with your room number on it. If someone is parked behind you, you're responsible to go to their room and ask them to move their car (this is exactly what we were told, no help from the the front desk, it's completely up to you).

We had plans to leave early in the morning (is 8 am really that early?) to go to another city and found out that the office was closed when we tried to check out. We were never made aware of this when we checked in. This probably wouldn't have been an issue for most people, but it would have been nice to know so we could have changed our plans and slept in a little bit. The only sign posted in the office with hours was to advertise their late checkout which they would happily charge you $50 for. When they finally showed up at 9 am we asked about why they didn't tell us they closed and the response was: "You should have read the guest rules." That's great service, blame the customer! These "guest rules" also weren't explained anytime during our check-in and I didn't see them anywhere in the office while checking out. They had a spot on the bottom left corner of the door that was blank where the hours were supposed to be. Also during after hours (10 pm - 9 am), they have a number call on the door you can call which went to an answering machine. So if you have any issues, good luck getting any help.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
I was working the front desk the day our new guest’s system froze. As I worked as diligently as possible to cope with the situation which was extremely stressful for me on the inside. (Plus we were enduring 19 Check-outs and 19 in which was not an easy task). There were no complaints by any guests on this day and everyone had patience. I believe your own comments show that during this hard time, and juggling rooms you still received YOUR room you reserved and you never said a word to me. And the computer was working the next morning, as it needs to be started in the morning. This is exactly why motels do not rent to young people. It only takes one to ruin it for the rest. Parking: We do not force anyone to do anything. As you are a guest in our motel, you are entitled to ONE free parking spot per unit. We are lucky enough to offer half of our building single spots in which you do not have to park one in front of the other. The other half if piggyback. And it works just fine. Remember you never even dealt with it. Many motels don’t even have this to offer their guests. Some even park 4 cars deep. If this is the extent of your complaints we are doing well thus far. And YES, there isn’t a single motel out there that doesn’t ask you to place your parking tag inside your car with your room number on it; Especially being next to the boardwalk and beach. Really. When everyone checks into the property, I offer each guest the opportunity to read the information provided to them. The ones that don’t are the few that don’t know what is going on. But, I do tell each guest the most important things they need to know. Office and Pool hours are amongst the two things. Many guest’s that check-out earlier than 9:00AM simply turn in a single key at night prior to the office closing. The hours never change they are 9:00AM-10:00PM.
Leslie, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is and will be my vacation get away...I love it here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volleyballmomPa, General Manager at Casa del Sol Motel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Awesome review. I love that we have been able to meet your needs 100% each time you stayed here; We are dedicated to our jobs and loyal in our guest such as yourself. We are glad that you are comfortable here and welcome you back always.

Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Sol Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol Motel

Address: 4109 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa del Sol Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa del Sol Motel is the ideal location to stay in Wildwood. We are just a few steps to the boardwalk and the best free beach in New Jersey. We offer a sparkling pool with a large deck area for lounging and relaxing during those hot summer days. The southern sun deck has picnic tables and umbrellas providing shade while you enjoy your barbeque and the kiddies play on the play set. Guestrooms are accessible via the decks where chairs are provided for people watching. All rooms are non smoking and pets are not permitted. All rooms have new porcelain tile in the living area, new furniture, mini fridge, flat screen TV and microwave. All suites have a kitchenette are with large refrigerator, cook top, toaster, coffee maker, sink and new cabinets with pots, pans and flatware. Daily maid service. Provided daily by our multi-lingual international staff. One complimentary off street parking spot and free wi-fi. Reserve you accommodations where "Good Times are SHORE Thing"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Sol Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sole Hotel Wildwood
Casa Del Sole Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Sol Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.