We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar - CLOSED

Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar
3801 Pacific Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
609-729-6500
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corner Garfield & Pacific
Transit: N/A
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Close to authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A lively bar atmosphere with food as close to true Mexican as I have seen in the States. Good variety on the menu, clean comfortable atmosphere, and a great drink selection. Service can be a little spotty as there always seems to be new staff, but management is very involved in the community and promotes events almost year'round.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    17
    14
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May,NJ
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Great taco salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've eaten here a few times over the years and am never disappointed by their taco salad. Huge drink selection, especially margarita's, which my wife enjoys.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good beer helped otherwise average bar/food establishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Wildwood mid October and by the time we went out Sunday night (about 8pm) this was about the only place open - of the places still open in the off season. The place was empty, but you could feel that it was a lively sports bar and the place for margaritas and beer during the summer. Our server was very friendly and helpful. He helped me find a good beer - offered several samples first. We ordered nachos and taquillos and I'm glad they were out of the latter since the nachos were plenty for the two of us. Nothing to write home about (or more here). Best were the chips - crispy, light but with a firm corn taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go some place else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had dinner with two friends in mid-October. The restaurant was virtually empty. We each order the paella at $28 each, plus two appetizers and drinks. The paella was missing the chorizo and the waiter acknowledged that the chef forgot it, so our main course was very tasteless and primarily looked like someone three a couple clams, mussels and a scallop into a plate of rice-a-roni. We couldn't even eat it. We were offered free fried oreos in exchange. After complaining on their website and viewing photos of how their food was supposed to look, we were offered $15 if we returned. Which we did. This time the food was better, but we were very caucious. We order lobster bisque after asking the waiter if they had it. He had confirmed it was available, but came back later saying they were out of lobster and we were there early in the afternoon. The waiter suggested substituting crab for the lobster, but charged the same price. They do not have brunch after September, but they have menus at the front counter that don't indicate there brunch is confined to certain months. The margarita we ordered ($12 a piece) was supposed to have a spear of fresh pineapple soaked in a special tequilla - guess what - they forgot that too. And we were the only customers ordering at the time. There was another table almost finished and another table that arrived after we were almost finished. So, you can't blame it being too busy. I'd hate to see it if they were busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food was tasty but heavy. Just average to my tastes. No one in my party wanted to take home their leftovers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar also viewed

 
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juan Pablo's Margarita Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.