We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel and reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Newport Beach Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beach Resort
4900 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Mount Carmel, Pennsylvania
1 review
“excellent hotel and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times over the past few years. My family enjoyed their stay as did I. the people were friendly and the hotel was neatly kept. We have never had a problem which is why we will be there again. The location is ideal and its nice to see that they do not overcharge their visitors . Thank you Newport Beach Hotel.We appreciate you.

Room Tip: We love the rooms that are ocean front .We love the view so much we move the table and chairs to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    9
    4
    37
See reviews for
50
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We came here in Aug 2012 for a weekend. Our room was a little on the small side, but we were only here to sleep and shower up. The prices were great. The staff was attentive and helpful with touristy stuff. The only issue we had was families that stayed here did not attend to their children while they were at the pool. We decided to not bother with the pool due to overcrowding and potentially seeing a child bust their head open while climbing on the fence that was there to divide the kiddie area. Maybe there should be a better watch on the pool or at least stricter rules on the use.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed here for a weekend in october ocean front private balcony.they have an elevator the rooms were seperated from each other great viewof the wildwood sign and the beach we have never stayed here before and the summer might be much different but for 89 a night for the weekend is a good deal i would stay here again at the same time of year.my husband didnt like the small tvs and the remotes didnt work so well though.

Room Tip: spend a few more dollars for the ocean front its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harborcreek, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked three rooms at the beginning of the month. There was not a single bug of any kind in any of the rooms! No bed bugs, no sand fleas, not even a spider. All of the rooms were very clean and the housekeeper is very friendly and sweet. She made she sure we had everything we needed. The woman at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful in suggestions on where to eat and what to do.

The hotel has a pool that was clean and is used. The kids had more fun playing in the pool than in the ocean (go figure). They also have a guest washer and dryer. Each cost $1. If you plan on using them make sure you have quarters (no one was able to give us change in quarters). There is also a sunning deck with lounge chairs. We only used it once and at night. It was a great area to sit around and talk. The hotel is outdated but not in a bad way. I think that is what gives it its charm. The hotel also charges for Wi-Fi. That really does not bother me as many hotels charge you. We have teenagers so we paid for 3 nights and up to 3 users and the cost was around $36.

Now for the downfalls. PARKING! A lot of reviewers have complained about it and when I was there a woman was screaming about it. To avoid this the staff should tell you when you make a reservation where to park. Park behind the Subway restaurant. Once you check in they will give you a parking pass to put in your car so you can stay in that lot. After we checked in and knew where to park we never had another parking issue.

The only other downfall for me was the water pressure. It was not too bad in the shower (though the hot and cold were backwards--took me forever to figure that one out lol). However, sometimes the toilets do not flush. To get it to flush you have to wait for it to completely fill back up (which takes a bit) and then flush.

Beach tip: Yes, the hotel is across the street from the beach. But, the ocean is still about 3/4 mile walk. When they say the beaches are as wide as they are long; they are not kidding! I suggest taking a wagon or some sort of cart to help get all your beach gear down there.

Boardwalk tip: It cost $8.00 per ride. Some rides are extra. The slingshot cage thing cost $50 for two people. We did not eat on the Boardwalk but we did have ice cream which was $4 a cone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very friendly and clean. Loved the retro beach feel, I remember as a child. Visitors should be told that they can use the Subway parking lot to park. There is also a guest washer and dryer and if you plan to use it have some quarters, 4 for washer and 4 for dryer. The Subway is a little strange,they do not take coupons or honor cards and never have decaf coffee but they are very friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I wouldn't give this place one star! It is completely outdated and dirty! My sheets were stained and garbage was left over from previous guests in the room. We had no towels when we arrived and the toliet barely flushes. I wouldn't waste my money on this place, keep looking. They have some nerve charging so much for this garbage!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norristown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Enjoy our stay at the Newport. The rooms were nice and clean. The service was good Kathy at the front desk very nice enjoyed talking to her. The location was great right across the street from beach and boardwalk. Really have fun. Will com back again. MH

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Ocean Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Resort Motel in the Wildwoods. All rooms are ocean-view with private balaconies. The Newport offers deluxe motel rooms, fully equipped 2 -room efficiency suites and 2 bedroom suites. Best location in Wildwood, crib rentals available, guest laundromat, ice machines, elevator, cable TV, refrigerators in all rooms, close to boardwalk, daily maid service. SUBWAY on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel Wildwood
Hotel Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.