We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carol , Mary Anne & Bruce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Suites

Save Saved
You added Esplanade Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esplanade Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 E. Taylor Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 77 hotels in Wildwood
Lawrenceville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Carol , Mary Anne & Bruce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 3-night stay at the Esplanade. Our room was impressively clean, fresh and extremely well maintained. The staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Bed bugs? No sign of them whatsoever! So many of the small details provided evidence that the Esplanade cares about its guests - both the human and canine variety. We highly recommend the Esplanade!

P.S. From Bruce to Denise & Ken: Woof!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
HI Carol, MaryAnn and Brucie
Sorry this responce is a little late but we have been the housing for the families and their pets that lost their homes in the Hurricane Sandy for over 3 months now and it has been very busy here with trying to help them get settled and re locate to this area, it also was a busy and fast winter and the holidays were especially busy & hard for them so we all worked hard to make it special for them and it did turn out to be very nice for all of them and their children and pets.

But i sincerely loved having you stay with us and sooooo look forward to having you all back again but especially Brucie (the KING of this castle for sure).......RUFF back at him!!
iT MAKES me smile to think we almost didnt have you because of some previous guest's commetns on here about bed bugs, and i told you to come inspect the room and if there were any problems we would gladly refund all of your money and help relocate you to another hotel. BUT WE DID NOT NEED to do that because you were soooooHAPPY with the room and us and that made our day!!!!
So it goes to show judge for yourself, and we are glad that you did, nwo we have you as our guests everytime that you visit the Wildwoods.
Thankyou very much for all your kind words and your business it is greatly appreciated.
Denise and the entire staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    13
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
67
18
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pennsauken
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great weeked away with fiends. Hotel could not have been nicer and the staff was very freindly and accomodating. Denise, the hotel manger, went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed or wanted. Gave us fantastic tips for dinner a nightlife - will definitely be back next year !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for all of your nice words and complimenting me so nicely.
In this business it warms my heart to know that i have made an impression and friend of my and on my guests, because it is my main priority to do so and keep my firends & family coming home for visits.
Again thankyou and we so look forward to seeing you next month.......Call me anytime for specials and discounts. 609-846-4132
Thanks again
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and i were suppose to stay for 4 days however we were forced out by bed bugs after a 1 night stay. I traveled with my 6 yr old son who was unable to sleep and woke up in the middle of the night, i turned on the lights and found a bed bug on his pillow. He had bite marks on his face, neck and back. I brought this issue to the the managers attention and she tried to claim that they could be mosquito bites instead or that we may have brought them in ourselves which would be a huge coincidence!!! with Jon D who also wrote a similar review. My son had over 15 bites and i have over 30 on my legs, back and face. Will not be returning EVER! the Inn Keeper called the bed bug expert to determine if beg bugs were present and only then will we get a refund. The bed bug expert was unable to make it to the inn. Horrible experience for us, future guests and the cleaning staff. We checked out and were not able to book another room on labor day weekend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are sorry for your inconvenience these bed bugs have many ways of traveling to hotels. By any means it doesnt mean that the person traveling carrying the bed bugs or the hotel are dirty it just means the bed bugs are an annoyance to us both.
After a long and busy summer one or two of our guests brought Bed Bugs into their rooms. Once we were aware of this the rooms were stripped, treated and isolated and the bed bugs were killed. Linens and fabrics were destroyed. It requires professionals and strong chemicals to do this and we have a guarantee that that the rooms are clean. We will always remain vigilant to insure that we remain the cleanest property in the Wildwoods; a lesson like this gives us sharp eyes to look at everything, everyday. Unfortunately, with so many travelers visiting us it takes only one person to inadvertently bring in a bug, in a suitcase or on a piece of clothing and an incident like this can happen. Again sorry for your bad experience and we are extremely sorry this happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family stayed here a few weeks ago, we booked thru Tans and I must sayI was use to staying at Condo/Resorts for accommodations not hotel- but it was fine. Denise was very nice and the gentleman that gave us the keys... my only problem was our last day... 8 am the cleaning staff ENTERED our room -used her key and did not knock. I happened to be sleeping in the front room and was not happy. She did Apologize and close the door quickly..BUT an hour later did it AGAIN... had the nerve to say "Sorry, take your time". Check out was at 10 so I don't know what the problem was.

Room Tip: A/c unit is in the back room so you must keep the door open to cool the entire place... it also runs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thankyou for your kind words it is most greatly appreciated.
We look forward to having you back again, call for the specials @ 1-800-522-7850
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were supposed to stay for 5 days, but did not due to a very small motel room and finding blood stains on our bed sheets as well as the pull out couch.

When we arrived home, almost 5 days later, my son and my husband broke out in bites all over their backs hands and feet. I called the Pediatrician for my son and the exterminator to check if we brought them home with us!

They were bed bug bites!!!

The exterminator said outbreak/signs of bed bugs occur within 5-9 days after being bitten.

I'm horrified by our experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are extremely sorry for your inconvenience, we are diligently always checking after guest check-out to see if the bed bugs found a host to travel to this hotel on, by means of their suitcases, clothing etc..... We have been extremely good at it all summer & we were full all season as well, but unfortunately recently we had 2 incidents that have been treated and certified by a professional company. These bugs are slick the guest is not even aware that they can be carrriers until it is too late. Please be assured that we are always inspecting the rooms for this problem and act immediately regardless of the price to fix the problem and be able to guarantee to our guest that they will have still the cleanest rooms in Wildwood & Bed Bug FREE as well.
Again we are sorry for all parties involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We decided last minute to head to Wildwood from Maryland for the 4th of July for a short stay, hadn't been there since I was a kid. When I initially reserved a room online and was billed for a more expensive room than what I had selected. Denise explained at this late date everything else was filled (which is understandable), but then by chance right before, an Efficiency opened up. The bill was adjusted accordingly after the deposit, and were happy. Denise was helpful to my many questions and very quick email responses while booking.

I brought my girlfriend and her son who is in his late teens. Denise made accommodations for us after hours in advance because we knew we would be arriving late. We ended up getting there super late and tired at 1:00am. The place was very well lit and clean on the outside, the pool looked spotless. Opened the door to the room, which was very clean, bright and nicely decorated. Efficiency was the perfect size for the three of us: double bed, and sleeper sofa worked out fine, nice little kitchenette and bathroom. AC was a wall unit which was a little noisy but worked well. Parking pass in room and received keys as promised. A woman patrolling the parking lot verified we were supposed to be there.

Only minor complaints were not very many accessible power outlets in the room for our various phones, gadgets etc. And checkout was relatively early compared to other places, but they gave us an extra hour at request which was helpful.

Located about two blocks from the beach which was great. The hotels closer to the beach actually didn't look as nice as Esplanade so we were happy with our choice. Boardwalk is a little longer distance but not too bad if you are in good shape. We will probably end up going back to Wildwood again, and definitely stay at Esplanade Suites if we do.

Room Tip: Office closes early, coordinate ahead if you are arriving after hours they will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thankyou for all your kind words. It was great having you and it is our good fortune that you found us and are going to be staying with us again, next time if we know your date earlier we can get you into a one bedroom suite. Looking forward to you being our guest again.
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice place. Pool looked nice but was busy which was fine. Beach is walking distance. Staff pleasant. Bed was a little small for 2..thought we were getting "queen" size. But still not a bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denisepalek, General Manager at Esplanade Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thankyou for all your kind comments.
It was great having you stay with us and we look forward to having you stay again.
Please call ahead 1-800-522-7850 to book your next stay and ask for the specials that we are offering.
Thanks
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Suites

Address: 230 E. Taylor Ave., Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood
#15 Family Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Esplanade Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the free beach, boardwalk activities, and the convention center, Esplanade Suites features studio and one-bedroom, condo-style guestrooms in family friendly Wildwood, N.J. Outdoor heated pool, free parking, and barbequing await you! Esplanade Suites is the ideal locale for your summer getaway or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Esplanade Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.