We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oceanic Hotel to your Saves list
Oceanic Hotel
4600 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
New Oxford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very attentive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We had a child along that needed refrigerated medication. Our fridge was broken. Not only did they fix the fridge right away, they brought in a small one just for her meds. That my dear is priceless. yes the couch was old and broken down, but who needs to sit at Wildwood? The beds were great and all had good nights sleep. The room was clean and the maids are outstanding. Stayed there last month and this month and looking forward to next month.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    24
    20
    32
See reviews for
62
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Its wildwood - so almost every hotel by the boardward needs updating regardless how much you paid!!
Oceanic is right across from the Convention Center/boardwark. Just cross one street and you are there. It nice because you also dont have to walk a mile on the sand to get to the water because at the Convention Center there is a walkway about half the way.
The hotel is OK, it has a pool and a swim up bar. Nothing spectacular, but not too bad either. The room was clean and a decent size - but again its wildwood so you cant set your expectations really high!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hmmm, positive things to say: price is right, location is ok and manager was pleasant and helpful. Sorry, but downhill from here: Several things in room indicative that the room was absolutely NOT cleaned between guests. FRIGHTENING!!! We had to insist on "recleaning" and were refused a refund. Rooms missing minor accommodations you might expect. Not kid friendly in my opinon. Keep in mind that the swim-up tiki bar pool is open to the public (not just motel guests) which I've just never experienced. I wouldn't have taken my kids in with the crowd of intoxicated elder parrotheads but if that's your scene and you're lucky enough to get a clean room then this might be the place for you. I should have researched better. Sadly I can't say that I would ever consider returning. I would pay double elsewhere for a comfortable stay. It almost ruined our mini vacaton ; (((

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

great location, yes, clean rooms , yes, front desk plesant, yes. Rooms , need new sofa beds, absolutely, smell moldy, you can see they are old .Tv's, need to be updated, absolutely NO MORE VCR,TV!!! Water smelled alittle strange. Great pool and jacuzzi ,yes , but they are charging for the bar and pool , no room for the ppl who actually stayed in the hotel, to sit or use the tables to eat. next it tells you about the grill , you can only order food to pay , instead of you cooking yourself? MORE EXTRA MONEY the place is getting . PARKING , cars blocking cars in that dont stay at the hotel , just paying to use tiki bar, pool?If thats the case make lot bigger. The worker thats outside , door monitor should i say ,We got atleast asked , what room your in , when he has seen you atleast 4 to 5 times . While we were being asked , people we slipping pass that never got even asked and came in and out . The people that paid to use the tiki bar and pool , smoked while floating on rafts, getting ashes in the pool and there was plenty of children around, but the bartender and pool door monitor got upset when the kids played with the ball. Then maybe it shouldnt be a family place , People were wasted and it was 12 in the afternoon. I will not go on , but i can! Ive stayed plenty of times at the oceanic through out the years. Hasent been the best time , and it could of been , if it wasnt for poor service. SORRY TO SOUND HARSH , but this was my stay experience if yours was great , im glad , but all times arent great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great Motel right across the street from the beach. They also have a wonderful pool with a tiki bar you can swim up to. It's affordable,clean, and safe. Willbe back next summer and the summer after that!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have been going to the Oceanic for over 25 years and I have never been disappointed by the rooms, staff, prices or service.Ask for an ocean front room and enjoy the swim-up bar and jacuzzi.If you have a family it is the place for you.Free parking and the coffee is always on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

For everyone complaining about everything about the Oceanic~ this is not the Ritz nor does it claim to be! This is also not Aruba. It's WILDWOOD, NJ! The hotel and rooms could definitely use some updates, yes. The elevator, carpets, couches, chairs and bathrooms are all outdated and show their age. BUT the beds are immaculate! We were in 2 different rooms on 2 different floors and in both cases the linens were prestine and the pillows so comfortable! Not a bed bug or any other bug for that matter to be found! Someone said the walls were paper thin??? If I knocked loudly on my own door no one could hear me from the bedroom! There was a HUGE group in the room next to us which we figured we'd hear morning, noon and night. The only time we heard them is when we were in the hallway and their door was open! That's it. Yes, the ocean is across the street and convention center but aside from a very few hotels that are on the other side of the street most hotels are across that street. It's a 2 minute walk to the boardwalk!
We had an efficiency and everything we needed except a coffee maker was provided for us! Pots, pans, tea kettle, utensils, plates, bowls, cups, dish soap, dish towels, etc. There is always coffee available in the lobby. Plenty of soap and towels provided. No amenities like shampoo or conditioner.
All of the staff here is wonderful! The front desk (Fred and Larry) were so welcoming when we got there. Very friendly during our 5 day stay! The pool is a blast! Rosie the bartender is a gem! The live music was upbeat and entertaining! And when there is no live music the music is streamed all day. Fun atmosphere! Yes~ there was quite a cast of characters at some points but they were harmless and just having a good time! The waitress at the pool is the sweetest person! And there always seemed to be additional staff in the pool area tending to various needs. At night the inside bar was busy but never jam packed. The ages ranged from 21 to 70! Again~ very friendly bartenders and bouncers. They are VERY strict with the drinking age and watch everything that is happening! There is a pool table upstairs which was fun. Even housekeeping was terrific! Dorothy was so sweet and accomodating! We tended to leave the room late and she was more than happy to clean our room at our convenience!

It would be ideal if in the off season the hotel could be renovated but this hotel doesn't have the backing of a larger chain and only busy for a few months out of the year. Their prices are so reasonable that it makes it difficult to put a lot of $ back into the place. In the meantime they keep it clean, comfortable and safe.

My biggest complaint would be that their smoking area is right outside the front door so it definitely smells like a big ashtray walking in and out. When you 1st arrive that certainly isnt the 1st impression you were hoping to have. BUT I got past it and we all had a terrific time! We were sad to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wildwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn - Wildwood
Days Inn - Wildwood
#28 of 78 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Beach Resort
Newport Beach Resort
#34 of 78 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat
The Diplomat
#50 of 78 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monaco Motel
Monaco Motel
#24 of 78 in Wildwood
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#12 of 78 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Motel
Tropicana Motel
#27 of 78 in Wildwood
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Hotel

Address: 4600 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and cool off at the only swim up tiki bar in Wildwood. Capture the true island vibe with tropical drinks, ice cold beers, and the coolest staff on the island. You can always enjoy a poolside lunch from our fantastic grill menu. It's sure to please everyone. Play outside all day and party into the evening with live entertainment that will keep your vacation fun filled! Need to get out of the sun? Then come inside and enjoy your favorite beverage at the original barefoot bar - complete with views of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oceanic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.