We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caprice Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caprice Motel to your Saves list
Caprice Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NOT GOOD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good location to boardwalk if you have teens! Not a nice room. Pull out sofa bed had dirty sheets. Had to ask for new sheets and put them on myself. I would have been mortified if i was the desk clerk, but she didnt seem to care much. Maybe they are used to dirty sheets. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
31
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

i never been to wildwood what time can me and my family check in for our room bc we live in pennsylvainia and we like to leave early when we go to the beach thanx if u answer this plus ppl who say negative things to be a drama queens or miserable ppl until they find out them selves

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place was such a dump! Don't go by the pictures cause that is what I went by. Not clean! Had to clean with a bottle of lysol wipes before would even sit down on a chair. Tile floors nice but slimmy. Floors swept everyday but never mopped. Dead fly in 2 rooms were there the from when we arrived to when we left. 1 AC for 2 rooms & was not a strong AC so you sweat in the other room. Ceiling fan in non AC room but no way to turn it on. Electric is fire hazard & plumbing is very old. Bathroom was so dirty with hair, smells and dirty shower curtain. Beds were not changed daily since had a stained top sheet everyday. Management was rude, that was when she actually spoke to you but rest of staff was nice. Management always watching you like you are doing something wrong and makes you feel uncomfortable. Pool when I was there was cold (suppose to be heated) and cloudy even when it was first thing in the morning, but it was cleaned everyday. If management try's to defend this don't believe it since she works there I had to live there for a week! I looked at several other motels when I was there that week and some around the same price were so much cleaner and in good location.. Will never go back to this dump again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first and last time visiting. As far as Wildwood motels go, it was probably one of the better ones. BUT, I was terribly disappointed. After driving 7 hours to get there we were allowed to inspect the room, but felt "stuck" because there wasn't availability at other motels. I was, to say the least, disappointed. The room does have tile flooring, which makes sense given the proximity to the beach, but I would suggest a vacuum, not a broom to clean it. We wore flip flops in the room & put a towel down on the floor of the shower, like "in" the shower. There was hair all over the floor when we got there, especially in the corners and near the walls. There was a giant, bloody booger on the bathroom wall-Gross. How could they miss that? Walls were painted, but it looks like a child did it. That sounds petty, but when you are paying nearly $200.00 per night, I expect much better. Pool was cleaned daily, which was reassuring. The rooms were very damp and the floor got wet, probably from the air conditioning, which made them seem even dirtier. The pull out bed was one of the worst ever - VERY uncomfortable. The grounds were kept very clean - no garbage, cigarette butts etc. I was just hoping and expecting more. I would suggest staying in Cape May and driving in to Wildwood for all the crazy, carnival activities. All of the families with kids staying did seem to have a wonderful time, but smoking outside the room on the crummy lawn chair provided just doesn't suit me. There seemed to be one "type" there - super laid-back, carnies. After a day at the beach, I like to relax in my comfortable hotel room and was just not able to do this. I was a skeeved out. I am sick to think about how much we spent at this motel. We travel quite frequently and usually stay in hotels that are in this price range. This was the worst place we have ever stayed, EVER. Staff was very friendly. Oh, and this was the first time I ever checked into a hotel and then went directly to the drug store to buy Lysol.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

In regards to the review by ChaplinFan.... please note that the Chichester Cheetahs, a GIRLS soccer team, were not the only team in the hotel that weekend. Further, the huge flag is a soccer flag, and has been proudly flying at the Caprice for the past four years. I'm wondering if you happened to drive around Wildwood and notice that the Caprice is not the only motel with signs in the windows stating who's room it is. Perhaps ChaplinFan needs to do more research on what weekend they chose to come to Wildwood, and avoid Beach Blast...where over 960 teams descend on the beachs for one of the largest beach soccer tournaments in the world. THANK YOU Caprice, Wildwood & Cape Express Soccer for hosting one of the most family friendly soccer experiences on the east coast!!!!! The Caprice is a great family friendly hotel, and the Cheetahs are proud to stay there! SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Caprice Motel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
thank you for your positive feed back on the caprice moteland the staff here . we do out best to accomadate everyone who visits . we do allow our conventions and large groups to display whatever need be , iam sorry that others were offended . we will see your wonderful kids with there familys next year to compete this time next year i do ant to see and hold the tropy >
thanks again
joanne and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Caprice Motel is a great place to stay. I have been going there for the past six years with my family and soccer team for Beach Blast. The environment is positive, rooms are clean, and it is located less than a block away from the boardwalk and beach. I couldn't/wouldn't recommend another place to stay because this place is top knotch! Now as for a previous review about guests not being respectable, alls I have to say is its cowardly to post a review on the Internet complaining and trashing the name of a girls soccer team who were just trying to showing passion about their team and enjoying themselves, family and friends. If the actions of 14 year old girls affected you that much you should have been a responsible adult and confronted someone about it. Anyway me and my family had a great time and will be back the same time next year, with the same trashy flag, enjoying our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Beach Blast weekend is a great event that Wildwood has hosted for over 10 year! It is a great Team event where family spend quality time together and there is not a better motel for it then "The Caprice"! The management is first class and everyone who stays there that I know can't wait to next year when they could come back. In response to a previous review of this motel, all I can say is that you should get the stories that you post correct before you post them. The Chichester Cheetah Family is a great group of people with a wonderful respectful group of kids. Posters in windows and a team Flag is not a bad things during a soccer weekend where there is over 900 teams and thousands of great kids come down to Wilwood to play soccer and share quality time together with their friends and families. Thank you to the Caprice for always being 1st class.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caprice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice Motel

Address: 4200 Ocean Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caprice Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caprice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprice Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.