We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuck!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Motel to your Saves list
Tropicana Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   305 East Young Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yuck!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

first i will say the staff was rude and when i got to my room it only got worse. there is nothing worse than a dumpy dirty looking rundown motel room and this was it!!! never again!!

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    5
    5
    12
See reviews for
25
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Me and my family stayed here for 4 days and I must say we had a great time.Staff was friendly and the beach was only a block away.I agree with the other comment the person left about the lights they look pretty good. Well I recommend this place to families and friends.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

I will start by saying I have not had the horror of staying in a "motel" for quite some time, nor crappy beach motels. This may be the norm but I was not satisfied. Stay was 7/28-7/30.

My friends booked the place for a fun weekend at the beach. When I arrived I was in horror!

The Bad, Ugly:

-Two tiny double beds, the second one flush with the wall, nothing like sleeping next to the wall.
-Holes in bed linens and towels.
-Nothing beats the "hair" (not just from the head!) of strangers in your bathroom and bed linens.
-Rust all over bathtub and sink
-Toilet had unsightly ring around
-No clock at all, no alarm, no wall, nothing!
-Curtains would not close completely. Did not match either, old flower curtains with, what looked like semi-new, yet still dirty, cheap "retro" print green bedspreads.
-Rate was 140/night!!! I have stayed in 4 star hotels for half this price in Major cities (Boston, SF, and Chicago) with priceline. What a rip off! I guess I have become acclimated to clean hotels at great values!
-Tiniest parking lot known to man. Only one car per room (they will tow). It took me a good 10 minutes to back-up out of the parking lot doing 10 three point turns!

The Good:
-There was a refrigerator in room, most modern thing in the room!
-TV selection good, better than most
-Short walk to boardwalk

  • Liked — refrigerator
  • Disliked — Where Do I Begin?
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somewhere else!!!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

This was like staying in hell. The prices were outrageous and the rooms were atrocious. Blue sinks, yellow tile on wall in bathroom, cigarette burns in carpet, sheets were never changed for the entire week. Musty smell in room. Never again will I stay here!!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

This hotel is a gem in Wildwood. The location makes it shine as it is an easy walk to the beach and boardwalk. We stayed for 3 days and did not have any problems. I requested and recieved a non-smoking/quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed at the Tropicana Motel last summer with our soccer team for the Beach-O-Blast Soccer Tourn. We had registered for the tourn. late and there wasn't much of a selection of motels left to choose from. The location of the motel was good for the tournament and close to the two ride piers and many places to eat-but that is all that was good about the Tropicana. The Tropicana is nothing more than an old motel with stained sheets and towels, funny odor to the rooms, no phones, wall unit air conditioners that leak onto the floors and the ice isn't even free. The parking is really tight-once your parked it's very hard to move your car again until you leave. The rooms were like boxes-very tight for a family of 4. It served our purpose at the time-having a place to sleep close to the soccer games- but we are more prepared this year and will be staying at the Adventurer Inn at the beginning of the Crest. I wasn't even going to write a review of the Tropicana until I heard that the prices went up to $120 per night! There are many nicer hotels that have oceanviews and full efficiencies in them for just a little more per night. I would only stay at the Tropicana if you were stuck with no place else to go. On a good note there were no bugs or mold.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

If you want to have a good time with friends and family tropicana is the place to be! Me and my family were there for 5 nights and it was a blast.The beach and the boardwalk were just a half a block away. 200 feet and your already laying on the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. If you want something quiet and nice take a ride to wildwood and stay at the tropicana motel, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel

Address: 305 East Young Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropicana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience a fabulous vacation in a charming historic Mid Century architecture(Doo Wop)Motel. Park your car and walk to all vacation activities Wildwoods has to offer. Tropicana Motel is located half a block from Wildwoods free beach and boardwalk and Morey's Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Tropicana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Wildwood
Tropicana Motel Wildwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.