We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Great Location Great Food Great People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast
209 East Magnolia Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Wildwood B&B and Inns
maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great B&B Great Location Great Food Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A last minute trip was made possible by the kindness of Todd who was helpful and accommodating to our late arrival. We rented a one bedroom suite with a daybed for one night May 2012. Maybe because it was the weekend before Memorial Day that explained the great rate we got at the last minute. Within a mile of the beach, we found this house to be well equipped with attention to detail. The bedroom had a small master bath with a shower and toilet in a separate room with a corner sink in the bedroom. It's amazing how compact the place was yet it didn't feel cramped. It had everything we needed. A round table in the eat-in kitchen gave us room to spread out. I would suggest the fridge be plugged in prior to guests arriving. Our son occupied the front room with the day bed being comfortable with the added bonus of a second television (thank you!). Breakfast the following morning was for an additional fee of $20 for the 3 of us. Although short on protein, the food was well prepared with nice presentation and attentiveness. The candy jars in the lobby were a nice touch. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We highly recommend this delightful B&B!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite has an eat-in kitchen giving you much more room than the first floor suite that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent three days at this B&B . We were in a suite and the decor was warm and inviting. The breakfast was just great. Todd gave us suggestions for dinner that were wonderful, and hiking off the beach as well. had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleeggharbornj
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

stayed in the Shel Silverstein room just for one night. Very nice, bed comfortable, and I enjoyed the sink being in the bedroom
and not the bathroom. Innkeepers are very knowledgeable and helpful. Parking was on the next block.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent 2 days in the Robert Louis Stevenson suite with my husband and son. On pulling up on the Sea Gypsy I was already dissappointed. The main house outside appearance is in need of some TLC (a good painting would help) and the neighborhood is a little rundown. The building that we were staying is directly behind the main house and that too needs help. The house next to it looks abandon and a wreck and definately brings down the appearance of the sea gypsy. The suite though clean was just ok. And lets not forget the late night (2am) loud music from the bar on the corner (good night Irenes). On the positive side the woman who took care of us and cooked our breakfast was a gem. If not for her the place would really be terrible. I would definately drive another ten miles to Cape May for a true Bed & Breakfast experience. By the way We never saw the Inn Keepers once. at 185.00 a night this was a true disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here for Labor day weekend and we loved it. We were in the Robert Louis Stevenson Suite, which has a small bedroom, kitchenette area with dining table, and living room. The location was great as others have said, far enough from the boardwalk to be calm and quiet, but close enough that it's a short walk to the beach.

Breakfast really is very nice, with home baking, fresh fruit, and a plate of hot food (could be eggs, ham, waffles, changes daily). The fresh lemonade and snack bar is a lovely touch too.

The only negative for us was that the walls really were paper thin, and we could hear the guests next to us speaking even at a low volume (and I'm sure they heard us too). This might not be the case in the main house.

But overall, a really cozy, classy spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is my 1st B&B experience and I love this place, although we stayed only for one night. Close to the beach and boardwalk (~5 minutes walk), close to restaurants, easy street parking, delicious breakfast (like the blueberry cakes especially), friendly enviornment (from the owner and other guests),...we also used the hot tub on the porch, it was very convenient and soothing after sightseeing and beach activities etc. There are snacks in the glass jars, iced lemonade in the refrigerator in the hallway, and wine in the dining room that you can have. The room is small but we only use it for sleeping. Our room was clean and has a queen and a twin beds that are very comfortable. The bathroom is very small - but was clean and had plenty of towels and toiletries. They also have free internet access so we could check emails and send some pictures we took during the day.

I searched for places to stay and found this B&B a good location, good review, and good price (considering we came during the summer hot season). Definitely worth the money. Would definitely consider to come again if we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Our extended family took a trip to Cape May this summer and we decided to stay in Wildwood. We had 4 rooms booked and stayed for 2 nights. This was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and VERY clean. After check- in, we were left alone. We never felt awkward walking into the house, as I sometimes do when staying at a B&B. The breakfast was very substantial, and both days we skipped lunch because we were still full from breakfast. There was a nice porch area on the main house for sitting, and there was also a hot tub on the porch (although none of us used it). Each room has its own bathroom and TV. We easily could walk to the Wildwood boardwalk, and there was a nice ice cream shop one block away. We plan to return again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 East Magnolia Avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fully restored circa 1900 Queen Anne Victorian bed and breakfast inn, is located on a neighborhood street just blocks away from the beach, boardwalk, and amusement parks. Interior and exterior detailing make this charming Bed and Breakfast a pure delight. Hardwood floors, antique furnishings, a turret and spacious verandahs conjure memories of a special time in history.We also offer larger suites that accommodate 2 to 4 people. These suites are decorated in The Mission, or Craftsman style. They are perfect for families.There are numerous delightful taverns and restaurants within walking distance and Cape May is just 10 miles away! Bring the entire family for seaside fun, adventure and comfort, or book one of our suites for a quiet romantic getaway.For late fall or early spring beachcombers, our bed and breakfast inn is open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Gypsy Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.