We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As fresh as it gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked Up Seafood

Hooked Up Seafood
1044 West Rio Grands avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
(609) 522-2722
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 126 Restaurants in Wildwood
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“As fresh as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The first time we pulled up to this permanent food truck parked in a small gravelly parking lot next to a dock in the swamps along a busy road, I was skeptical. It turns out Hooked Up was our most frequented restaurant during our two week stay in Wildwood.

Restaurant may not be the right word, as this place is literally a food truck with some adjacent picnic tables. However, the ambiance screams fresh fish. The tables are set up in the back along the dock, and you're right next to the fishing boats that were used to catch your food. If you get there early enough for lunch, you can watch the friendly Captain and his sons unloading and cleaning the catch. They were very nice about answering questions from their land lubbing customers.

You order at the window and go sit at the tables in the back. When they're done cooking your food they bring it out the back door to you. We had the crabs, shrimp and fish of the day, which were some the best we've ever had, but what kept us coming back was their fried flounder sandwich. It is lightly breaded, golden brown, moist and flaky, served on a bun with lettuce and tomato. Everything here is fresh and delicious. Not cheap, but worth it with every bite.

The thought of waiting a year for more Hooked Up seems like an eternity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS GENUINE FRESH SEAFOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were looking for fresh steamed crabs. Not crab cakes or crab stuffed whatever but good ole fashioned crack-em-open crabs. So I was so thrilled when we stopped at this place (saw the big crab flag hanging overhead) & thought "let's take a peek". OMG HEAVEN! We ordered a dozen and man were they were delicious! We had to wait 20 minutes which was fine bc they were cooking our crabs fresh!! Doesn't get any better than that! I will absolutely return every year and recommend to friends/family. Since I literally only had fresh crabs on the brain I didn't try anything else but will most certainly try the other selections on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You can't get any fresher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is a real gem--just a shack on the marina, really, but the boats behind it bring in the fresh seafood all day and it goes right from the line onto your dish. You can taste the difference that kind of freshness makes.

The crabs are always good--the night I went the snow crab legs were the special, and it's served by the bucketful with a big wooden mallet. Delicious. The swordfish is phenomenal (seared or blackened, in a sandwich or not), my one gripe being the swordfish sandwich didn't come with any kinds of sauce or condiment. A little tartar sauce on it would have been good, and would have eliminated just chewing on big hunks of dry bread.

Some things on the menu are a real steal, but some are a bit pricey. The special on another night was a swordfish filet with a Caesar salad, at $23. For a meal that's served on a paper plate on a picnic table, the $23 price tag was a bit steep. It was delicious, but that price is better suited to a fancier restaurant in the city rather than a shack by the marina.

All around though, great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a crab shack on the side of a road next to a dock. Kind of like a food truck that is there permanently. Very friendly staff and a boy that was helpful and knowledgable. $10 fish sandwich. $18 platter. Has unique fish all caught locally. BYOB which we love. Bring a cooler and enjoy this local roadside eatery!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh & Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Me and my family had crabs that was freshly cooked to order and you had two sizes to choose from we also tried the clams, corn on the cob, clam chowder soup with toasted garlic bread all was very delicious. The small but quaint out door eatery is right next to the docks which makes it feel like your on the water front right off the pier. All in all the place had lost of activity with people picking of phoned in orders as well as people dinning out with the option of BYB.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked Up Seafood also viewed

Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Hooked Up Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked Up Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.