We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked Up Seafood

Hooked Up Seafood
1044 West Rio Grands avenue, Wildwood, NJ 08260
(609) 522-2722
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 134 restaurants in Wildwood
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stopped here the first year they opened. Came back very recently with friends. It is owned by a few friends and really is a down home place. Has picnic tables to sit at, right next to the boat that brings in the fresh seafood! It also sells fresh seafood to take home and prepare yourself. The folks I was with LOVED the crab cakes and the tuna. I am allergic so I ate off the alternative menu. While my selection was nothing special, I consider the name of the place, and how much my friends raved about the food, as a fair sign of what to expect. I would recommend to anyone to make a point of stopping to get a true taste of the Jersey shore!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    23
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Fresher Than This!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Fresh seafood right on the dock. This outdoor eatery (wouldn't call it a restaurant) consists of 6 picnic tables on the dock alongside the fishing boats that hauled in your dinner! Delicious crabs, tuna steaks, NE clam chowder, shrimp etc.! Fabulous food and service. The family owners greet and sit and chat with the patrons. Wonderful experience! (There are limited alternative menu items if you don't/can't eat seafood.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This little spot was quick hop from our vacation in Cape May, NJ. We always do a crab dinner when we go to Cape May and tried this one for the first time. Everything was terrific. It is a charming (but not fancy) little place where you eat at picnic tables just next to the docks and intercoastal. We were a party of 16 and enjoyed terrific crabs, steamers and awesome fish tacos! Even the sides (local corn, onion rings, etc) were delicious. The family that runs the restaurant are very friendly and accomodating and make terrific seafood. The crab cake sandwich is also highly recommended.

Bring your own, they'll keep 'em cold for you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had not been to Wildwood for years, and saw this orange sign saying live crabs. Stopped and was literally hooked. Everything very fresh, start with clam chowder, if you don't like the crabs (served with clean paper to crush) then try one of their grilled fresh fish or shrimp platters. Will come back and highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sooooooo Good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing seafood, amazing service, amazing everything!! Great crabs, full of meat, great crab cakes and fried fish sandwich. Had alternatives to non-seafood eaters.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked Up Seafood also viewed

Wildwood, Jersey Shore
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Hooked Up Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked Up Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.