We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flattered to decieve ..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Restaurant and Bar

The Ice House Restaurant and Bar
4415 Park Boulevard, Wildwood, NJ 08260-1732
609-522-0033
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ice House Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 126 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Davis Avenue
Description: Entering our fourth season, Ice House Restaurant and Bar is emerging as the option of choice for "down the shore" dining and relaxing. The dining room is perfect for parties of all sizes, two to twenty or more! Our kitchen staff prides itself in creatively preparing the freshest seafood and finest steaks in a comfortable and contemporary setting. Our Deck is a great alternative if you're only in the mood for appetizers and/or a sandwich while enjoying the view overlooking Otten's Harbor.Whether it's relaxing bay views on the Deck or dinner in the air-conditioned upscale dining room, Ice House has something for the whole family, aged two to ninety-two!
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Flattered to decieve ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The service wasn't great (possibly due to a new starter on the door), and the menu was pretty limited ... (not much fish for wildwood) ..
The bar upstairs again just should have been better than it was, but again i felt a little disappointed ... all in all i doubt i would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette B, Owner at The Ice House Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Sorry about your disappointment in our restaurant. Just wanted to note that we have predominately seafood on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Frozen Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have eaten at the Ice House several times but this was the first time this year. On this recent visit we ate outside on the second floor deck. The outdoor deck has an appetizer and sandwich menu.

We had the calamari appetizer. The portion size was large but had no taste. The side of marinara sauce also had little flavor. Based that each piece of calamari, was identical, it was obvious that the product was frozen. We also had a crabcake sandwich which while fried a little to long, was a good sandwich. The real disappointment was the bbq pork sandwich. It was described as jerk seasoned bbq pulled pork. The sandwich had no jerk seasoning. The sauce it was smothered in, did not appear to be "homemade".

On the plus side, the prices are reasonable. They have fairly priced drinks and beer. The waiter did a good job.

We would probably return but probably just for drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place but portions could be larger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate on the outside deck so maybe that's why our portions were smaller with the deck menu. I just felt like for the price maybe one side should coke with items. Food was good tasting and it was a nice clean fun feel. We asked for a drink special listed on there wall outside and our waitress had no idea what we were talking about nor did she care or try to find out so we ordered something different. She was nice just not being familiar with "specials" is badfor waitstaff. Overall it was good but I dont know if we would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time last week. Had heard from a family member that it was worth a look. The food was very good, prices were moderate. Atmosphere and decor a little cold but very nice and very clean. All four of us enjoyed our meals and would return.

The only negative I can think of was the accoustics. We had an early dinner and it was almost empty when we arrived. We sat downstairs and it is "L" shaped. There is a small bar at the short end of the "L" and we were seated at extreme other end. A small crowd was at the bar (maybe 8 people) and the noise coming from the bar made it difficult to talk to each other. There is no structure to absorb sound and it carries all through the building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visiting during crab festival”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We made a special point to visit during the annual crab festival. Big mistake! Upon entering the restaurant, a rude hostess (a grown woman, not a teenager!) rudely told us that because we were such a large group that "We'd just have to wait!" Not what you want to hear when three of the kids are under seven. Once seated we were handed sticky menus with about seven options. Perhaps that was because it was a "special menu" for the evening? Service was slow. Drinks were overpriced. While I normally want to give the benefit of the doubt, this is one place I won't be returning to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette B, Owner at The Ice House Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
First, let me apologize for your bad experience at our restaurant last Saturday. Unfortunately, during our annual NJ Crab Festival we only serve "crabby" things. It is after all a festival and we truly would not be able to give our usual enjoyable dining experience while hosting a festival outside which is why we choose to go with a "special" menu on that day throughout our entire restaurant. Again, I apologize for the wait but again it's a festival and tends to be crowded. We did accept reservations online for the first time this year for the dining room only. I can only again apologize for our hostess as usually she is most gracious and accommodating. There is absolutely no excuse for rudeness of any kind and can only hope that wasn't the case. I truly hope you give us a try perhaps at a time when there isn't a festival going on. Also, as a note our drink prices are one of the lowest around. Again I'm sorry for your disappointment in the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Wildwood, Jersey Shore
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Ice House Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.