We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay while in Wildwood, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sand Box Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Sand Box Motel to your Saves list
The Sand Box Motel
5310 Park Blvd, Wildwood, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Claymont, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay while in Wildwood, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay, very clean, great pool and the owner Joe is one of the nicest people that you will ever met. My family has been staying here twice each summer for the last 4 years and we do not ever think of staying anywhere else. My daughter loves the pool and the fact that each time we are there we run into some of the same guests, it is like family. Looking forward to many more years staying at The Sand Box!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Let me first say that my family and I have been staying with these owners for 21 years (at their old hotel and now here), so I may be a little bias. Joe and Rita are simply the best. They will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Need directions, recommendation of place to eat, events around town....Joe knows them all.

Now for the motel....it's clean, comfortable, and quiet. It's on the bay side at the corner of Park Blvd and Cresse Ave and borders Wildwood Crest. There is a heated pool with slide, jaccuzi, and of course a sand box for the kids, There is a gas grill available for your use,picnic tables and a sun deck. Many rooms offer king size comfortable beds along and futon with new mattress. Pots and pans in the efficiencies with cook top, refig and microwave. Apartment units also available for large families. Affordably priced. Acme, CVS, Walgreens, McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Mulligan's Liquors and Mulligan's Restaurant all within walking distance. Best thing is it's relaxing and quiet!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixville, pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a great place. The pool and hot tub were wonderful and the room was very clean. You pretty much have to drive to get to the beach or boardwalk but it was a very nice place. The owners were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and I found this place in the wildwood vacation planner and LOVED IT. The owners Joe and Rita are great. Joe is very knowledgable about the area and has some good recommendations for places to eat. The place is geared for families and couples over 30. They have a hot tub which is great to kickback with a drink at night and relax. Every morning Joe puts out coffee and donuts for the guests. The only downside is the motel is 4 blocks from the beach and boardwalk. If your looking for a place to relax by the pool, sit in the hot tub and just get away from it all then the Sandbox is the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sand Box Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Box Motel

Address: 5310 Park Blvd, Wildwood, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wildwood, New Jersey's Best Boardwalk, we promise that fun times are a shore thing at Sand Box Motel. Whether you're a local resident or tourist looking for a couple's getaway, a family vacation or girl's trip, we invite you to come and play in our Sand Box! Sand Box Motel's property features a pool, hot tub, picnic area, water slide and two BBQ grills, while our 24 newly renovated rooms include a variety of amenities from brand new linens and free WiFi to in room kitchens - all at the most affordable rates! Guests can relax at the Sand Box Motel or check out the nearby attractions like Wildwood's boardwalk, Splash Zone, Cape May and Maurie's Adventure Pier. We are focused on providing accommodations with the highest customer satisfaction rating in the Wildwoods and will do everything we can to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sand Box Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sand Box Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.