We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty Rudder Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rusty Rudder Restaurant
3400 Atlantic Ave, Wildwood, NJ 08260-4804
609-522-3095
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 126 Restaurants in Wildwood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Breakfast buffet used to be wonderful and was our go-to restaurant daily during our stays in NJ. This trip we visited this restaurant only once. We were disappointed in service, quality and selection.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    17
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible managerial methods”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Went to the rusty rudder for their $6.99 all you can eat on August 27. Had to pay before we even sat down. Asked if we could sit at a table away from the window where the sun was coming in and we're told to pull the blind down. We were charged three dollars for a glass of orange juice and two dollars for a glass of ice tea both glasses 8 ounces. $20 and change for two people eating breakfast. You only time we saw a server at our table was when they brought a can of whip cream. And then they have the audacity to post a sign to "don't forget to tip your servers!!!" Really… Who does that!!! HORRIBLE!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!! Eat someplace else!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Went there Saturday evening around 5:30-6pm and they were dead! That should have been out first clue. We were there about 4 years ago and it was wonderful! But since then things have majorly gone down hill! You pay before you even eat, the buffet was terrible "pre made" frozen food, there was maybe 25 items to choose from! Of which maybe 5 items were seafood related. It was just a mess! I will never go back and would not send anyone I know there! Please pick a different place to eat!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Horrible food..very overpriced for the garbage they serve!! I wish I looked for reviews before we wasted our money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Food Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Picked up a brochure claiming The Rusty Rudder as an "Award Winning Buffet". This buffet was anything but award-winning. I had bbq ribs which tasted awful. The fettuccine and broccoli was bland. When I asked for someone to slice the prime rib, the woman who was cleaning the buffet tables came over and carved a slice for me. I don' think the person using soapy water (I think) and a sponge cleaning the food area should be the same person carving the meat. Completely lost my appetite at this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Rudder Restaurant also viewed

North Wildwood, Jersey Shore
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 
Wildwood, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rusty Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty Rudder Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.