We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 Route 10 East, Whippany, NJ 07981   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were headed for Maine and got a late start. Stopped at the last moment and late at night. Desk staff were helpful. Clean room at a fair price. Breakfast and hot coffee served in the morning. Room was clean & excellent. Did not use any children's activities or fitness center. Trip advisor requires that I fill them in anyway?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    7
    26
See reviews for
9
6
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Review of others confirmed. Friend reserved it and as we entered the room we were disgusted. Could not pass board of health hell.
duct tape around iron white patches on red wall smoky air and could not breath. Choice hotels must be proud of this franchisee.
clerk refund our payment without argument. Then rushed away to hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only stayed here because other area hotels were more expensive. In hindsight, I wished I had made a different choice in hotel. Sometimes paying extra is worth it. Once we go there and looked around we wanted to leave but everything in the area was booked up.

Shabby, trash all over the rundown property. Smells like b.o. Sign on the door leading into the hotel said you needed your key card to get in, but the door didn't even close because the lock was broken. So anyone off the street could have walked into the hotel. Dust and cobwebs hanging over my bed. Toilet backed up. Bed was uncomfortable but clean. There was a tissue dispenser in the bathroom, but it was empty. Really? Tissue is too much trouble?

The lobby women's bathroom has two side by side stalls. It was clean. Problem was a portion of the wall between the stalls was missing. Nice if you want to have a conversation with the person on the toilet next to you.

Have no idea if the tv, microwave, fridge or stove worked. Luckily we were out most of our stay and only came back to the hotel to sleep. Thankfully there were no bed bugs.

Housekeeping came by and we were not yet ready to have them come in. But explaining this to the man was impossible because it seems he only knew a few English phrases. It was a difficult conversation.

We cut out trip short. Needed to get out of there and not look back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

To begin with the building is shabby as can be, the stucco is bad and cheap enough but the entire property is littered with broken bottles, trash and whatnot. At night you would assume the place was abandoned, there are very few lights that work and the front driveway is completely invisible. The rooms appeared nice enough as did the hallways (I'm no snob, I get that for 60 bucks a night this experience will not be luxurious but everyone has minimum standards). Half of the doors were cracked open with many different jamboxes blasting irritating music at all hours of the night, unscrupulous and often offensive looking characters are always hanging around and worse is that the hallways always smell of cigarettes and weed come 6PM. None of the doors in or out of the building lock so God help you if a wild gunman gets upset. The rooms appeared nice as I specified until you really began to look closer. The interior looked as though it may have been painted at some point (garish colors by the way) but you would never know because the lighting was so poor. The bathroom was disasterous. Our toilet worked and then broke on many occassions and the shower leaked constantly. Of course complaining never made a difference to the unruly staff but that didn't stop them from sending two strange Hispanic men to our room unannounced at 9AM to replace the sink counter for no apparent reason, nevermind the actual problems that needed fixing. The floors were nightmarish and had never seen a carpet cleaning or a decent vacuum cleaner for that matter. The maids (although very lovely and capable) failed to swap out towels and restock the bathroom with toilet paper. Most of the time the bed was never made and all of our linens either had burn holes or stains on them. The pillows are flat out terrible, no support and your neck will be killing you come the morning. The tv worked but there are minimal channels and most are either Spanish or Hindi so good luck with that. The outlets are often dangerous because I do not believe they are grounded properly or something, we avoided a fire and even then were not sure if the lamp had become electrified. The patio doors have no weather stripping and the heater (if it works) has no real thermostat so you are either freezing to death or being incinerated because the bed is directly next to the heater. The "continental breakfast" is everything but. Nothing more than a bunch of low rent, slapped together juice machines with a beat to hell toaster and a very surly woman standing in the corner making you aware that you are never to leave the dining area with food in hand. I have no idea what that was about. On a slightly positive note, the cleaning staff are very nice (even though they don't do the jobs they were hired to do) whereas the management is the biggest bunch of disgraceful reprobates I have ever bared witnessed to. Terribly disorganized and confused, they never seem to be on the same page at any given point in time. We talked to one man who claimed to be a manager and agreed on $50.00 per night. We soon learned that the rate given to us was incorrect. We discovered this with an angry Indian man pounding on the door at 9AM (unannounced) and then letting himself into the room making wild accusation that either he was owed money or that we would have to pay a week in advance! Nevermind that my girlfriend and I are asleep and unprepared for guests.(This happened on several occassions). There are no clear rates and be aware that whatever you are told is entirely temporary. We were quoted 50 dollars and then 75 dollars the next night for some peculiar reason. I have no idea what goes on behind closed doors but business ethics, management and customer service are not in the cards. I am also accustomed to being ridiculed and and treated poorly by the staff of almost any establishment (this is after all in New Jersey) but never before have I seen one man become so irate and unmanageable for no discernable reason, especially without any evidence to support his preposterous claims. I would sooner volunteer to be a ball turret gunner on a B-17 than stay in this "hotel" again. If you love arguing with barely intelligible management and staff and adore a crappy night sleep this really is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So filthy
Disgusting
The walls are fooling down
Garbage every way
Smells so so bad

I've been in hotels all around the world for the last 20 years, this is my worst experience.
Do not even think about it
Check the rooms before you book the rooms

Room Tip: Do not even think about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Plenty of fresh air, because of sliding door that would not close. It did however have unique home made security feature. Enjoy breeze in face from heater blasting on bed. Ancient Mattress, sheets and bedspread enhanced room's ambience. Non-smoking room easily accessed through smoke drenched hallway. Management assured us that outside security door would be unlocked during the day for our comvenience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wouldn't recommend this place for a dog. Appeared to be homeless people living across the hall. Trash everywhere outside on property and stacked in hallway. Bathtub looked as though someone had drained motor oil in it. Glass slider had major crack like a rock had been thrown against it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1255 Route 10 East, Whippany, NJ 07981
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Whippany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Whippany is located just 24 miles from Newark International Airport and 40 miles from New York City. The property is surrounded by over 30 Fortune 500 companies in the Parsippany, Hanover and Whippany areas. The location is ideal for business meetings or a weekend getaway. Hotel features 72 guest rooms and suites, business center, free continental breakfast, and an Eastern Asian buffet serving continental food during lunch and dinner. Other amenities include laundry facilities, free wireless high-speed Internet and in-room coffee. The rooms in this two-story hotel feature patios or balconies, cable TV with premium channels, and video game consoles. Pet accommodation: 10.00/night per pet. Pet limit: 2 pets per room / 15 pounds and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Whippany
Wellesley Hotel Whippany
Wellesley Whippany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.