We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanover Marriott

Save Saved
You added Hanover Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanover Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Rt 10 E, Whippany, NJ 07981   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big on Weekends!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here as it's near my daughter's college. I was pleasantly surprised as it's really not near a big city but had all the bit city comforts. Staff was very, very nice and uber accommodating. Beds and bedding were VERY comfortable. Shower spray was good and the water was hot. Best of all, the thermostat actually worked so we were able to be comfortable at the temperature we prefer. Had the yummy Sunday buffet breakfast, which was quite a bargain for all you got.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug V, Director of Sales at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the comfortable beds and your overall stay. I will share your compliments on the buffet with our Chef. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    83
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
69
29
22
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I Wanted to thank the dear staff of Hanover Marriott in whippany N.J
Brian, Amy, Kristie, Courtney, Donna and especially David who was so friendly and caring, helping us from the begining until the last minute of the weekend with a smile, You were absolutly great this is my second year coming to this Hotel for the womens retreat and your service and accomodations is AMAZING!!! Thank you so much and keep up the good work:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our caring service and friendly staff during your past stay at the Hanover Marriott! I appreciate the great feedback on those individuals and will share these comments with our team. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

All in all, the stay was good at this return trip for a dance competition. Some information though: Ahead of time I requested a quiet room, refrigerator and late check out. When we arrived, we were put on the top floor at the end of a VERY long corridor! I thought that it would definitely be quiet. However, when I got into the room I discovered that the room was facing a highway (could definitely hear traffic noise) and was directly across the hall from a service entrance. A refrigerator was not in the room. I called and they were very accommodating by bringing a refrigerator. It took so long to get cool though, that I just used an ice bucket and ice. The room was clean (I'm obsessed with a fear of bed bugs) and that made me very happy. We had brunch at Seeds on Sunday and the portions were huge. I will make the reservation again next year but will be more specific about my quiet room requests.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one that doesn't face Route 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your past stay at the Hanover Marriott! It is important to us to exceed expectations and make each and every stay personalized. Your comments about the Seeds Breakfast having huge portions and the positive comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms will be shared with the team. I look forward to having you back for next years competition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Woke up to snow and icy conditions - as I was walking to our rental car a friendly staff member greeted me and cleaned off my car before I could even get a scraper out. I've stayed over 900 nights at hotels and this service far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for kind words regarding your last stay here at the Hanover Marriott. It is a pleasure hearing how our staff members greeted you in the parking lot and assured that your car was cleared off prior to leaving! I will share your feedback with the team and look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been traveling to the Whippany/East Hanover area on business for over 15 years and I choose to stay at the Hanover Marriott every time. Several of the staff have been there as long as I can remember. They always recognize me and welcome me with a smile each time. It's super clean and the renovations that have been done over the past few years are fantastic. Whether it's room service, concierge, restaurant personnel, or the front desk, everyone seems to work very hard to make sure your stay is a good one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at the Hanover Marriott. It is great to hear that our staff recognized you, greeted you with a smile and made you feel welcomed in all areas of the hotel. It is service like this that makes you feel at home, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is Comfy!!!! Perfect hotel for a weekend stay!! We are house hunting from texas and this hotel works is right!! Service is super nice..Love the beds!!! They are very accommodating. They changed our rooms for a quiter spot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your past stay at the Hanover Marriott. It is a pleasure to hear the service was super and that you loved our beds! We look forward to having you as our neighbor in our local area and to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently completed my third event at the Hanover Marriott and hospitality abounds.!! A fourth event is scheduled this summer and I am looking forward to it BIG TIME..!. From the moment you call the front desk, there is a sincere eagerness to make your stay as amenable as possible. Once you arrive, the understated capacity to accommodate is in motion. This is a "detail oriented" resort where the big picture is the WHOLE picture. The rooms are gorgeous and perfectly suited for both the business traveler and personal events, with room electronics that surpass many other resorts.

Guests who do not experience the event facilities should consider this location for any event of merit, be it business or pleasure. From breakout rooms to the ballroom, there is capacity, kindness, and extreme cleanliness. Staff does not disappear, either. Managers are available and very, very polite. In all, an atmosphere where guest expectations are exceeded time again and again. Another helpful feature are the large video screens scattered around this facility. This technology is very helpful in getting the word out to the event attendees of what is happening when and where. Need a schedule changed and posted on the screens? No problem. Just ask the front desk and they make it happen. For an event of any size, this is a very helpful feature.

This is not a resort for any guest who insists on a cold, big box, mega-brand experience that may offer excessive bragging rights. The touch here is personal and service one-on-one. It's just the right size where a guest does not feel "swallowed up". Believe me, I look forward to the next event because with a staff of this professional finesse, there are no worries or surprises.

Front desk, engineering, housekeeping, banquet facilities manager, resort management, restaurant staff and bellmen are all consistently helpful and kind. If you stay here for any reason, poor service in any area will not distract you because it simply is not here.

I applaud the efforts of the following superstars and tip my top-hat gladly. Front desk maestros Courtney, Kristie, Ryszord, and David are the perfect right hands to Joe LoRusso, who is captain of this ship and a 1110% professional. In the banquet facilities,Chris Fierro knows and lives hospitality. Building Engineer Joe made certain that our booths looked sharp and inviting for the guests. Upon completion of the event, all material was returned damage-free and in good order.
As I expressed previously, events at this location allow the "table-people" such as myself to focus on our message, and not on any mess..! Easy-peasy..! Thanks for such great service..!

Room Tip: I stayed on the pool side, away from the parking lot. This may be a little noisy during warmer clime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Manager at Hanover Marriott, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks for your feedback regarding your past stay here at the Hanover Marriott! It is great to hear that all of our staff members exceeded expectations and made your event successful! I will share your feedback and the energy of your message with all of our staff members! I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanover Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Marriott

Address: 1401 Rt 10 E, Whippany, NJ 07981
Location: United States > New Jersey > Whippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Marriott 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hanover hotel in Whippany, New Jersey offering comfortable accommodations, wedding planning, meeting facilities, and vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Odigeo so you can book your Hanover Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Marriott Hotel Whippany
Marriott Hotel Hanover
Marriott Whippany
Whippany Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanover Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.