We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New Look In An Older Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hanover Whippany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Hanover Whippany to your Saves list
Courtyard Hanover Whippany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Route 10 East, Whippany, NJ 07981   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice New Look In An Older Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the lobby onward, a pleasant experience. I love the new Bistro dining room; enjoyed a great prepared breakfast from a very proficient member of staff. My room and surroundings were all perfect. Internet worked seamlessly, and had a decent speed. Reaching the hotel can involve some extra navigating if you are coming in from the wrong direction on a high speed divided state highway. Other than, that; nothing not to like.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
13
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I read some of the other reviews and at least the 2 stays where I was here were not that bad. The rooms were updated and clean. The lobby is pleasant. The service is mostly pleasant. I would have given them a better rating, but the actual execution is pretty weak. Booking instructions and preference instructions in Marriott profile are completely ignored for example. I left aan expensive article of clothing on a Friday. Instead of ending up in lost and foud such that I coule retreive, it disapeared. This happens occasionally, but the desk really did not seem to care. Other Hotels would have found our who was housekeeping on that room for that day and asked about it, started tracking missing items in case theft was the issue.

Room Tip: The Whippany Marriott has first class service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here after a wedding. The renovated rooms have a 70s look to them. We were upgraded to a larger room with a living room which we didn't use as we were only in the room for about 12 hours. Bathroom was fine, the beds were comfortable. The lobby was spacious and pretty cool looking. The food seemed overpriced. I think they would have offered a shuttle to and from the wedding but because it wasn't the hotel where the bride was at, it wasn't offered. Also, it is conveniently located but if you're not careful, you'll miss the driveway and have to do a U-Turn and shoot for it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent 4 nights....good stay, wrote a note to get extra coffee for the room and got it every morning. The bar/lobby area was excellent. Taylor and Ron served the area competently and efficiently. Pleasure to be there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The staff were very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help me find places to eat in the area and transit to and around NYC. My room was comfortable and quiet with a balcony overlooking the inside court yard. I wasn't bothered by airport traffic noise during my 6 night stay. I didn't experience the squeaky bed noise as another traveler commented but some of my colleagues did and I did get a note under my door stating that they were replacing the box springs in my room so it appears that they are working on that issue. The NJ "no left turn" rules did make it difficult to get in and out of the hotel but that is not the fault of the hotel. I did enjoy the bistro a few times and the food was good and fresh but a bit pricey. They sold Starbucks coffee but I enjoyed the free coffee they offered in the lobby even better. I didn't make use of the indoor pool, hot tub, or gym so I can't comment on those but they did look to be in good order. I plan to stay there again next week for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel several times during the month of Aug 2012. There are serious issues with how this hotel is run and maintained. First, there is a bug problem that needs to be addressed. I can overlook dead bugs on the carpet but not when I am attacked overnight and end up with a large welt. Second, the rooms are not clean, especially walls which have leftovers from rennovation work. Third, the beds are not comfortable and make noise everytime one makes a move. Fourth, the cafe is slow and overpriced for assembled versus freshly cooked food. Finally, the location is a challenge...not pedestrian friendly and difficult to navigate in a car due to the divided road. Plus, the hotel in on the approach to the Morristown airport so there is jet noise to deal with There are better options in the area which I will take advantage of in the future.

Room Tip: facing the left parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whippany hotels

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It's the Truth as You know it!!!!
Quick trip to Lancaster resulted in us staying in this Marriott hotel and delightful Whippany, now I am a fan of Marriott I have a rewards card etc.
Great room, fantastic lobby, but the hallways need updating, lick of paint wouldn't go a miss, Pool area sorry Marriott not the best or worse just average, a good scrub would sort it out.
The Truth is Yes I would stay here again, even if it was to say hello to some of the best staff I have ever met!
Can't go wrong with Marriott though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Hanover Whippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hanover Whippany

Address: 157 Route 10 East, Whippany, NJ 07981
Location: United States > New Jersey > Whippany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hanover Whippany 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Hanover Whippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hanover Whippany Hotel Whippany
Courtyard Hotel Hanover
Courtyard Whippany
Courtyard Hotel Whippany
Whippany Marriott
Whippany Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hanover Whippany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.