We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, better than good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Auld Shebeen Pub

The Auld Shebeen Pub
1401 Route 10 East, Hanover Marriott, Whippany, NJ 07981
973-538-8811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Whippany
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This authentic Irish pub in New Jersey is located inside Hanover Marriott. Traditional Irish cuisine is served at the Irish pub in Parsippany, NJ that was imported from Ireland and fashioned by artisans to give the pub a genuine feel.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, better than good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was an unexpected solace in a chain hotel. Loved the bone in sirloin and my son loved the pigs in a blanket. Unique, history filled interior. Great atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

In short, this is amazingly authentic for a pub that is in central NJ. The deor is kid of cool and feels like a real Irish pub (rumor has it that the furnishings and the bar are indeed from a pub in Ireland). Last, the barkeeeper-ess was outstanding and the free pretzel sticks were a nice touch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Hearty Snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just a simple steak burger and fries, but they were great. Good beer to wash it down with. Spot on. The pub has great olde authentic decor and is a real find in the foyer of a hotel, that from the outside looks like your standard Marriott.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“In need of management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Let's start with the good...the food was good-tasting and seemingly fresh. The menu choices seemed reasonable from a variety standpoint. Also, the interior design was quite nice. Lastly, once you finally got in and placed an order, the food arrived reasonably quickly. Now for the bad. First, the cost is quite high. If you are at the hotel for an event and have limited time between scheduled events, or are unfamiliar with the area, you have no choice but to eat here. The costs are family-prohibitive ($12 for a simple burger, for example). Secondly, it seems that there is often a line to get in. Those in line are told it will be some time before a table is ready. We had to eat here several times, and almost every time, we could plainly see empty tables that simply needed to be cleaned off. No one would do so, even though staff could be seen who were not busy (we had to conclude that they really considered bussing the tables beneath them). Once, when we finally were told a table was available, we walked past 7 empty tables to get to ours...another 5 were awaiting cleaning. With 12 empty tables, why were we, and others, waiting in line to get in? The wait staff served well, but someone, who appeared to be a manager, was also helping out, and seemed to have unnecessarily snide comments to patrons. Like I said, the food was good, but the experience is marred by the unnecessary waiting when you are on a schedule between events, and the high cost.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A gem of a find inside the Marriott!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We would have never known that there was an authentic Irish pub inside the Hanover Marriott had we not been staying in the hotel for an event. The food at the pub is Excellent. We highly recommend the unique and rich potato soup. Also highly, highly recommend the Turkey burger. My husband had a beef burger and was equally impressed. Our friend had the Fish and Chips. It was all delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Auld Shebeen Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Auld Shebeen Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auld Shebeen Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.