We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany to your Saves list
HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ridgedale Avenue North, Whippany, NJ 07981-1032 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Canada, Kentucky
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

For $71 a night on Hotwire, we were VERY satisfied with out two night stay. The suite was clean (not spotless, but clean), there was little noise (just a bit of walking around noise from the folks upstairs), and the breakfast was not bad - better than Residence Inn in the Marriott chain.

Staff was uniformly helpful.

I hope that we get lucky on future Hotwire bookings and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
41
22
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights in all in a one bedroom suite. Comfortably and reasonably roomy, it was all you need for a longish stay. Nicely equipped kitchen area good for the odd home cooked meal, comfortable couch in the living area, small but cosy bedroom, smallish but adequate bath. The complimentary hot breakfast was decent, certainly more than we expected and better than many similar hotels. They have a small mini mart in the lobby which stocks essentials.

Service was good and friendly, the location was close to the highway, but our room had absolutely no noise from the traffic. We did not use it, but they do have complimentary shuttle service to the nearby office district. The only minor grouse we had was with the limited number of channels on TV (no Showtime, ESPN2), which may not be good if you plan to stay for more than a couple of weeks.

Overall, just right for the price if you want to be staying long or longish.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the right (as you walk in) of the lobby are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is located in close to some headquarter offices tha is perfect for those companies business but it is also the perfect for one night out of the city routine. Love the suites, and reccommend Hyatt House they are very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Recently stayed at this property, the staff is amazing!! Candy, Eric, Chelsea, Andrew and Chip made this an enjoyable visit. Very clean spacious rooms, full amenities for a long term stay. Breakfast and a light dinner included daily, Chelsea makes a mean omlette!! we have stayed at this property many times and the service has always been top notch. So much so that it's the same staff for the last 5 years that I have been a guest! Unheard of in the hotel business. The staff remembers me by name and and my favorite foods!! Awesome Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Andrew when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Big plus: The accommodations were very nice.

Plus: The free breakfast buffet was awesome!

Neutral: Pool closed till Labor Day!? Yes, it's New Jersey... but since a pool is advertised, you'd expect it to be useable... like the INDOOR pools at two competitors down the street!

Minus: When we first arrived, the room smelled of deodorizer. (Good — someone's doing the job!) But by the time we left (2 night stay), the room smelled badly — like old beef and onions.

Big minus: The hotel has no control over this, but vehicular access from the highway is inconvenient and dangerous due to horrifically designed road networks and interchanges.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid rooms along the back of the hotel. Traffic noise on 287 was NOT a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We expected more from a Hyatt. The property itself is nice, but it has not been well-maintained, and there were some general housekeeping issues.

Staff at the front desk was very pleasant. Checking in was a quick and easy experience. We also appreciated the 24/7 store for essentials, including wine. This was a great idea. The lobby looked a bit worn, however, and the elevator was quite dirty. This is not a good way to greet guests.

The hallways looked ok, but the rugs were stained in areas. The hallways did not smell fresh, like they should in a new-ish hotel.

In the room itself, the living room area was quite large, and the kitchen was very nice to have. The appliances were stainless steel, and the furnishings were nice. But the refrigerator was a bit beaten up. The room didn't smell fresh either. We thought there may have been an issue with the A/C units blowing out stale and/or musty air. There was a very peculiar smell in the room. The bedroom was also large, but the bed dipped down in places and was not very comfortable. The bathroom didn't seem to be very clean. The shower was moldy, and there were some stains in the toilet. The hot-cold sign on the shower had either worn off or was removed.

The breakfast did not meet our expectations. There were always people waiting for eggs/bacon/etc. to come out, and there was never enough food. The fruit was not fresh. By 9:30, there seemed only to be leftovers. We'd recommend the hotel not focus on breakfast and fix the other issues we noticed.

With more attention to details/maintenance/cleanliness, the hotel could achieve a good rating. But as is, we probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A website error at booking caused us to order 2 rooms. We saw the error the following day, called the hotel and corrected. Upon check-in all was fine and final bill under the door was accurate.

We received out credit card statement and were not only charge for the intial two rooms but an additional two rooms.

I called the hotel and expained all in detail to someone fro Accounting. transactions, dates and I believe he saw the problem. He led me to believe that the problem was solved. He said the hotel Manager would call me. I assumed to apologize for the error.

Late in the afternoon I received a voicemail from the manager stating "I was sent an email say you had a problem with your reservation".

I called back and she was unavailable so I left a message

After an hour I called back again, she was still unavailable so I explained the whole problem again.
The person on the other end said I was reading the credit card statement incorrectly and these were pending charges. After he leaving the phone she finally agreed that I was charged 4 times for one room and one night. No apology and no acknowledgement of all the time I had spent on this issues.

The manager called me back later and said she was busy in the rooms. I was told that I didn't understand their system...what?

We have stayed at this Hotel several time to visit family because the allow small dogs (they charge $75 additional even though we were there for one night).

We will never again stay at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany

Address: 1 Ridgedale Avenue North, Whippany, NJ 07981-1032 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Whippany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Whippany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Parsippany/Whippany Hotel Whippany
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Whippany
Summerfield Suites Whippany
Hyatt Whippany
Whippany Summerfield Suites
Whippany Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Parsippany/Whippany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.