We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Diner & Restaurant

Brookside Diner & Restaurant
699 State Route 10, Whippany, NJ 07981
973 515-4433
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 restaurants in Whippany
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Madison, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This diner is one of our favorite places meet friends for a Sunday brunch. There are a wide selection of menu items and the food is always fresh. Great friendly staff too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    13
    12
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,145 reviews 1,145 reviews
761 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast food, nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped by the Brookside for breakfast on Saturday morning, preferring that to the buffet at our hotel. This is a standard diner with a loyal following of local senior citizens and "townies." We ordered a simple array of pancakes and omelets, nothing fancy, and what we got was, well...the same. The wait was a little long, but the food was decent, not much more than that. I had to ask for the ham (none on the table), and then they brought out just a couple instead of the holder that holds each of the varieties. They weren't around to offer re-loads on coffee, but the service wasn't bad, either. I would come back, but I'd probably try other places first.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good traditional values”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the pleasures of visiting New Jersey is the variety of good old fashioned diners which are still around. Alas, in the last five years many of the original waitresses in socks and sneakers have earned their retirements, but the same style lives on in the Brookside Diner. Great value for money and super efficient service - why eat in a hotel when you can have a great breakfast on your way to work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Murray, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The people are nice, the food took forever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family visited this diner today. We have eaten there before and liked it.

We were greeted very warmly by the owner/manager, and he sat us pretty quickly.

Then things ground to a halt.

It took 15 minutes to get our coffee, another 15 to place our order, and at least 1/2 hour to get our food (simple breakfast and lunch food). Our coffee refill came 20 minutes after that.

The food was good, but the time it took to get it to the table was disappointing.

I'd say go to this place, but don't go if you're in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good eats, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and always get a warm greeting and prompt service. I usually come for a late lunch. When the diner is crowded, service does seem to suffer.
Other than that, high fives all around!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookside Diner & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookside Diner & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Diner & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.