We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a great sushi spot in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akai Japanese Sushi Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akai Japanese Sushi Lounge
102 East Broad Street, Westfield, NJ 07090
908.264.8660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Westfield
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Finally a great sushi spot in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ate here on July 4th weekend, the food was amazing! Only tried the special rolls, which were very creative (many had chilean sea bass which I have never seen), they can also do the rolls in brown rice which is a PLUS! The decor is nice, (minus the flat screen TV) and the server was excellent! So glad to finally have a great sushi place in the neighborhood, will definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb sushi in central Joisey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Happened upon this spot on a recent work trip, and very glad I did. I seek out sushi spots when traveling because the food is light and healthy. This is among the very best sushi/sashimi/rolls I have had. Terrific, friendly service and an owner and chefs who really seem to care very much about the quality of what they're serving. Wide range of choices at very reasonable prices, and very dish used very fresh ingredients and was prepared with precision and care. The owner was kind enough to give me a test sample of an upcoming menu selection - a piece of seared salmon that wrapped around a core of roe and soft rice, with a slightly spicy sauce. One of the more beautifully presented items I have ever seen in a restaurant, and a taste to match. Overall a wonderful experience. I will be back every time I'm in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“We hope it gets better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We welcome new restaurants to downtown Westfield. However, they will only survive if they have food and service commensurate with their prices.

Akai was at best ok, with somewhat high prices. We ordered dinner food from the menu and did not order sushi. Perhaps they do not know how to deal with regular food yet. Both the service and cooking were not good.

The salad and soup came out after we waited 20 minutes and then the main dishes were ready at the same time. So, the staff held the main dishes back and when they came, the meals were overcooked. The shrimp dish was fine, even though it comes with rice and also comes with rice - yes, two rice's. The meat was incredibly tough - do not order beef at this place until the chef figures out how to cook it.

All in all, I am rating Akai three stars, because I want it to improve. The service was terrible and the food was ordinary at best. I hope the restaurant owner reads this and improves the place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclarkebu
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I are so excited that so many great restaurants are opening in downtown Westfield. Akai is no exception. The sushi and service were all top notch and the owner, James, could not have been friendlier. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was satisfied.

There are so many rolls to choose from - it can feel a bit overwhelming, but don't be deterred. Read, read, read - and you'll find some pretty amazing combinations. I highly recommend the Bast***d Roll. Spicy tuna, sea bass, eel sauce, yum. The rock shrimp tempura and lobster pizza were also delicious.

We'll definitely be returning and hope that Westfield takes to Akai.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akai Japanese Sushi Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Akai Japanese Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akai Japanese Sushi Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.