We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwest in Westfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Grill

Mojave Grill
35 Elm St., Westfield, NJ 07090
908-233-7772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Westfield
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Southwest in Westfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This delightful open-to-the- square Southwest style restaurant serves incredibly fresh and tasty dishes from Skirt Steak with Shoestring Potatoes to daily specials of fish, poultry and wonderful vegetables-all with a Southwestern inspiration. The Pecan and Five Spice Encrusted Salmon was awe inspiring; Don't miss the Black Bean Soup or the Braised Short Ribs. The service is prompt and friendly in this colorfully decorated venue and it is like eating in a hand painted Mexican pottery bowl. There are limited non-alcohol beverages available so bring your own wine or beer to complete a delightful evening.
Parking in the Town Center of Westfield is sometimes limited but a Municipal lot is available within several blocks walking distance unless you are fortunate enough to grab a metered street spot!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in the Jersey Suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Wanted to share that I was taken to this really delicious spot in downtown Westfield NJ and I highly recommend it. The meal was classic Mexican with a southwestern flair. I had their corn chowder soup which was excellent and the chicken quesadilla was tasty and well worth the visit. Service was great and this was a nice surprise spot for me. Do give it a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Westfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Mojave Grill is a very good Southwestern/Mexican restaurant – my wife and I have never been disappointed there. The food is fresh and creative, and they are constantly offering new specials. Also, the service has consistently been excellent. On our last visit, we asked for hot sauce, and our server was kind enough to bring a selection that went far beyond the typical Tabasco and Cholula. Definitely worth your business.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Southwestern Food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

It was my first time there and I was impressed with the quality,quantity, and price. Everything we ordered, came out fresh and the right temperature. Our waiter wasn't the greatest but we did not allow that to ruin our time. All of the food was outstanding from the garlic shrimp, calamari, nachos, salsa, hanger steaks, chimichangas to the salads. Would definitely recommend and go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Been to Mohave Grill at least 10 times-always delicious with great service and different specials each time

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojave Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mojave Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojave Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.