We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential Breakfast Place in Westfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vicki's Diner

Vicki's Diner
110 East Broad St., Westfield, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Westfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Essential Breakfast Place in Westfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is the mainstay for breakfast in Westfield, it has been run by the same family for many years and they are steady and dependable. The menu has plenty of choice so no matter for breakfast, lunch or dinner your entire party should be covered. The atmosphere is retro 50's - 60's but the service is more friendly then most diners. Enjoy it for what it is.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better breakfasts than the Turning Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sunday we were told we had a 45 minute wait for a table at the Turning Point.After waiting for 1/2 an hour beyond that with 3 groups still ahead of us we walked up the street to Vicki's diner. There was no wait. We were seated, treated royally by the wait staff and management, and then promptly enjoyed a great breakfast. The omelet was excellent. My husband said his pancakes were good, too. Next time we go to Westfield we will skip the Turning Point and head to Vicki's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home town diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is the perfect diner experience. It is very clean. Very busy weekend mornings so best bet is to go early. My daughter loves their pancakes. Great breakfast lunch or dinner place!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Diner Food with a Retro Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Vicki's is in a lovely downtown area and located near a number of restaurants, but it is the only "diner" for several blocks. I went with hubby to have breakfast with a friend. Her Belgian waffles tasted "flat," but she doctored them up with syrup, strawberries and ice cream. My scrambled eggs were good, and I did appreciate the Land O'Lakes butter on my toast. (Some diners skimp and use margarine.) The home fries were mushy. Hubby's breakfast was, as he put it, "OK but nothing to write home about." The coffee was average. I loved the retro look. And I could visit there again. It was not the best diner in NJ, but it was certainly not the worst.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good traditional NJ diner food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are looking for a traditional NJ Greek run diner, then this is the place. Pete and Helen the owners make you feel right at home as if you have been friends for years. This combined with some great home cooking makes this a must to visit
Surprisingly my wife said their Salmon Dijon was one of the best she ever had. My burger ranked right up with any other burger I ever had. Topped with Taylor Ham and cheese hit the spot

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicki's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Vicki's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicki's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.