We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood and Mediterranean Flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limani Seafood Grill

Limani Seafood Grill
235 North Avenue West, Westfield, NJ 07090
9082330052
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Limani Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 71 restaurants in Westfield
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Central Avenue & Elm Street
Transit: Westfield Train Station
Description: Limani is a leading Seafood and Greek restaurant in Westfield, NJ. Our chefs expertise is evident in preparing our delicious dishes. We specialize in delicious seafood and Greek inspired dishes. Limani has a wide range of options, from steaks to pasta and salads and more.
Westfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Mediterranean Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely menu, great service -- we've been there twice, and the seafood is excellent. They know how to do it right -- not over cooked, and a very good variety including half a dozen nightly specials. It's a bring-your-own, so that helps defray the expense -- the menu is not inexpensive, but it is not overpriced for the food quality. Lots of interesting items to select -- with a definite Greek / Mediterranean flavor. The atmosphere is a little too loud, as there is a vaulted ceiling, and everything sort of melds ... but you get the feeling of "lively" and "vibrant" -- not intimacy ... We will definitely go again -- and would recommend to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    37
    24
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fanwood, nj
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our first time here after hearing so many reviews. We sat outside, but the inside looked cute and cozy. Smelled very fishy in there. Service was very good and very attentive. We had the Thalazomezes for the appetizer and it was delicious! The char grilled octopus in it was amazing. The raw oysters were fresh, even for a Sunday, served with freshly grated horseradish. Had a middle eastern app as well, which was okay. Very pricy though, not sure we'd come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I visited the restaurant with my wife because of the strong reviews and we both like Greek and Mediterranean cuisine. We were disappointed. The place itself could use some new renovations to bring it up to date and the food was just average. The service also was average. The menu itself is big with a lot of choices, so we found ourselves sampling a few items. The fresh fish was decent and the fresh clams were -- well - fresh. But we were thinking that the chef would be preparing some real authentic food with creative cuisine, and that just was not the case. The fish tacos were bland. Perhaps our expectations were too high. There are certainly much better Greek restaurants in NYC and NJ that beat this hands down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent seafood, variety of options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of the BEST seafood places around. To start, I love the fact that it is not a chain who is serving sub-par seafood. When you walk into the restaurant you are greeted by a huge display of fish and shellfish (probably to later be on your plate). The restaurant is a bit tiny and can get loud, however, you do not even notice when having your delicious meal. Did I mention it was a BYO as well??

The menu is EXTENSIVE. I have never seen a menu with so many seafood options which can be cooked in such a variety of ways. Besides the regular menu they also have specials which include at least 10 other dishes. Our meals are always delicious! HUGEE portions for a very affordable price! We never feel rushed. Also, they have the gift certificates online so you get $25 worth of food for only $3! Definitely a place to visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What took us so long to come here?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch there last week, after saying for months, "We should go there". It was great. The calamari was lightly battered and very fresh. The horseradish crusted salmon was cooked perfectly. The service was very good. Everything was fresh and delicious. We left saying, "What took us so long to come here?" We'll be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limani Seafood Grill also viewed

 
Westfield, NJ
 

Been to Limani Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limani Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.