We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Western Drive, Westampton, NJ 08060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Westampton
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Be Warned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most of us have certain expectations of hotel chains we frequent. This Holiday Inn Express appears to be an older (poorly) renovated hotel. The old style Heat/AC unit was obtrusively noisy. Likewise the vent fan in the bathroom. The rug was dingy and did not look to be overly clean. The free wireless internet did not work for the first two nights for all practical purposes. The desk directed me to an 800 number that only took voicemail and never returned my calls. They ran out of caffeinated in room coffee one day. There was a bucket outside my door collecting drips from the sprinkler system. There were mold spots on the bathtub caulk. There are better choices than this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered while staying with us. The details you provided will be shared with our General Manager and team managers to ensure that these areas are addressed. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to earn all 5 bubbles. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on the last night of our 28 day trip to Florida and back to CT. I didn't want to drive thru NYC during rush hour so we stopped here out of convenience for location. We should have kept going! We have had excellent experience with Holiday Inn Express during trips such as this but this hotel was a disaster. The desk clerk on check in was rude and quoted us the wrong rate which needed to corrected the next morning. The room wasn't clean as evidenced by a call from the hotel wondering whether we had left a ring by mistake. Not ours- wonder how far back the ring was left. Breakfast was iffy and the fire alarm at 11PM caused by excess humidity in the pool room didn't help.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are so sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. Our General Manager will be addressing them during our next staff meeting. We hope you will give us another opportunity to earn all 5 bubbles on your next trip through Mt. Holly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westampton hotels

Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We are platinum priority club members and we stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels all the time. This was one of those flukey Holiday Inn Express hotels that you should avoid at all costs.

First of all, the grounds to the hotel were filthy. Literally, garbage all over the place. It actually looked like a dumpster fell over and the wind blew it all over the grounds of the hotel (to include the entrance area). The garbage was overflowing onto the sidewalk. NOT exactly a great first impression. No wonder the parking lot only had a handful of cars in it on a Friday night.

The lobby area seemed okay on first glance (more on second glance later). The elevator, on the other hand, was dirty, run down, and smelled bed.

The room, much like the lobby, seemed nice on first glance. That's where it ended. The heat/air conditioner was one of those big wall units that rambled and buzzed all night long, old school style. No thermostat, just a 1980's-type dial. Room had new-ish furnishings but just seemed dingy and dirty. The "kitchenette" was no such thing. Although it had the cut-out for a larger min-fridge, they had a dorm-size mini-fridge, one of those little squares, that fit nothing and didn't even stay cool. The bathroom had loose tiles all over the floor, and the bathtub was so stained and grungy that I didn't want my kids using it. The grout was stained black (apparently they haven't heard that a spray bottle of bleach goes a LONG way). Our bed was comfortable. That was a pleasant surprise.

We could never get the WiFi to work.

Oh, and the people in the hotel....WOW. Seems like a local hang out. My kids had the distinct benefit of seeing a pile of teenagers, loaded down with beer and other assorted alcohol, in the elevator on the way up. Apparently, it was PARTY time! The kids in rooms near us ran and screamed up and down the hall all morning, much to their parents delight, and much to our distress.

Now, on to the second impression of the lobby area. First of all, there was a pail on one of the tables that seemed to be catching a leak of some sort from the ceiling. Lovely. The shame of this is that the leak was above one of only two four-seater tables. No worries though....since the t.v. in the breakfast area was blaring a local news station at top volume, and I didn't think it was appropriate for my children to listen to news about murders are naked people (literally), coupled with the fact that several small children (under 8) were yelling and screaming, and unsupervised in the breakfast area, we opted to sit on the couch across the lobby, instead.

Needless to say...we simply could NOT get out of this hotel fast enough. Bad news, all around. NOT at all a Holiday Inn Express experience.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
We appreciate you taking the time to share such a detailed review of your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered. We hope that you shared them with our management team while you were still on site so that they could be immediately addressed. Your input will be shared with our on property management team and our corporate office. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

These people know how to look after others. I stayed here for a few days in January. I was in the lobby for one of their celebrations when a person came in from outside--a woman. She was a bit disheveled, hair streaming in every direction save organization. The host at the desk asked if there was some way she could help her and the unkempt-appearing woman said that she had run out of gas on the road just next to the entrance to the hotel, and had absolutely no money whatsoever with her in order to get more. The hotel desk clerk said, "Of course." and "Have a seat here in the lobby." The hostess then said to one of the valet crew that he should go and get her purse out of the office, and something for the woman to drink. The purse arrived. The beverage arrived and the stranger quickly drank all of it. The hostess brought a $5.00 bill to her and asked if she thought $5.00 would cover her needs. The hostess asked if the coffee she had chosen from the tray that was proffered was sufficient or if she wanted another drink. The stranded motorist said, "No, thank you. Thanks for the $5.00. I will pay you back soon." The hostess said that the money was a gift-not a loan."

If the people that work at this hotel treat non-customer strangers this well, jut imagine how nicely they treat their customers. This is a great place to stay. There are two really good restaurants just across the street: Cracker Barrel, and TGIF.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing this story with us. Being the person they are, our staff member didn't share this story with us. We're glad to hear it from you. It warms our heart as well to hear about it. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

This hotel is located just before Exit 5. There are many shops and restaurants around. The checkin was easy, although the person on duty appeared annoyed that she was being bothered the day after CHRISTmas!
The double room appeared nice, the beds were nicely made, the room was warm and comfortable. The carpet was very dirty and stained. The bathroom was large, but not as clean as it could be.
The room was noisy only because of hallway noise, the outside street noise was not a factor.
I would only recommend this hotel if you are in a bind and no other hotel is available.
God bless you!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that the carpet and bathroom needed attention. We hope that you mentioned this to our management team before you departed. We would love another opportunity to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

this hotel has great upgrades. The king suite room is perfect. Basic rooms do not have a fridge or mic, so ask for a suite if you need that. Other wise the hotel is great, quiet, you can wash laundry if needed. I have stayed here 3 times since June 2014. My only time upset was when a smoke alarm work up the entire hotel at 8 am on a Sunday morning, I wanted to be credited for some thing but they did not call me back. I still book here when I stay in this area, you know your getting a good room for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationships, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are always pleased to hear from our returning guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our apologies regarding the smoke alarm. It can be very disturbing. We're happy to hear that you will be back again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The little things add up:
- shower drain plug broken; could not take a bath
- very low water pressure in shower
- no line up card to find TV stations
- dirty shower curtain

Breakfast was good (typical HIE breakfast)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear Peter T,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay particularly with the shower. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk

Address: 18 Western Drive, Westampton, NJ 08060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Westampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Westampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt. Holly has 3 floors, an indoor pool and a fitness room. Enjoy complimentary WiFi internet as you relax watching over 100 HD channels on your brand new flat screen TV! Meeting space is available for up to 50 people and a beautiful breakfast bar is served daily from 6:30-9:30am. All rooms have fridge, microwave, coffee makers, in-room safe, iron, ironing board, alarm clock, blow dryer and desk with data port. Junior suites offer a king size bed with a sofa. Also, one suite is an extra large family suite sleeping 6, with a kitchen area and two TVs as well as a full Jacuzzi in the bathroom. A valid credit card is required to rent a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 Nj Tnpk Hotel Westampton
Holiday Inn Westampton
Westampton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Westampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mt. Holly-Exit 5 NJ Tnpk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.