We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable Establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Octopus's Garden

Octopus's Garden
771 S Main St, West Creek, NJ 08092
(609) 597-8828
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Octopus's Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in West Creek
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mayetta Landing Road
Transit: NJ Transit on Rt 9 stops in front of restaurant
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Remarkable Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having never been here before but having heard about the restaurant we took the ride and well it was worth it. The location is easy to find and the building magnificent. We were promptly seated by a very friendly wait staff. The menus were filled with many mouth watering choices. I selected a tuna sushi in a terrikayi sauce served in a martini glass. The tuna was fresh infused with the terrikayi was marvelous. Salad is included with your entree and I choice a caesar salad and it was crisp and very fresh. The entree selections are diverse with many seafood selections. The fish selection is from all over the world and it is very difficult to choose which one you want so we decided we would be back because the selection is such that you realize you want to try more than one entree. The Artic Char was seasoned expertly and served. We also selected the Florida Wahoo which was prepared fabulously but a great complement to the chef for the wasabi mashed outstanding. Finishing with coffee which was freshly brewed and great homemade desserts made this evening one to remember. We agreed that we would come back and try everything else on the menu we had no selected because it is that type of restaurant. Each menu item sounded better than the next so we want the experience. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant is relatively new with very nice contemporary, traditional decor. Majority of the guests were bringing their own alcohol, but if you forget to bring wine, they do serve wine from a local vineyard. The menu was primarily seafood, so if you're not a seafood lover you should dine elsewhere. Our appetizer was ahi tuna, which had a delightful sesame crust and soy sauce that wasn't too salty. We both enjoyed New England clam chowder that was very tasty. I ordered the Wahoo fish special with risotto pasta. It was light but not very flavorful. I rarely add salt and pepper to my meal but felt this dish needed a lot of it. My husband had linguini with shrimp and clams, and that meal was far superior to mine. It was a sizable portion but not extremely huge. It was light but had lots of flavor. Next time I go, I'll get that dish. For dessert we had the apple lasagna served with ice cream. The pastry was a bit on the dryer side and I wish they had drizzled some caramel or rum sauce to up the sweetness factor. All in all, we're pleased with the location and it's very easy to get to if you don't want to drive onto LBI. It's a bit off the beaten path, but the dining room was pretty full considering it was a Monday when we went. It seems like a restaurant frequented by locals. They also offer early bird specials and the prices are pretty good. This is also a restaurant I'd recommend for smaller events like bridal showers, birthday parties, etc. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The atmosphere was so pretty, and the service was wonderful. The food was very, very fresh. Really a nice place.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A seafood lovers restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Which I am, and living at the shore with so little to choose from in that area, this is by far the best seafood restaurant at the shore. A little off the beaten path, which is better for us locals, but as the season comes to a close I guess we can let everyone know how great it is. Fresh seafood cooked and served perfectly. That's all u need to know, and BYOB.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but a delight worth seeking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Seafood prepared and served with the care and skill it deserves. The owners are present in all aspects of this and it shows from the reservations to the service to food that has us always coming back for more. The is New Jersey shore dining as it should be! A little crowded from time to time, but it's worth waiting for. Thursday and Friday nights feature lobster done perfectly! Some sound deadening would make table conversations easier to hear.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus's Garden also viewed

 

Been to Octopus's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octopus's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.