We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to get in and out of Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NY Waterway Ferry

NY Waterway Ferry
Port Imperial Ferry Terminal, Weehawken, NJ
800-533-3779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Weehawken
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Tours, Other
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best way to get in and out of Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The ferry is with out a doubt the best way to get in and out of Manhattan without the stress of getting stuck in traffic. Stay in NJ at the Sheraton Lincoln Harbor and take the ferry back and forth. Save money by staying on the NJ side plus you'll get a better room for your money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    59
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I live in Edgewater, NJ @ my bus stop there is a New York Waterway advertisment "Unlimited June Trial" trying to gain customers from the bus to take the ferry. Thru June if you show your monthly pass for the following bus routes 156R, 158 and 159 you can take the ferry home for free from 4PM to 8PM. There are two ferry terminals Weehawken and Edgewater, being that I live in Edgewater this would make the most sense and would not require getting on a bus or taking a taxi home. On Monday, June 8th I tried to do this and was told this offer only applys to Weehawken but of course the only restrictions listed in the advertisment were you had to hold one of these monthly passes and could only ride back to NJ from 4PM - 8PM nothing about location restrictions. This is just more of NY Waterways incompetence. I have to say they never fail to disappoint

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just like a power nap - a 15 minute chance to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The pier in Weehawken was right next to our hotel. The ferry runs frequently and provides a 15-20 minute trip across the Hudson with cooling breezes and great views.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great for seeing Statue of Liberty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excelent service and commentary. Handy for downtown area...Wall Street, 9/11 Memorial etc. We used it as transport for the walking tour from middle Manhattan ferry dock

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little pricey for everyday commuting?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

But great if you're spending a few days at the Sheraton Lincoln Harbor or in Hoboken. Buy tickets in NYC if you can; they're cheaper and more available. The free buses in NYC take you to various key destinations, and everyone seems eager to help with information. Neither of the two ferries I was on recently had access to an open upper deck, so although the view is great, the slightly smeared windows do not offer great sight-seeing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NY Waterway Ferry also viewed

 

Been to NY Waterway Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NY Waterway Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.