We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine place to sleep, just dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Somerset Hills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Liberty Corner Road, Warren, NJ 07059   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
bay area, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fine place to sleep, just dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

i moved here one night from the courtyard marriott across the street bc the latter was more expensive on a monday night. the room was fine, just older, with a small bathroom. there was an okay free breakfast buffet included. front desk was courteous. didn't avail myself to any amenities really. the setting is nice but i like my rooms/bed/bathrooms modern.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    23
    28
    45
See reviews for
43
29
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

As a meeting planner, I recently booked a team buidling event for my business colleagues. The hotel representative was creative in all apsects of the planning.. From detailing our meetings to our themed dinners! The hotel ugraded all our of VIPS to suites with wine and cheese. I received several emails from ny colleagues complimenting the staff and the food. We all agree that the hotel needs a little lift with the rooms but still enjoyed our stay and the entertainment in the lounge during the middle of the week. I would definitely book another corporate event with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel because of a friend's wedding nearby. I was hesitant at first with some of the reviews, but we had a great time! The rooms are definitely a little outdated, but super roomy and comfortable. And the restaurant and lounge were great!! My husband and i had breakfast, lunch AND dinner in there. There was a band playing Saturday night when we got back from the reception and they were so good! I just wished we lived a little closer, it seems like such a great spot to hang out at. Anyway, we had such a wonderful time at the wedding and i'm happy my stay was just as great. Great service, great staff, great food!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We attended a New Year's Eve wedding at the Somerset Hills and booked overnight accommodations. When we arrived, the king room we reserved had been given away. We were assigned to a room with two double beds instead. With a could-care-less attitude, the check-in agent said king rooms are not guaranteed. "Then what is the point of reserving a king room?" I pleaded, to no avail.

Our stay here was a major diappointment, considering the joyous occasion and holiday we were celebrating. There was no customer service to make amends for the inconvenience of the reservation mixup. Moreover, this place seems to cut a lot of corners and skip on routine maintenance. The towels were rough and hard like sandpaper. The bathtub backed up with a puddle of water when we showered. There were no plastic cups in the bathroom. We found an empty potato chip bag behind the nightstand. THERE WAS A STINK BUG IN OUR BED! The ice machine on our floor was broken. At the wedding, they served steak that either was rancid or cooked frozen.

We both work in the service industry, and we know what good customer is and how a business like this is supposed to respond to concerns like ours. This hotel gets an "F" in our book.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warren hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The Somerset Hills Hotel came to our rescue during the blizzard. We pulled off the highway to find it open and very accommodating to all the drivers doing the same: hoping to find a place to stay during the storm without being gouged. They couldn't have been nicer and the price was less than most of the chains. The lobby might lead you to believe it's a higher end place, but the rooms are simply business-trip quality, so don't expect too much. It was clean enough for us, though I can see why people might be disappointed with the bed linens and the slightly aged fixtures. The heater was pretty awful: a loud, beneath-the-window blower unit, but whatever—it was warm. I think the bugs an earlier reviewer mentioned to were probably the stink bugs that afflict the entire region. They're tough to keep out of even high-end rooms—but they're harmless.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this establishment overnight for a wedding that was at a near by venue. We had booked the hotel for two nights,and it was not worth the money we paid at all. Me and my significant other are in a long distance relationship and stay in hotels frequently and this was by far the worst one ever have come across. The first room we were put inn had a variety of problems: 1. the heater was broken ( in the middle of December this is a huge problem) 2. The room was infested with bugs, the bugs seemed to be coming from the windows as we found them all over the windowsill and curtains. 3. the shade on the windows don't block the sunlight so if your planning on sleeping past 8 am forget about it. 4. The comforters were filthy and outdated. 5. The mattresses were overused and had a huge slant in the middle. Basically the first night we didnt get any sleep. We decided for the next night to change rooms in hopes to a more comfortable and clean room. We were most defiantly mistaken. We had the same problems as the previous room, except in the newer room there were even more BUGS. My boyfriend killed 8-10 of them and we still found more the next morning. This is outrageous and unacceptable. To the manger of the hotel take some advise and get an exterminator please. People looking into staying here, there's a Marriott down the street, you will probably have better luck there than at this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

It saddens me to write this less-than-stellar review for a property that has so much potential! It is quite a shame, as the New England-esqe regal building appears a lot nicer than it actually is.

The first room I was checked into reeked of smoke, the floral bedspread was extremely outdated and worn, and smiliarly smelled of cigarette smoke. Upon peeling off the bed spread, I was welcomed with a few stray hairs that were not my own as well as small black stains. Maybe someone else wouldn't have noticed this, but I always inspect my bed before I get into it.
The bathroom had dirty foot prints in it, cracked tiles and the tub had signs of mildew.
I called down to the front desk to see if I could switch rooms. The very polite and acoommodating dront desk agent kindly let me move to another room across the hallway on the same floor. Upon entering, I felt like I was in a competely different hotel! Clean modern, solid gold bedspread, marble counter tops, smoke-free, updated room! Seeing as how this was the same price and my 1st room, I was glad I switched. The inconsistency was disappointing.

The event I attended in the ballroom could have been a comfortably arranged banquet, but alas they (not sure if it was the host or event manager) squeezed about 170 guests in a space that should not hold more than 130. Servers and guests awkwardly moved about the room, squeezing inbetween tables that were much too close together. If considering an event here, I would secure a tasting ASAP and pop into an event so you can see that it meets your needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hills Hotel

Address: 200 Liberty Corner Road, Warren, NJ 07059
Location: United States > New Jersey > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset Hills Hotel, Central New Jersey's hidden gem offers boutique style accommodations and full service features including 111 spacious guest rooms, The Tap Room bar & Lounge, Full service restaurant with in-room dining, outdoor pool, fitness room and over 5,000 square feet of function space. Centrally positioned between NYC and Easton PA in the hills of Warren, NJ. Come experience the new style of the Somerset Hills Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hills Warren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.