We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   398 Smith Street, Vineland, NJ 08360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
NY
1 review
“worst hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

I stayed there off and on for two years and they are the worst hotel ever. What people dont know is that the hotel is very nasty bed bugs in most room. 5 of my stays i had to move because of bed bugs. Front desk staff was very rude. General manager was not dressed approprite. Some of the walls on the first floor are very milded and wall paper falling down.
this is not a safe hotel it looks nice on the outside but on the insideit is bad. also the pool they do not clean it. someone went to the bathroom in the pool and they still let people stay swimming in there and said it was nothing.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    43
    5
    12
    3
See reviews for
56
28
11
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

I am originally from Vineland & was here for 2 nights to visit family for the holidays. We requested a nonsmoking suite. The room was not a true suite, just one big room with a king bed and a queen sleeper sofa, one television with the channels improperly identified. Tiny dorm size fridge, microwave with a dial & no keypad. Plastic cups & plates. We were very close to the smoking half of the floor, and dense smoke filtered into our room during the night, filling the bathroom, enough to be a concern to anyone with respiratory issues. The next day we requested and received a new room on the 3rd floor, which is a nonsmoking floor. Same room type, but the fan wasn't working properly.
Overall, staff very accomodating, rooms clean enough. I have a hard time believing the building is new; it looks at least 10 years old and in need of a makeover. Carpet often has wrinkles, wallpapaer is peeling, linens clean but cheap.
The big hit for the kids was the indoor pool and hot tub. The water & grounds were again very clean, but the pool looked old, peeling paint.
The breakfast is your standard cereals, coffee, and a "hot entree." The first day it wasn't bad, bacon & scrambled eggs. Plates & utensils are all plastic or styrofoam. The second day breakfast was awful, greasy sausage patties & "omelets" that were filled with cheese whiz. Cream cheese, jelly, equal sweeteners not refilled on the breakfast bar.
The Vineland area has very few good hotel choices, so if you have to stay in the area, there are worse choices. Location is practically on top of the Cumberland Mall, with no traffic light to help with access to Delsea Drive (Rt 47), so it's a tricky entrance.
It is clean enough & has nice staff. I was expecting more. Next time we will stay closer to Deptford/Philly in a Marriott or Hilton property.

  • Liked — indoor pool & hot tub, older but very clean
  • Disliked — smoking - try the third floor- smoke free
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I am working on a long-term project in the Vineland area, and have tried several hotels in the vicinity. The Holiday Inn Express is the best around - reasonable rates, comfortable beds, wireless internet connection, friendly staff. They are also within walking distance of the Cumberland Mall, which has restaurants like Red Lobster and Applebee's, a Regal movie theater and a Starbucks. Other stores and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

I have stayed here three times on business, I have tried other inns/hotels in the area but for just pennies more this hotel is well worth it. Lobby is nice and clean up to date, well furnished, rooms are well kept, lounge area has a plasma TV, fire place couches and seating to relax on. My suite was confortable, the hotel manager took care of my needs promptly when I had requests, extra towels tooth paste etc... The Holiday Inn breakfast makes it worth the few extra dollars spent on booking here over booking at nearby hotels. They have an open buffet, eggs, pancakes, variety of cereal, fruits, toast, bagels, yogurt, juice, tea/coffee, biscuits, muffins and more. Best part is also the mall (Cumberland mall) is right next door to their parking lot. It helps since I am usually here on business, mall has places to eat and shop. I caught some good sales at the Gap and Perfuroma (perfume outlet store). They even have some restaurants next to this hotel (parkinglot walking distance). I will certainly stay at this hotel durring future visits to Vineland. Thanks for a great stay, and many more to come.

  • Liked — clean, comfy, breakfast.
  • Disliked — still thinking of a reason ...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We stayed the Holiday Inn Express one night. It is close to a large shopping mall. The room was large and well appointed. Every thing was clean and the free breakfast was very good.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

This hotel is only 5 years old but needs updating. My daughter was afraid of the flies in the breakfast room. Rugs are awful, wallpaper needs replacing. The owner needs to show some care for this property!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel previously and had anticipated some improvement but did not happen. In the evening there is usually noise from loud music outside. The upkeep at the hotel is very poor. The hall rugs and walls are wornout, dirty, and peeling. The staff could use a lesson in customer appreciation. Mechanically, I've yet to find a problem.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 398 Smith Street, Vineland, NJ 08360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vineland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vineland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vineland/Millville, located in the heart of Vineland's business district and adjacent to the Cumberland Mall. The hotel has recently been renovated inside and out including; all new carpeting, wall & window coverings, top of the line bedding, upgraded furniture and 42" HDTV's. The Holiday Inn Express is off of exit 27, Rte 55,and is the "Official Hotel" of New Jersey Motorsports Park. It is minutes away from South Jersey Regional Medical Center, Wheaton Village, General Mills, ARC International, Siemen's, Amcor/Nipro, Cumberland County College, T-Fal, Hanover Foods, Leone Industries, Rich Products and the city of Millville's Art District. We are also south of the Philadelphia and Camden area, and just a half an hour from most Jersey shore points, Atlantic City, Wildwood, and Ocean City. The hotel features include: complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, business center, free local phone calls, fitness center, meeting room, indoor pool and spa. Our oversized parking lot offers state-of-the-art security cameras for your safety. Visit Vineland/Millville, NJ and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vineland
Holiday Inn Vineland
Vineland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vineland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.