We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place - Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mixing Bowl

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mixing Bowl
4 Church street, Vernon, NJ 07462
(973)-764-7511
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Vernon
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Roxbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Cute place - Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had Sunday breakfast here about 8am. The place only seats 50, but we were easily seated and it was emptier when we left.

Service was fast. Food was hot and good. Nothing more I could want for Sunday breakfast!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hometown place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Workers we nice from the time we walked in. Quick service. We had breakfast and it was great. The plates are overflowing. Coffee cup was always filled. Reminds me of an old time mom and pop place. If you are in the area make it a point to stop.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's the local place and a 17 year tradition for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We go to breaks fast here at least once each visit. Very good, reasonably priced food. Mostly locals which is always a great sign. And the same 2 waitresses have been there since we started going so they must be doing something right :)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“decent place for dining in very touristic place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

went there for lunch and it was very busy but service was efficient and friendly anyway. which is huge plus for the ski resort area.
food is really average, ordinary diner fare. burger was decent, tuna melt was eatable, fried chicken was too greasy.
chicken noodle soup wasn't good at all though :(
they have really good variety of pancakes. so I guess it's really a breakfast place. I regret we couldn't take more than 2 pancakes :)
cinnamon banana pancake wasn't impressive, but cranberry nuts one we all really liked.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tough to find a good breakfast restaurant, let alone this little gem! Every time I'm in the area I make a point to stop at the mixing bowl restaurant......the Chef Owner "Kenny" makes the best pancakes I have ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mixing Bowl also viewed

 

Been to The Mixing Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mixing Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.