We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minerals Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Minerals Hotel to your Saves list
Minerals Hotel
Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at minerals resort and spa with my girlfriend and we loved it. The food at kites was amazing and the facility was phenominal. We loved spending time outside in the heated pool with the cool breeze blowing. The staff was very friendly and accomadating and i would recommend anyone to go there to have a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear secretweapon254,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Minerals Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    124
    81
    62
    63
See reviews for
217
129
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here over the presidents day weekend with my two young adult daughters. The resort is advertised as a relaxing and rejuvenating oasis, but from the moment I arrived I felt like i was at a Disney World hotel. There were kids everywhere. In the steam room, in the sauna, in the jacuzzi, without any adult or staff supervision, which is extremely dangerous. Not to mention the constant screaming and running in the hotel hallways at night (where were their parents???), which kept one of my daughters up until 4 or 5 o'clock in the morning. We only ate at Kites for breakfast, which was okay but totally overpriced. There was a nice restaurant down the road called The George Inn with pretty decent food and pleasant waitstaff, a little slow but acceptable, and much less expensive.
I booked spa services for my daughters and myself, and we all agreed that those 50 minutes each were the best part of the trip. Our spa technician, Patty, was excellent and I truly enjoyed my treatment. Afterwards, the women at the front desk asked each of us at different times if we wanted to leave a tip, which I found to be unprofessional . Gratuity is based on service and should not be asked for or expected.
Lastly, be sure to check your bill at the end of your stay, as they overcharged me $80.

Room Tip: If you go to breakfast at Kites, order from the menu instead of the breakfast buffet. The food is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Terrie A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we're happy to hear you and your daughters enjoyed your services at our award-winning Elements Spa, we're sorry to learn that Minerals Resort & Spa did not meet your expectations.

We make every effort to ensure that our guests are selecting the resort property that best fits their preferences in overnight accommodations and resort amenities. Minerals Hotel is marketed as our family-friendly resort offering, and guests looking for a more luxurious retreat are encouraged to book at our sister hotel Grand Cascades Lodge.

Presidents' Day is a busy holiday, as families look to take advantage of the long weekend and extend their vacations. That being said, we can certainly appreciate your frustration over interrupted sleep due to noisy guests. If at any time a guest encounters a disturbance or is unsatisfied with their experience, we encourage them to contact a front desk manager to investigate the situation and provide alternate room accommodations (pending availability).

Please know that we take your feedback seriously, as we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to succeed your expectations with a future stay at Crystal Springs Resort.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's ok...that's it, we have drawn for so many years due to the indoor basketball courts for our oldest, hotel is aging, beds not at all comfy, staff never accommodating for frequent guests....incredibly crowded at the mountain hard to enjoy, no spot for the non skiing Mom to relax comfortably. Non smoking hotel so all of the smoking guests sit on the balconies smoking away! Next year we either move to the Grand Cascades or a new ski location. Pool smells much better at Cascades mold and chlorine overwhelming at Minerals and you must walk thru to get to the room!

Room Tip: Hard to help ask for large king with 2 tvs and bring an air mattress if two kids won't share the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear jjmn31,

Thank you for taking the time to review Minerals Resort & Spa. We know you have a choice when you travel, so thank you for continuing to choose Crystal Springs Resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our top priority. We have addressed your concern in regards to our staff and, in a continued effort to improve our guest experience, we have a number of planned renovations for Minerals Resort & Spa.

On behalf of Crystal Springs Resort, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations at Minerals Resort & Spa or one of our sister properties in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The prices are very expensive for awful quality. The workers are EXTREMLY rude and snotty especially the ones at the front desk. The locker rooms are very disturbing and the pool are not kept clean i highly reccomend not wasting your money here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Joan-Burge,

Thank you for your review. We value your opinion and encourage you to contact us directly with more specific details regarding your experience. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service, and look forward to addressing your concerns.

I hope we hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went there with my friends and we really had a great time.We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and king bed is so comfortable,the size of the room is good also.There is a lot to do just in the hotel.There is a really great spa place and the service is excellent.They also have indoor and outdoor heated pool as well as gym and tennis.Moutain Creek is just one mile next to it where you can go skiing and the food is good,too.Will absolutely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Teresa W,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Crystal Springs Resort and Mountain Creek. I'm glad you got to enjoy Elements Spa and our fan-favorite indoor/outdoor heated pools during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Let me start by saying that this hotel isn't bad, but it's just not that great, either. The fact that there is really no competition for a hotel/resort stay in the Vernon, NJ area may be a contributing factor. Based upon the cost ranging anywhere from $160 ish on a weeknight to $250 ish on a weekend for the lower tier room, it is just too expensive for what you get in my opinion. If you must stay at one of the Crystal Springs resorts, then I would probably suggest just paying a bit more (could be as little as $25-50 more) and stay at the Grand Cascades or Appalachian Hotel.

The Minerals Resort and Spa is the oldest of the properties managed by the Crystal Springs group, and it is showing its age. The rooms are pretty basic level, what you might expect from a Hampton Inn, Courtyard Marriott, etc. I will say the bathroom saved it a little bit, as it was nicer in quality than the room. The shower ran HOT and great water pressure.

The overall property just seems like the maintenance has run behind. The pool/hot tubs are nice, but similarly to the rest of the property, need some upkeep. One huge PLUS of this property is the very large fitness center. I included pictures. This is probably the best fitness center I've seen at a resort thus far. One thing to know about the pool, hot tubs, locker rooms, fitness center, etc is that it is open to all of the crystal springs property owners for use as well. That means you get a lot of traffic in and out of the mineral springs hotel consisting of those living in the condos nearby coming to use the fitness center. Things can get crowded, and it can take away from the experience for those staying at the hotel.

Another plus is that the views from most of the rooms are very nice. The rooms have sliding doors that open to a balcony which is a nice feature. But again, the towels, sheets, etc all seem pretty low grade, and not what you expect for the price tag.

My husband and I ended up staying here for one night, and then at a local B&B (Alpine Haus) the second night. We enjoyed both nights, but just didn't feel like the cost was worth the product at Minerals. For $160 a night we could definitely get behind the Minerals Resort, but absolutely not for $250. If we were to do it again, we would just pay for the extra quality found at the nicer sister hotel, The Grand Cascades.

Tip: There is a free shuttle that runs between the Crystal Springs properties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear playdobro,

Thank you for your recent review. While we're glad to hear you enjoyed the Sports Club and scenic views from your room, we're sorry to learn that Minerals Resort & Spa did not meet your overall expectations.

In a continued effort to improve our guest experience, we have a number of planned renovations for Minerals Resort & Spa.

We make every effort to ensure that our guests select the appropriate property that best suits their preferences and budget. Traditionally, we do encourage those looking for a more luxurious retreat to stay at our sister property, Grand Cascades Lodge.

On behalf of Crystal Springs Resort, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Oooh la la! We loved our in-room fireplace and scenic mountain views. The resort is well staffed and made our mid-week getaway so very enjoyable. After a quick and easy check in we headed straight for Elements Spa with it's unique decor of warm bronze colors and beaded alcoves with surprises of complimentary tea and salted foot baths with rose petals. After melting away during a massage we headed for the multitude of blue pools (indoor and out), steam room, sauna, hot tubs and pore-closing cool pool. Dinner at Kites was a casual gourmet experience with French Onion Soup covered in yummy melted cheese, a Paella served in an small iron skillet with a whole chick thigh and leg on top of perfect rice and seafood, and an Italian entree created with spicy hot sausage and more good things. The next day we utilized the full size, fully equipped gym which was patronized by guests and locals. We drove to the nearby luxurious Red Tail Lodge for a gourmet pizza lunch, overlooking snowboarding and ski action before taking on Snow Tubing at Drop Zone. Surrounded by rosy-cheeked children we took a "magic carpet ride" to the top, tied our tubes together and zoomed to our destiny. The activity is super safe and fun for kids and adults. The adrenaline rush was enough to make me want to go skiing! There isn't enough space to write more about this wonderful winter wonderland...except to say it is close, easy to get to and jam-packed with things to do. A very rejuvenating experience for anyone!

Room Tip: ask about king accommodations with in-room fireplace, kitchen amenities, balcony, sleep sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Susan D,

Thank you for choosing Minerals Resort & Spa for your recent mid-week winter getaway. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your spa services, dinner at Kites (the French Onion Soup is my personal favorite, too!), and snow tubing excursion at Mountain Creek. We're happy to hear you left feeling rejuvenated and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Minerals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Hotel

Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462 (Formerly Minerals Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a recreation-rich getaway in New Jersey at Minerals Hotel. Nestled between Grand Cascades Lodge and Mountain Creek Ski Resort, Bike Park and Action Park, Minerals Hotel offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to a spectacular 6,000 sq. ft. multi-million dollar sports complex which includes 80+ weekly fitness classes, sauna, steam room, indoor sports courts, running track, basketball, racquetball and tennis courts. Minerals Hotel is AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." Additional amenities and features include: 7 indoor/outdoor year-round heated nature pools, full service Elements Spa, casual family-friendly Kites Restaurant, complimentary shuttle service throughout the Resort, meeting and conference rooms, resort-planned activities, Minerals Family Golf Center, game room, gift shop and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Minerals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerals Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.