We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th stay but thinking its our last...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minerals Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Minerals Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minerals Resort & Spa
Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernon
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“4th stay but thinking its our last...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's ok...that's it, we have drawn for so many years due to the indoor basketball courts for our oldest, hotel is aging, beds not at all comfy, staff never accommodating for frequent guests....incredibly crowded at the mountain hard to enjoy, no spot for the non skiing Mom to relax comfortably. Non smoking hotel so all of the smoking guests sit on the balconies smoking away! Next year we either move to the Grand Cascades or a new ski location. Pool smells much better at Cascades mold and chlorine overwhelming at Minerals and you must walk thru to get to the room!

Room Tip: Hard to help ask for large king with 2 tvs and bring an air mattress if two kids won't share the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear jjmn31,

Thank you for taking the time to review Minerals Resort & Spa. We know you have a choice when you travel, so thank you for continuing to choose Crystal Springs Resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our top priority. We have addressed your concern in regards to our staff and, in a continued effort to improve our guest experience, we have a number of planned renovations for Minerals Resort & Spa.

On behalf of Crystal Springs Resort, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations at Minerals Resort & Spa or one of our sister properties in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    124
    81
    62
    63
See reviews for
217
129
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The prices are very expensive for awful quality. The workers are EXTREMLY rude and snotty especially the ones at the front desk. The locker rooms are very disturbing and the pool are not kept clean i highly reccomend not wasting your money here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Joan-Burge,

Thank you for your review. We value your opinion and encourage you to contact us directly with more specific details regarding your experience. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service, and look forward to addressing your concerns.

I hope we hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went there with my friends and we really had a great time.We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and king bed is so comfortable,the size of the room is good also.There is a lot to do just in the hotel.There is a really great spa place and the service is excellent.They also have indoor and outdoor heated pool as well as gym and tennis.Moutain Creek is just one mile next to it where you can go skiing and the food is good,too.Will absolutely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Teresa W,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Crystal Springs Resort and Mountain Creek. I'm glad you got to enjoy Elements Spa and our fan-favorite indoor/outdoor heated pools during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Let me start by saying that this hotel isn't bad, but it's just not that great, either. The fact that there is really no competition for a hotel/resort stay in the Vernon, NJ area may be a contributing factor. Based upon the cost ranging anywhere from $160 ish on a weeknight to $250 ish on a weekend for the lower tier room, it is just too expensive for what you get in my opinion. If you must stay at one of the Crystal Springs resorts, then I would probably suggest just paying a bit more (could be as little as $25-50 more) and stay at the Grand Cascades or Appalachian Hotel.

The Minerals Resort and Spa is the oldest of the properties managed by the Crystal Springs group, and it is showing its age. The rooms are pretty basic level, what you might expect from a Hampton Inn, Courtyard Marriott, etc. I will say the bathroom saved it a little bit, as it was nicer in quality than the room. The shower ran HOT and great water pressure.

The overall property just seems like the maintenance has run behind. The pool/hot tubs are nice, but similarly to the rest of the property, need some upkeep. One huge PLUS of this property is the very large fitness center. I included pictures. This is probably the best fitness center I've seen at a resort thus far. One thing to know about the pool, hot tubs, locker rooms, fitness center, etc is that it is open to all of the crystal springs property owners for use as well. That means you get a lot of traffic in and out of the mineral springs hotel consisting of those living in the condos nearby coming to use the fitness center. Things can get crowded, and it can take away from the experience for those staying at the hotel.

Another plus is that the views from most of the rooms are very nice. The rooms have sliding doors that open to a balcony which is a nice feature. But again, the towels, sheets, etc all seem pretty low grade, and not what you expect for the price tag.

My husband and I ended up staying here for one night, and then at a local B&B (Alpine Haus) the second night. We enjoyed both nights, but just didn't feel like the cost was worth the product at Minerals. For $160 a night we could definitely get behind the Minerals Resort, but absolutely not for $250. If we were to do it again, we would just pay for the extra quality found at the nicer sister hotel, The Grand Cascades.

Tip: There is a free shuttle that runs between the Crystal Springs properties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear playdobro,

Thank you for your recent review. While we're glad to hear you enjoyed the Sports Club and scenic views from your room, we're sorry to learn that Minerals Resort & Spa did not meet your overall expectations.

In a continued effort to improve our guest experience, we have a number of planned renovations for Minerals Resort & Spa.

We make every effort to ensure that our guests select the appropriate property that best suits their preferences and budget. Traditionally, we do encourage those looking for a more luxurious retreat to stay at our sister property, Grand Cascades Lodge.

On behalf of Crystal Springs Resort, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Oooh la la! We loved our in-room fireplace and scenic mountain views. The resort is well staffed and made our mid-week getaway so very enjoyable. After a quick and easy check in we headed straight for Elements Spa with it's unique decor of warm bronze colors and beaded alcoves with surprises of complimentary tea and salted foot baths with rose petals. After melting away during a massage we headed for the multitude of blue pools (indoor and out), steam room, sauna, hot tubs and pore-closing cool pool. Dinner at Kites was a casual gourmet experience with French Onion Soup covered in yummy melted cheese, a Paella served in an small iron skillet with a whole chick thigh and leg on top of perfect rice and seafood, and an Italian entree created with spicy hot sausage and more good things. The next day we utilized the full size, fully equipped gym which was patronized by guests and locals. We drove to the nearby luxurious Red Tail Lodge for a gourmet pizza lunch, overlooking snowboarding and ski action before taking on Snow Tubing at Drop Zone. Surrounded by rosy-cheeked children we took a "magic carpet ride" to the top, tied our tubes together and zoomed to our destiny. The activity is super safe and fun for kids and adults. The adrenaline rush was enough to make me want to go skiing! There isn't enough space to write more about this wonderful winter wonderland...except to say it is close, easy to get to and jam-packed with things to do. A very rejuvenating experience for anyone!

Room Tip: ask about king accommodations with in-room fireplace, kitchen amenities, balcony, sleep sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Minerals Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Susan D,

Thank you for choosing Minerals Resort & Spa for your recent mid-week winter getaway. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your spa services, dinner at Kites (the French Onion Soup is my personal favorite, too!), and snow tubing excursion at Mountain Creek. We're happy to hear you left feeling rejuvenated and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Minerals Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went a few weeks ago with my family and 2 other families for a last minute trip. The place was great for a family with young kids. My review:

Check In/Out - Was great and went really smoothly. Room was ready at 1PM even though check in is at 3PM.

Activities.....Pros - A lot of activities for the kids including pool, basketball court, tennis and game room. They also have a three hour thing where kids go with counselors and you pay $15 for them to be entertained and they have a nursery for kids younger then 5 if you need a break (we did not use that). My kids loved the pool and basketball/tennis courts. Cons - The counselors for the kids didn't seem interested in really getting to know who they were so I had to introduce them to them and tell the kids to not go off on their own. Not sure what would have happened if I didn't do that. There is also no activity sheet even though I saw a number of things going on throughout the hotel (exercise classes, face painting, animal shows, kids activities). We probably would have done more if we were aware. .

Pools - We were there in winter so only the indoor pool and the outdoor hot pool were open. Pro - the pools were nice, well lit and the kids loved them. The indoor pool was warm and we never felt cold. The outdoor pool was great! The adults and kids loved it! Cons: The lifeguards at the pool were a joke. There were a ton of kids in the pool and the one lifeguard on duty literally had her back to the kids and played with her phone. In addition, she got up to go to the bathroom at least 2 times and left the pool unattended. I was shocked by this as there were at least 15-20 young children in the pool. The rest of the time she was talking to other lifeguards and paying no attention to the pool and not hiding the fact. Another time we went they had two lifeguards at different ends of the pool paying no attention. One was talking on her phone and the other was looking out the window. I saw no supervisor on duty at all either. While the indoor pool is only 4-5 feet, there are a lot of kids in the pool area and this was unacceptable in my view.

Room - Pros - We had the luxury room which was great for us and the three kids. Plenty of room, nice fireplace, sitting area, kitchen area and eating area. Never felt cramped and they had an outside patio. Bathroom looked new and was very clean and nice. Cons - As other reviewers have mentioned the walls are thin and it can be very noisy. We heard sounds from the hallway most of the night, as well as from the rooms next to us and above us. With that being said we are a family of 5 so we probably made as much noise so we were not really bothered by it, but if you don't like noise this place is not for you.

Food - We ate at Kites Restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and lunch. Lunch was great, but the kids meals are HUGE. Order one for two kids. The breakfast buffet was pricey and the food was only so so. Better off getting something from the lobby continental breakfast. We also ordered room service which was great.

I gave this place 4 stars because of the room and the amount of stuff there was to do in January. There were some issues that bothered me, but I plan on going back to see what it is like there in the summer.

Room Tip: If you have kids upgrade to the luxury suite. Well worth the money for the amount of extra room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Minerals Resort & Spa is a property that boasts elegance, comfort, warmth, and damn near perfection.

I decided to stay at the Minerals after it was highly recommended by a guest services agent at the nearby ski resort, Mountain Creek. Before making the reservation, we were informed about the heated pools, in-room fireplace, fine dining restaurant on site, blah, blah, blah. I'm no stranger to nice hotels; I've heard it all before. It was said to be the nicest hotel in the vicinity of the ski resort, so I booked it.

After a short drive to Vernon from Manhattan, we arrived at the hotel at around 8 am and pre-registered at the front desk. The bellman happily took our bags to store in the luggage room while we went to Mountain Creek. The resort offers a free shuttle which visits Mountain Creek, as well as the other properties located at Crystal Springs. Should you be staying at this hotel during a snowboarding trip as we were, the free shuttle bus proves to be extremely convenient.

While you're here, PLEASE spend as much of your free time as possible at the pools. Admittedly, I was a little reluctant to swim in the outdoor pool considering the 30 degree temperature, but I'm so glad I did. The outdoor pool is accessible from the indoor pool area, and boasts a gorgeous ambiance in the wintertime. I might say it was sexy, but I'd like to continue writing a family-friendly review. If you aren't a swimmer, or don't like chlorine, or whatever the case may be, it's worth visiting the pools just for the view. Behind the waterfalls and fountains in the pool lies a cobblestone-walled jacuzzi, next to a smaller pool, next to another jacuzzi, across from a steam room, next to the sauna. Catch your breath, walk by the pool bar, and enter the gym. Walk upstairs and shoot some hoops in the basketball court. The facilities at this resort are endless.

Undoubtedly, the employees at this hotel made a huge contribution to our experience at this hotel. Every single staff member (and fellow guest) that we came across was friendly, approachable, and overly helpful. Everyone from the front desk staff to the wait staff to the shuttle bus drivers went above and beyond to make our stay special.

Lastly, the room we were given was spacious and accommodating. The fireplace creates such a calm, warm atmosphere that was much needed after a full day of snowboarding. The bedding was comfortable and the room overall was spotlessly clean.

Overall, the Minerals Resort & Spa is nothing short of amazing. Whether you're planning a weekend break, a ski getaway, or a romantic holiday, this is the perfect venue. You'll be blown away by the hospitality, and you'll probably fall in love.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minerals Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerals Resort & Spa

Address: Route 94 & 2 Chamonix Drive, Crystal Springs Resort, Vernon, NJ 07462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Recreation Rich Getaway in New Jersey! Nestled between Minerals Family Golf Center & Mountain Creek Ski Resort & Waterpark, Minerals Resort & Spa offers 175 rooms surrounded by 4-season recreation in one convenient location. All accommodations have mountain, pool or golf course views & include access to Minerals Sports Club, a spectacular multi-million dollar sports complex. AAA Rating - 3 Diamond "These establishments appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Minerals Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerals Resort And Spa
Minerals Hotel Vernon
Minerals Resort Vernon
Minerals Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerals Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.