We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at the Appalacian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary to your Saves list
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
200 Route 94, Vernon, NJ 07462   |  
Hotel amenities
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at the Appalacian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I took my wife and three kids for a ski adventure and enjoyed every minute! The staff at the Appalacian was more than efficient and friendly in all thier responsibilities. We arrived on a Sunday and had lunch at Taco Hombre - excellent! Decided not to ski with the Sunday crowd and took a dip in the outdoor pool and hot tub - very nice. Dinner at Kites was fantastic! Back to our two bedroom suite for a fire - very cozy. Up for an early breakfast than a easy 1 minute walk to the lift - the kids were in heaven. Beautiful skiing for all levels - the kids improved greatly with help of Mountain Creeks excellent staff. The Crystal Tavern is a very nice spot and easy to get to thanks to Crystal Springs surprisingly efficient no cost shuttle services. On Valentine's day my 9 year old son and I cooked dinner for my wife and 6 and 11 year old girls while they went back out to take a few more runs! The beds are comfortable and everything was very clean. The bathrooms are especially nice and spacious. I'll be visiting again!

Room Tip: Mountain view of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    11
    19
    8
See reviews for
45
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

My 2 girlfriends and I went to the Appalachian for a snowboarding getaway and we had an incredible time! Make sure you check out Kites Restaurant after 10 for dancing and drinks, Irish Cottage Inn (which is 10 minutes away but soooo worth it), and The Mixing Bowl Restaurant on Church St because the breakfast is BANGIN' :) The beds were comfortable, the room was super clean, the pool and hot tub was incredible, and the mountain was fit for every rider experienced or not!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Checked in yesterday, Dec. 29, 2011 to find that in our unit, although very nice, had no cable, no internet, and phone service was out! We were told that maintenance would be right over to fix the problem. An hour later we called and was informed that maintenance left at 4pm. They moved us to another unit which was like going from First Class to Coach..The unit was dirty, dusty, and not as upgraded as the first. We had to bear it and make the best. Morning came, spoke to the manager and she said if we wanted to go back to the 1st unit she would have maintenance come over. Keep in mind that the front desk had emailed her this info the night of so why wasn't this the first thing on her list when she arrived? Isn't customer satisfaction of the upmost importance? Could she have not called our unit to see if we were ok? Could she not have alerted maintenance to this problem as soon as she was informed? Ultimately, we opted to stay in the unit because we had to pack and unpack TWICE with a young child and it was JUST TOO MUCH!!! I will not be returning to this resort!!! We were contemplating renting out a considerable amount of units for our upcoming family reunion this summer but after this, MOUNTAIN CREEK is not in the runnings!!! Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that the manager did give us comp tickets to a nearby resort for swimming!!! Yeah, I just happen to keep a bathing suit in my trunk???? Uttterly DISGUSTED!!!

Room Tip: The first unit was on the PINE side and it was nice although no cable, internet, or phone service!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruin, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

10 of us stayed here to help restore power in the area. This COULD be a beautiful place, but it has problems right now. We waited 35 minutes for someone to come to the desk and check us in. The young man finally came out of the elevator with nis young blonde girlfriend. Our room had no telephone, we stayed four four nights, and never did get a phone put in. All five rooms had to get towels and washclothes at the front desk. It is a shame, there is a ton of money in this building, but it is all for not!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Appalachian is located in the remote town of Vernon where there is nowhere decent to eat and nothing to do in the off season. The front desk staff was bored, unhelpful, and not very friendly. The Appalachian has been under construction for several years and still isn't finished yet. There's no food offered on-site--not even a continental breakfast--and the staff advised me that the restaurants are still under construction, but they have two functioning realty offices on-site to sell you condos and rooms on the property. There weren't even vending machines on every floor, just on the 1st and 4th. There was only 1 functioning elevator to service the whole building, including the underground garage. The "year-round" outdoor pool was closed and covered, and we couldn't enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi because it was too dark outside as they have very few functioning lights. The carpets in the halls and rooms were filthy. We checked into our room to find the previous guest's opened food in the microwave! I was willing to overlook that until we turned down the sheets of the bed and discovered the sheets and blanket were covered in hair. It was clear the sheets had not been changed since the last guest left! The room had no cable or internet access, and the staff advised me that only some of the rooms have cable/internet which the staff alternately blamed the ongoing construction and the building running off of a generator. We moved to another room where the cheap, hospital-like sheets were clean but the thin bedspread was covered in stains, as were the chairs. The mattresses are hard as a rock, the towels are cheap and scratchy, and the sheets are cheap and thin and there aren't any fitted sheets. The "fireplace" in the room was merely a set of plastic logs that were lit orange in front of a piece of glass with a hologram of a fire; it didn't give off any heat. The cleaning staff didn't bother to replace the coffee for the coffeemaker, or even empty the coffeepot. I expect more when paying upwards of $200 per night. The whole place was chintzy, creepy, and dirty, and I can't believe they're trying to sell the units for $130,000 (or more) apiece. Stay away!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSpringsNJ, Manager at Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team at Mountain Creek, I apologize profusely for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay at The Appalachian. It is most important for our guests to experience the resort's services and amenities as a whole, so we've shared your review with all privately rented units located outside of our rental program to ensure consistency and awareness of guest expectations. Some of the units in the building are privately rented and not managed by our staff but by the owners themselves.

All resort guests receive at least one call from our Concierge during their stay, and if at any time a guest is not satisfied with their room, we're happy to relocate them pending room availability.

It sounds like you may have visited us during the October snowstorm, which would explain the cable and internet outages. Area residents and businesses were without power, cable, phone and internet for several days due to downed utility poles. During this time, our properties ran on half-power and generator back-up.

While The Appalachian does not currently offer a dining option, you'll be happy to know The Action Lift Co. restaurant will be coming this February. In the meantime, we do offer complimentary shuttle service to our sister properties Minerals Resort & Spa and Grand Cascades Lodge, which feature several dining options.

We strive to provide all of our guests with the best service and regret to have disappointed you.

Sincerely,
Kim Uczkowski
Manager
The Appalachian at Crystal Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Our suite at the Appalachian was nice. The kitchen well equipped and there were plenty of towels. The underground garage is a plus for winter guests, you won't come out to find a snowed in car and the garage is heated. However, besides the pool facilities (includes hot tub and sauna) there is nothing....no restaurants, no bar, no activities, no convenience store, not even a coffee bar!!! And there are none within walking distance. This situation should be remedied when all the current construction is done. In the meantime, take note and be prepared. The lack of any facilities makes this place as cozy as a high rise. On more thing...they have the firmest (hard) mattresses I have EVER encountered.

Room Tip: Until construction is done, "mountain view" rooms may have construction debris and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
700 helpful votes 700 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Appalachian/Black Creek Sanctuary is the only game in town in Vernon, NJ. Basically we were obligated to stay here to attend a wedding at Ballyowen Golf Club. The preferred room rate for wedding guests for Appalachian was $220! Really, this is Vernon, NJ not NYC! Even tried to Priceline a room, nope. Opted for the two bedroom townhouse at Black Creek Sanctuary for $310 and shared it with another couple. Townhouse had queen beds, no kings, 2 bathrooms, living room with a sleeper sofa, fireplace, kitchen, dining room. Pretty standard, nothing fancy. Worst part was after the wedding we got on a crowded shuttle bus that seemed to take forever to get to Appalachian. We ask the driver if he is going to Black Creek next and he plays stupid saying "I don't know where that is!" We told him he better figure out where it is, and fast. He makes some calls and has us wait and get on a different shuttle bus. Black Creek was literally 5 minutes away. What an idiot. Based on value, service, location and sleep quality this place gets a 2. No idea why anyone would want to come here unless it was for a wedding.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary

Address: 200 Route 94, Vernon, NJ 07462
Location: United States > New Jersey > Vernon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Creek offers luxury hotel and vacation condo rental lodging for your Appalachian Mountain vacation in Northern New Jersey. The surrounding Vernon Valley area offers fantastic dining, 12 golf courses, antiquing, wineries, horseback riding, apple orchards, quaint shops, stunning state parks, the Space Farms zoo, hiking and of course, world-class snowboarding, skiing and snow tubing in the winter. Your perfect family getaway or romantic weekend to remember awaits you. We'll exceed all your expectations at Mountain Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian And Black Creek Sanctuary
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary Hotel Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.