We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like coming home again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   105 South Little Rock Avenue, Ventnor City, NJ 08406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ventnor City B&B and Inns
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“like coming home again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed at the carisbrooke before, and will stay again and again. Our stay is always pleasant, peaceful and all around wonderful. This year I found that they have a water ice shop just down the block. Wow. Generously louded with pieces of fruit, these icees are the best we've ever had. John really knows how to make people happy. I love this bnb. Try the palm package. it's a nice addition to your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    62
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
203
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Modest accomodations in the Sea Breeze room across the street, but very clean and cozy. The breakfast was a nice touch and very satisfying. Easy access to the beach (they provide chairs and towels). Overall, a positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As Ann Y reports, it's easy to be put off by the quirky rules and systems of this place (this is not too different from many places on the Jersey Shore, alas!), even if they do warn you in advance. It's easy to forget, for instance, to sign up for breakfast (something I've never had to do before). But these owners are really trying. And it's very unusual to be given beach tags and bottled water, small gestures that made us feel more welcomed and not so nickel-and-dimed. (That said, it seems unfair to charge guests the same price as those that include parking, just because they're in another building--though we found on-street parking easily.) The room was funky and small but had windows on 3 sides, comfortable beds, and a newly restored bath. The location, of course, can't be beat; we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building include parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I needed to make a quick trip to the Shore & Carisbrooke had all the amenities for a relaxing time. The location is just a block from the ocean, the breakfast was yummy, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Free parking, beach pass and wireless also were nice touches. The room was small but the rooftop porch was nice and refreshments were available in the livingroom where lots of reading materials were available.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a small view of the ocean and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed two nights, a Fri and Sat, at Carisbrooke Inn and had a lovely time. The decor was very homey and included watercolor paintings done by a local artist (perhaps a relative or friend of the owners), as well as whimsical signage and other handmade touches. Our room was perfect in size and had all sorts of amenities, including a sewing kit that we actually did need, and an ironing board and iron that we did use. We also were pleased that the Inn offered towels, chairs, and beach accessories. The common room was beautiful and cheery, and there was a deck as well. The staff were very friendly. Price was about $20 more than the Atlantic City Super 8 Motel, so I feel we got a real deal! All in all, a relaxing place in homey surroundings for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Check out the room pics on Carisbrooke's website--they are very accurate. We knew just what our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent two nights at the inn and the location cannot be beat ! Steps to the beach and boardwalk. Our room and bath was small, but we knew that when we booked it. The breakfasts were great and we liked the water/snacks/evening sangria. The inn was very clean, too. Our only blip was when checking in it was very much "sign here for no smoking, sign here for no candles, sign here that you will check out at 11:30, sign here that you will return the beach tags". I know that running a business like that is a concern, but it was less a "welcome to our inn, and by the way here are some things we need to inform you of" rather than a brisk run down of dos and don'ts. We did overhear the owner checking someone in and he was not as regimented with the sign in as the person who checked us in was. All in all, this is a great place and we will return whenever we visit the beach !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We made a spontaneous trip to AC from Manhattan last weekend with no plans of where to stay overnight. We found this place on my iPhone app and decided to check it out. Not only was it clean, peaceful and friendly, it was also very affordable. The staff is excellent and the property is quite charming. We were able to use the covered, new, outdoor shower they built at the house after we checked out and weren't ready to leave the beach. They also provide beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. I can't recall last time I saw such great service. Will definitely stay there again. Oh, and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Just call them and ask the owner. Tell him what you are looking for and they will accomodate you bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 105 South Little Rock Avenue, Ventnor City, NJ 08406
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carisbrooke Inn offers a blend of classic luxury accompanied by modern amenities. The Inn is nestled in the historic town of Ventnor, one mile from the action in Atlantic City and a few steps from the beach and boardwalk. After sleeping in one of the luxurious guestrooms, you will awaken to a freshly prepared gourmet breakfast. Other amenities: Wireless Internet, Large Flat HDTV, DVD, Evening Social Hour, Luxury Beds, Business Services, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carisbrooke Inn b&b
Carisbrooke Hotel Ventnor City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carisbrooke Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.