We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surrey Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surrey Beach House to your Saves list
Surrey Beach House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109 South Surrey Ave., Ventnor City, NJ 08406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ventnor City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at the Surrey Beach House over Memorial Day weekend. It was a great spot! It was very close to the beach and we were able to find close by street parking. It was close to both Margate and Atlantic City so the location was very convenient! The hotel was clean and nice. Kevin the Innkeeper was great. He helped us select a great place for dinner and we had fabulous sushi! We also had a great breakfast one morning at Lisa's. Both places were within walking distance from the hotel so that was also very nice! Overall great stay! I would recommend the Surrey Beach House!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your great review! It is appreciated that you took the time to help write a review about us for others to read and learn about Surrey Beach House. I really appreciate the kind words that you had for myself. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
34
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a hidden gem. What a quant 14 room immaculately clean hotel. The manager Kevin is fabulous and caring, he treats you like family and goes above and beyond to make sure he recommends exactly what meets your needs and follows up with you the next day to make sure that we liked his suggestions, professional mannerism. The entire stay was pleasant and relaxing, we will be back. Love the FREE coffee and cookies in the lobbhy all day, what a nice way th thank your guests. Thanks Kevin and staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I personally am very happy that I could make your vacation a memorable one. The staff and I would be happy to have you as our guest again anytime. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Surrey Beach House was a relaxing, comfortable place in a great location. Kevin, the innkeeper, was extremely hospitable and helpful, and we really felt at home there. It was within walking distance to restaurants and coffee shops, is right off the beach, and is close to all of the Altantic City casinos. The beds were SO comfortable, the rooms were well furnished, and the overall feel of the Surrey Beach House is very inviting. It was a great trip and I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It truely was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we are happy that you really enjoyed your vacation. I look forward to you possibly staying with us in the future. Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed this past weekend @ Surrey Beach House and had a great time. Our room was clean and accommodating and the bed was comfortable so were the pillows. Kevin and his staff were very nice and helpful with dining and shopping. Very close to the beach and casinos. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your great review! I appreciate you taking time out to write a review about us.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay with us. I personally would like to thank you for your kind words about me. It was a pleasure to make your stay the best it could possibly be. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful "getaway by the beach". The location is very convenient: right by the beach, close to restaurants and the AC casino strip.We came in from the AC Expressway and found it easily. The rooms were clean and well furnished. The manager Kevin was very courteous, pleasant and helpful with many local insights (parking, shopping, restaurants, etc.).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Surrey Beach House. I would like to thank you for your comments about me. I was glad I could help.
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for Surrey Beach House, we appreciate your positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to have you be our guest again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a weekend getaway to the "only hotel in Ventnor". Surrey Beach house is very convenient to the Ventnor Board walk and an easy and picturesque 25 minute walk up to the south end of the AC casino strip. The hotel and room was spotless, the beds extremely comfortable and the staff we encountered (Patrick the manager and an assistant) both friendly and helpful. My only complaint (and the reason for the "4 dot" or very good rating) was with the size of the room. With a king bed and other furnishings you experienced some feeling of being cramped. We were shown rooms in other parts of the hotel that were much more spacious and you'd be well served to request an upstairs room. This is not a five star facility but if you are looking for a place with a 3 C (Clean, Comfortable, Convenient) rating the Surrey Beach House gets a big thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: This hotel is being progressively upgraded and I would request an upstairs room if available. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated here from the SBH staff. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we really appreciate you staying with us. I look forward to you possibly staying with us in the future. Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I booked this hotel from a travel plan I have and enjoyed being so close to the ocean however there were many things that were deceiving and not communicated with me upon booking. If you plan on staying at this small, quaint hotel be warned that there is no parking lot and street parking is metered on all streets in the area. It is only a block from the ocean but you have a huge facility right on top of the building blocking any and all view you might enjoy while in your room. My view was an ugly brick wall. You can sit out on a deck at the front of the hotel but it is a community deck and there are two floors but no elevator so if you bring a lot of luggage with you, you are on your own trying to get it all inside. I would not recommend this to families or out of towners. My room was much smaller than my travel plan provider led me to believe. You have to pay a lot more for a decent size room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinPalek, Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your review of Surrey Beach House. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the communication problems at your time of booking. I am personally working with the travel plan provider that booked your room, so that they can better inform guests. Any guest who books directly through the hotel, is well informed about the hotel and its surroundings.I do hope you will stay at Surrey Beach House again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surrey Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Beach House

Address: 109 South Surrey Ave., Ventnor City, NJ 08406
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ventnor City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ventnor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surrey Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated boutique accommodations are located along the famed Atlantic City Boardwalk, just steps from the beach. Surrey Beach House is nestled in the historic seaside town of Ventnor and offers the perfect place for a romantic getaway, business traveler, family reunion or corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Surrey Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Beach House Hotel Ventnor City
Surrey Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surrey Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.