We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinga Taqueria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tinga Taqueria
215 Bellevue Avenue, Upper Montclair, NJ 07043
973-509-8226
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great good, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Food is fresh and not heavy with sauces and cheese. Love the Tinga Burrito with avocado. It's a BYOB restaurant. They have really tasty frozen drinks that you can add your own tequila to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Consistently good, reasonably-priced basic mexican fare in a casual setting served by friendly and attentive wait-staff. The freshly made chips and salsa are addicting. Bring your own beer, wine or tequila (they will make you frozen drinks with it). Dine in (there is a lovely outdoor seating area) or call for take-out or delivery. It's become a local favorite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towamencin Township
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Finding authentic Mexican can be a real pain.
We loved this place. My wife had the mole dish with pork .. excellent.. on corn tortillas. The only way, and real way, to serve tacos.
The service was great and the staff bent over backwards to assist us
We'll be back again for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“OK - not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is ok - not great, not terrible. There is no liquor license. You can BYOB but for Mexican, that is always slightly disappointing for me as I am unlikely to bring a bottle of tequila into a restaurant and could have really gone for a margarita. The place is tiny. There is outdoor seating which is nice. The décor is not really Mexican. In a way, that's good because it's not cheesy but the place feels more Spanish than Mexican. The food is just ok. Lots of different kinds of tacos, burritos, quesadillas, sandwiches etc. to choose from but no entrees. The fish tacos were actually quite good. Nachos were terrible - pico, sour cream, and guacamole dumped all over the top - waaaayyy too much - that it made the whole dish soggy. My boyfriend has some enchilada dish that tasted dog-foodish. The service was excellent. I'd probably give this place another try but wouldn't jump at the opportunity to go and probably wouldn't recommend to someone else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We eat here a lot!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great friendly service, our favorite waiter knows our order without even asking us. Great place for as quick lunch or dinner. Food is always very good and you can't beat the great service and atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinga Taqueria also viewed

 
Upper Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Tinga Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinga Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.