We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy delicious restaurant where you'd least expect it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ursino

Ursino
1075 Morris Avenue, Union, NJ 07083
(908) 249-4099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ursino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 124 Restaurants in Union
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Green St.
Transit: The NJ Transit Raritan Valley rail line stops at Union Station on Morris Avenue, a 10 minute walk from the restaurant.
Description: The name Ursino was inspired by the rich history of the colonial era Liberty Hall Estate (previously called Ursino), located on what is now part of the Kean University campus. The estate boasts a 4.5 acre farm, from which we harvest many of the ingredients used on our menu. Chef Peter Turso and his staff use these ingredients to create a menu that embraces Modern American cuisine. We also support local producers as much as possible; not only in our menu selections, but in our wine, beer and cocktail offerings too. Our goal is to provide a memorable, quality dining experience for every guest that arrives at our door. With knowledgeable and attentive service, along with expertly prepared food second to none, we aspire to be considered by our guests as one of the top restaurants in New Jersey.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Classy delicious restaurant where you'd least expect it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is beautifully designed with circular staircase leading down to dining area. Menu isn't large but offers unusual pairings of flavors. The gnocchi appetizers were exceptional as were the Moroccan flavored shrimp. Special short ribs didn't need a knife to cut them. The hanger steak was tender and delicious. Desserts were also extraordinary. It's a bit pricey but certainly worth it. Bar style food upstairs is also available. The hamburger we were told melts in your mouth and the pizza looks like another trip is definitely in the plans!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Consistent culinary excellence in an urban suburb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've been to Ursino several times before - we consider it our favorite local restaurant. We took close friends who have a flair for culinary experiences - neither they nor we were disappointed. The food has always been fresh and flavorful and wonderfully prepared - we had swordfish and a wonderful peach and endive salad for appetizers that received rave reviews from our guests. Even better was the cod and duck entrees that we had - all were prepared exactly as we specified which is more of a challenge when one guest wanted the cod prepared more "well done" for fish while the other did not. Our waiter and hostess were attnentive yet not intrusive and we were able to spend as much time on each course as we liked. Considering this was our guests' 34th wedding anniversary it was a terrific dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Suburban locale near college campus & revolutionary war museum offers pleasant surroundings. Terrific menu variety geared to seasonal availability of "farm to table" veggies & fruits.
Menu, staff and service are extraordinary--------highly recommended.
Only Con-------dining room was full on a busy July evening and was a bit noisy, but not objectionable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Lafayette, We Are Here" and it was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our friend Janet found this gem of a place tucked away near Liberty Hall (Revolutionary hangout of Alexander Hamilton, George and Martha Washington, Lewis Morris, Lafayette, and Elias Boudinot). The restaurant itself is beautiful, while slightly missing the mark with its modern starkness. But the food was really great. I started off with the white almond gazpacho soup made with crispy elephant garlic, langoustine, chorizo caramel. It was a majestic combination of flavors all brought together by the gazpacho. For my main course, I had the east coast halibut, accompanied by mushroom conserva, pomme mille feuille and roasted asparagus. The fish was cooked perfectly and was nice and light and flaky. The vegetables perfectly complimented the fish. For dessert, I had the chocolate hazelnut cake with burgundy sabayon which was intoxicating and blissful. Everything was perfect and delicious. Everyone else at our table loved their food and shared nothing but praise. The service staff were efficient, warm and friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Surprising location, great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant is right in the middle of a college campus in Union, NJ. It has no connection with the college, but it is really outstanding. It is a "farm-to-table" restaurant with a very cool interior, an extremely imaginative menu, and the very freshest ingredients. In the summer, you can actually walk through their very own farm, and pick out the vegetables you'd like to eat. We were with another couple from the San Francisco area, and we all enjoyed the meal very much. Great cocktails, too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ursino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ursino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.