We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even get seated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
2520 US Highway 22 E, Union, NJ 07083
908 686-8999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 119 Restaurants in Union
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Didn't even get seated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well, we always see a full parking lot and we had a craving for fish so we decided to give it a try. This particular evening the parking lot didn't look too bad and there wasn't a waiting line inside the restaurant. So, I went to the hostess - table for two and she said, "There'll be a 20 minute wait." I was perplexed since there were plenty of empty tables. Not sure what was going on but I walked out because if I was being treated this poorly when I walked in the door, I didn't want to spend money to be further degraded either by staff or poor food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hated It”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food was salty and greasy, the service was very slow. We waited for about an half hour when seated before a server came to offer at at bread and water, then find out we had be moved to another section because our server was too busy with another party. I have been to a lot of Red Lobsters, but have to say the one o. Rt 22 in Union, NJ is the absolute worst.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you like Red Lobster there's not much to say, it's a chain. The wait is long sometimes and the place is sometimes chaotic. Other than that you get what you come for. Waiters are friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love the biscuits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The food was fresh. My kids love picking the lobster to eat. The staff were super friendly. The biscuits were to die for. We will definitely return. This is my daughters favorite restaurant, she begs to return. Last time she ate 3 lobsters.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Red Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My hubby and I go for lunch occasionally. It's red lobster folks, don't expect miracles or anything. Going at lunch though, we find the place just about empty, and the food tastes fresh. We are always satisfied with our meals. The servers are always attentive and nice. Like I stated, its lunch. Only lunch. Yes, I would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.