We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   149 E Main Street, Tuckerton, NJ 08087   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Tuckerton B&B and Inns
baltimore
1 review
“Charming & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I can recommend this inn to those traveling to this lovely southern shoreline of Jersey. The rooms and beds are comfortable and while it is on a main street, the rooms in the back are not much bothered by the traffic. Our hosts, Catherine & Lorenzo are terrific people were helpful even beyond my wildest imaginings. The breakfast of ricotta pancakes was delicious. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. While there is no swimming pool, there is a hot tub in a pretty garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great little Inn. Owners were extremely inviting and helpful. Clean and cozy in a cute town. Only 25 minutes from Atlantic City. Served a delicious breakfast! Will definately come back... great golf courses nearby!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at the J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast on April 30 for the convenience and proximity to the Bass River State Forest (the Bassman triathlon was taking place at the park the next day). We truly enjoyed our brief stay at this charming B&B and wanted to share our impressions.

Catherine and Lorenzo were terrific guests, they went the extra mile to welcome us and make our stay as comfortable as ossible. They let the guests check in early (1 pm) provided we notified the hosts before our arrival. Catherine kindly guided us through the B&B facilities upon our arrival and provided us with maps and brochures to help guests obtain information of the town. Catherine kindly accommodated the guests' biking equipment (for the triathlon participants) in a room on the first floor of the bulding.
The B&B is conveniently located in a main street right in the center of the town, walking distance to restaurants, convenience stores, banks and the Tuckerton Seaport. It also has a deeded parking lot on the back of the building.

We stayed at room 7 on the second floor. It is large, beautifully decorated room tucked in the back of the building (see attached pictures). It has a nice sitting area, cathedral ceiling, fireplace, private bath, a small TV, and phone. The Inn offers wireless internet access; there is free coffee, tea, and snacks available 24 hours to the guests in the pantry area by the dining room . We were also treated with freshly baked cookies in the afternoon, nice touch!

The hosts gracefully made available a pack-and-go type of breakfast for the triathlon participants on early Sunday morning (bagels, almond cake, coffee, cereals, etc.). While my husband was participating at the Bassman triathlon, I returned back to the B&B to enjoy a delicious breakfast consisting of blueberry buttermilk pancakes with sausages. After a hearty meal, I sat by the comfort lounge next to the dining room to read and relax for a bit before heading out to the Tuckerton Seaport.

We were also offered the opportunity of a late check-out so that racers could freshen up, take a shower and get a snack. This was a very thoughtful gesture of the hosts and shows how they really care for their customers. We highly recommend this B&B and would love to go back for another short vacation in the south Jersey shore. Thanks a lot to Catherine and Lorenzo for their kind hospitality, attention to details and outstanding service!!

Room Tip: Reserve room early for peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I don't usually like to stay in B&Bs. I often find the hosts or forced socializing with guests intrusive. With kids, there are no amenities, like pools, and often lots of twee bric a brac for them to break. Yet, the J.D. Thompson Inn is the true exception. The hosts, Catherine and Lorenzo, were incredibly helpful and informative without being overbearing or intrusive. They gave us a wealth of information on the Pine Barrens and surrounding areas as well as great restaurant recommendations. I did not expect to eat well in this area, but we had excellent dinners almost every night.

Our room (#6) was perfect of a family of four with a teen and tween--it included a sitting room area w/ a couch where my daughter slept. Ear plugs and a white noise machine were on the night table--a thoughtful touch. In the dining area, we could make tea or have their home baked goodies at any time of day. When our son got sick, Catherine immediately provided us with information on where to get the best care for him without going to an ER.

As for the Inn itself, it's lovely and full of antiques without being too cutesy or twee. It's on the main street in Tuckerton, a sweet town that is within reach of Pine Barrens kayaking and hiking, twenty minutes from Atlantic city and close to Long Beach Island. In warmer months, I noticed they open their hot tub on the back deck. I would come back here, avoiding the crowds in Cape May or other beach towns, and enjoying the Lauro's quiet hospitality and Lorenzo's wonderful breakfasts, often made with herbs and vegetables from their own garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

This B&B was on a busy street but very quite once inside. Our welcome was fair and breakfast was decent. Great location to travel around the Jersey Shore. Convenient, but not close, to Atlantic City and Long Beach Island. Nice dinner spots within a close distance and you can bring your own wine with you to most restaurants! Our room was very clean, comfortable, and well equipped! However, the cost was a bit steep considering it is a bit of a distance to an ocean beach and the breakfast is nice but simple.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 149 E Main Street, Tuckerton, NJ 08087
Location: United States > New Jersey > Tuckerton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tuckerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy romantic elegance on the Jersey Shore at the beautiful J. D. Thompson Inn, located in the historic town of Tuckerton, New Jersey. All our rooms are furnished with fine antiques and offer all modern amenities. Enjoy a delicious breakfast in our lovely dining room overlooking the garden. Visit the Tuckerton Seaport, bicycle in the Pine Barrens, Wharton State or Bass River forests or relax on the beach at Long Beach Island. Atlantic City is just 25 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.D. Thompson Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.