We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST soft shell crabs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allen's Clam Bar

Allen's Clam Bar
5650 U S Hwy No 9, Tuckerton, NJ 08224
609-296-4106
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Tuckerton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Burlington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST soft shell crabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I come here every week just for their soft shell crabs, which are the best around. Very friendly long time staff and atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duquesne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this FANTASTIC Seafood loacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went to Allen's on a recommendation from a friend. BEST SEAFOOD on the East Coast and that is no exaggeration! The seafood was Very Fresh and was cooked to perfection! Service was unbelievably friendly!! Try the broiled scallops and shrimp and you will be in for a real treat. Don't miss stopping here! The prices are reasonable and once you try it you will be come a repeat customer for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking for a no frills seafood place and Allen's was perfect. We ordered steamers and each had the fried clam platter. The portions are not overpowering but perfect. The food is fresh and service was good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Allen's has been a family favorite since I was a kid. Relaxed atmosphere, great food and good prices. Unfortunately the last time I visited they were out of my 1st two choices and they weren't busy. My 3rd choice was delicious and it won't stop me from returning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very fresh seafood. Locals love it. Concrete floors with wood tables and paper place mats. Allen's recently started to accept credit cards and raised their prices somewhat. On the weekends, in season, there is often a wait to be seated at dinner time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen's Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Allen's Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allen's Clam Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.