We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuckerton Seaport

Tuckerton Seaport
120 West Main Street, Tuckerton, NJ 08087
609-296-8868
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Tuckerton
Type: Historic Sites, Lighthouses, Neighborhoods, Specialty Museums, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An authentic working seaport village dedicated to preserving the traditions and history of the Jersey baymen.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Each time we go to the Seaport, we discover so many new things have been added! If you love the Jersey Shore and learning about it, visit the Tuckerton Seaport. Our grandchildren find it fun, but they are learning so many things and experiencing nature at its best! Everything is top shelf; especially, the volunteers who share a weath of their knowledge because most have actually lived it! Where else can you watch boats being made, ducks being carved, basket weaving, clamming, discover its rich history, listen to great music and of course, eat awesome food! Sometimes we forget places to visit that are right in "our own backyards!" And...becoming a yearly member not only helps the Seaport, but gives you free admission. Take advantage of a place where you can just take a stroll with a friend! It's an awesome place to bring your children and grandchildren so that you can all share in experiencing Tuckerton Seaport's rich culture, as well as gaining an insight into so many traditions!!! Fun and Knowledge: Perfect Together!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A one-of-a-kind attraction that brings the Jersey Shore’s maritime traditions of the past and present to life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was my second trip to Tuckerton Seaport and I enjoyed it as much as the first time. You can discover the Jersey Shore’s unique maritime heritage and the interaction between culture and nature on the Barnegat Bay. You can also experience the rich traditions of the Jersey Shore and its Baymen through the Seaport’s recreated and historic buildings, demonstrations, interpretive exhibits, events, festivals, live aquatic displays and more. Decoy carvers, boat builders, basket makers, and baymen entertain, educate and delight visitors of all ages. Stroll the 3/4 mile boardwalk and experience life on the Tuckerton “Crik.” Identify birds and plants on our 1/4 mile nature trail. Tour our site and view garveys, sneakboxes, cruising yachts and party boats displayed on land and water. Don't miss the exhibit on the second and third floors of the Visitors Center-“Life on the Edge Exhibit” and Jacques Cousteau National Estuarine Research Reserve (JCNERR) Visitor Center. In this exhibit, follow the sound of peeping frogs to learn about the Pinelands, Great Bay, Barrier Island and open ocean ecosystems which make up this pristine reserve. A four minute video introduces this hands-on exhibit which is free of charge for visitors. This is a wonderful "living history" experience for adults and children of all ages.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great at parties, and that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Ok, we have been to a few parties here and they were awesome. We than ended up having our daughters first birthday here and it was awesome from the service to the food!!! Like it was perfect. We have ate there just for dinner handful of times and food is never that good or the service. Go figure.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Alway something happening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Educational exhibits and lots of festivals make this a great place to visit over and over. Music, waterfowl festival, bayman's festival, etc. Great for kids and adults.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Small Town USA Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Visiting The Tuckerton Seaport Musem is a great way to spend a hot summer afternoon taking in the history of this small, but once VERY important, fishing community.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuckerton Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuckerton Seaport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.